We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach to your Saves list
Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   381 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simple and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Baan Suay for 2 nights in December for ease of access to Chalong Pier and a dive trip. The place was simple, clean and had everything you needed for a brief stay. It is not a resort (well by my standards) but for short stay, it's well worth the money. The only negative is the hard beds (however I have found that's a common thing in Thailand) and the noise of the road if you are in a deluxe bedroom. I'm going back in March and staying in a Bungalow so hopefully that'll be less noisy. The staff are friendly and although their English may not be that great, we were still able to communicate effectively. I would recommend for a short, cheap and simple stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms near the main road are exposed to the traffic noise, avoid if possible unless you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
10
34
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copperas Cove, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

The management of this hotel is almost impossible to contact. The following problems were found:

1. The linens and towels were often not changed or replaced, and the
clean linens were stained.
2. The bed is of extremely poor quality and uncomfortable.
3. Two thirds of all the channels on the television did not work.
4. The safe did not work.
5. Hotel management did not respond and was unresponsive to my messages.

This hotel was horrible!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night while connecting to the speed ferry the next day down to the islands. I was looking to see a new part of Phuket without dealing with the craziness of Patong. The hotel is nothing fancy and could feel a bit cramped and crowded if it were full and everyone was around the restaurant at the same time. It seemed to pull a pretty diverse crowd, but the restaurant food was pretty good and the rooms were big with a semi-suite feel (small kitchen and bar stools). Just be careful not to set the AC too cold as we had no blanket and woke up quite cold in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of heavy luggage, ask for a low floor as there are no elevators and a bit of a cra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I only stayed here one night before our liveaboard trip. We wanted something clean, inexpensive and close to the dive shop (Sunrise Divers) so we could try on the equipment before our dive the next day. We arrived around 5:00 pm and went immediately to the dive shop, which was about a 15 minute walk. We then walked down to the ocean, which was another 10 minutes or so and then onto Patong for dinner (just so you have a sense of distance to beach, etc). By the time we walked back to the hotel, it was around 9:00 pm and there was nobody at the front desk, which was fine until we realized that there was no soap, shampoo (which might be the norm) and hardly any toilet paper in the room. The guy at the front desk when we checked in was super nice and I'm sure it wouldn't have been any problem getting supplies if we had noticed earlier. All in all, very affordable, clean and comfortable but not too close to the attractions if you're staying for a longer period of time.

Room Tip: Make sure you have soap and toilet paper in the room before you leave for the evening. : (
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Tao, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Altogether we had a very nice stay for 3days/ 2 nights at Baan Suay.
I was actually very happy with the friendly staff, the food in the restaurant and our clean room. Considering how cheap the accomodation was I was positively surprised.

After looking at the professional pictures of the accomodation on tripadvisor I can understand that some people might be dissappointed though, the place looks big on the pictures and almost like a luxury resort. The rooms are clean but not in a very nice location, there is no grass or a big garden but room after room on a little pathway and in the main building.
It is just very simple and small, not exactly what most people would expect from a "resort".
Otherwise for couples who just want to spend a few quiet nights in Karon its a great place.
The location is not very good, its on the main road but to get to the busier part of the town you have to walk about 15 min which was no problem for us, to get to the beach you can easily get a taxi arranged.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This resort offered us a great experience throughout our stay in Phuket . The rooms were clean and spacious and the location of the resort was just down the road from the beach . We booked several tours throught the resort and all were very professional . We ate at the resorts restaurant several times and the food was excellent . I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay on a beach other than Patong .

Room Tip: ask for a room looking out theback of the resort . This way you'll have a sea view and it is nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at Baan Suay, staying in Bungalow 2. The room was very clean and was made up each day. The Bungalows are at the back of the resort, so set well off busy Patak Road, but they back onto a kitchen from the bar area next door.

The good points:
- Clean and tidy
- Lovely and helpful staff
- Good food
- Swimming pool
- Free pool table and library
- Good air conditioning

The not so good:
- The bed was rock hard (but had lots of pillows, which I liked)
- The walls were paper thin and you can hear everything that goes on around you
- No hot water (if there was, I couldn't figure it out)
- Interesting toilet/shower combination
- No instructions on how to operate the safe

The little touches are what I missed most about staying at Baan Suay. I would like to have seen a kettle and tea and coffee available in the rooms (even if I had to pay "to hire" it). A bedside lamp for reading would have also been good and a clock.

The hotel is an easy 10-15 minute walk to Karon Beach, but it is an easy and interesting walk. There are plenty of shops and bars to stop and look at and lots of people to chat to along the way.

I ate at the hotel plenty of times and found each meal to be delicious and on par with prices in Karon.

I thought the room rates were extremely reasonable for Thailand and I would be happy to return to Baan Suay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach

Address: 381 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Short walk to Karon beach, swimming pool, air condition and free Internet and wireless every room.Sawadee Kap! Welcome to Phuket, Karon Beach and Baan Suay Resort. Enjoy either of our luxurious deluxe or superior rooms. All feature king-size beds, large bathrooms with hot showers, in-room safe, fridge, cable TV, air conditioning, free high speed wireless internet and daily maid service. You will want for nothing! Start, end, or spend your entire day eating and relaxing in our fully stocked open air bar and restaurant. We serve a full complement of Thai and Western food 7 days a week from 7am to 10pm. Relax at a table or lounge on a sofa watching TV in the breezy shade or catch up with friends back home using our free desktop computer and internet service. Brought your own laptop? Take advantage of our free wireless internet access in our restaurant and all our guest rooms. If you fancy a game of pool with friends we have a free pool table for you to use but just remember don't play pool with Bow our restaurant manager as he has had to much practice over the years or maybe you can try your luck. Spend a lazy day relaxing in the brilliant Thai sunshine at our poolside, sipping one of our trademark exotic cocktails or non alcoholic beverages. Or go for a swim in our swimming pool to cool off in the heat of the day. Our greatest pride is our lovely, friendly Thai staff. Suporn, Bow, Ratri, Jam, Lisa and Pang who always want to show everyone the very best of Thai hospitality and service. Suporn and Bow speak great English and the others can communicate with a few words of English and a beautiful nod and a smile. We all know the island very well so please let our knowledge enhance your experience in Phuket. We also have a 24 hour on site taxi service for you as well with Kit our driver and a 24 hour supermarket and ATM cash machine 100 Meters away. Karon is one of Phuket's longer beaches, very popular due to its fine white sand. Being so long the sunbeds are well spaced out so it never feels crowded. Karon beach and town center is all but a short walking distance away and there you can find shopping, Restaurants, bars and markets. We hope you enjoy your stay in Thailand. Sawadee Kap ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach Hotel Karon
Baan Suay Hotel
Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.