We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo House Phuket

Save Saved
You added Bamboo House Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bamboo House Phuket
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   492/1 Patak Rd | Karon Beach Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 73 hotels in Karon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service and very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my evening here, it is a little pricey compared to other places, but the food was nice it is niceley decorated and clean and we were really happy with the service

Was a nice dining experience

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    41
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
51
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Venice,Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I choose this Hotel because the reviews were not bad, but I was very disappointed. We arrive late at about midnight, we took advantage of the free transfer from the airport and this was scaring. The speed was 150 km and suddenly he fell asleep, fortunately he came to his senses.
Room on the first floor, A/C engine in our ears, guests doing showers seem to have them in our room, the bed stank.After calling the reception to change room, It was told sorry full. I did not sleep, in the morning I asked for another room, but they were full so I tried to explain that when I made the reservation I wanted a quite room as 8 nights are not one night. Breakfast very poor, I changed hotel as no solution was found. No refund for one night, the kept the 2 nights deposit, my request for a free shuttle to my new Hotel( 4 minutes drive) was declined and paid 300 Baht directly to them.Be aware.

Room Tip: very noisy A/C, room needs to be refreshed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

we stayed two nights at the bamboo house and it was great. A short walk away from karon beach, but feels quite nice and quiet. The bar does some really good cocktails, the rooms are neat and clean. The rooms came with a mac computer hooked up to the tv. The pool gets sunshine almost all day, which is great. The hotel provides a little beach bag with towels, and we got new ones every day. The only negative was that for some reason our bathroom had a door that didn't fit the door frame (there was space above and below it, like a stall rather than a room door!). The shower curtain also was a bit short, it didn't reach the floor so the bathroom would get really wet when we showered! Our view wasn't very pretty either but we were hardly in the room so that was ok! But it was excellent value for money and a good experience. Overall, would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, Bucks, England
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Dined here Saturday 8th Sept 2012.
Just walking by and it looked a bit more upscale than the other cheap eats up and down the Patak Rd. Cloth napkins and table cloths!

Food was nice and the service was very good.
Nice selection and well priced - slightly up on the likes of Tally Food & The Red Onion but worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed from 30 Aug to 1 Sep 2012. 2nd trip to Phuket and first time staying in the Karon area. The action is in Patong and Karon locality is a nice quieter location just a short tuk tuk ride of 300-400 baht from the main Bangala street in Patong.
The room were nice and clean. Free wifi, firm mattress but soft pillows, mac mini in each room. There is no toothbrush and paste provided but not an issue with a 24/7 family mart within 2mins from the hotel. Accessing the rooms might be an issue if you have leg problems. There are no lifts. So be prepared to climb a max of 5 flight of stairs.
Within the vicinity, the much needed family mart, exit hotel turn left. Couple of atm machines around so getting cash shouldn't be much of an issue. Nice clean massage place directly across the road from the hotel. Full body thai massage at 300 baht. Couple of cheap eateries around and Karon beach is within walking distance from the hotel.
For the price you pay, I rate this hotel as value for money. Great night's sleep and fairly good location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great location and beautiful rooms. MacMini hooked up to the flatscreen tv in the room is a particularly good touch. instant free access to the internet. Free wifi in rooms too. Very nice shower room. There were three of us and the third bed was just a mattress on the floor, not ideal but we had no complaints. The pool area was lovely and the water feature is a nice touch, the Restaurant area was lovely and out door (with a roof) food was great. Great Location, a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here with my wife for 5 days in August. We were impressed by the neatly designed rooms and the cute decorative use of bamboo. The rooms were comfortable and air conditioned, and the staff were mostly very helpful.

The hotel's bar/restaurant offers some excellent food and cocktails, although keep in mind that it is a bit more expensive than smaller nearby restaurants. The pool is nice and, although small, it was always available and clean while we were there.

The location of the hotel is very good. It is right in the center of Karon, with plenty of restaurants, bars, markets, street food, massage parlors, and salons very close by. There are no real pavements to speak of, but you will get used to that. Just keep a close eye on the traffic! I also highly recommend insect repellant, as the open drains attract mosquitoes, as is the case in many towns in Thailand.

The beach, which is quite beautiful, is also just a short walk away. The umbrella seats are great value, and you can enjoy fruit drinks from nearby vendors. Pay close attention to the flags though, as the rip current can be dangerous.

Like any cheaper hotel, the Bamboo House certainly has its idiosyncrasies. For instance, the bathroom doors do not extend either to the floor or the ceiling, which may create an unexpected challenge for new couples. In addition, the outdoor breakfasts tend to attract rather a lot of bees, which can be a little unnerving.

But all in all, I'm extremely happy to have stayed here. For the traveler who is on a budget but appreciates the comfort of a nice hotel, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo House Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo House Phuket

Address: 492/1 Patak Rd | Karon Beach Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo House Phuket 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo House Phuket is an ultra stylish boutique hotel offering a unique combination of sleek yet minimalist decor with a bamboo theme echoed from the pool garden outside all the way through to subtle details in every room.With top of the range hi-tech amenities and inclusive high-speed wireless internet available in each room, Bamboo House is the ultimate choice in providing all of your needs whether for work or for play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Bamboo House Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo House Phuket Hotel Karon
Bamboo Hotel Phuket
Bamboo House Phuket Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo House Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.