We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Marina Resort - ART

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Marina Resort - ART to your Saves list
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   542/1 Patak Road, | Karon Beach, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Karon Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfort and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived yesterday at Sugar Marina Karon. I have pool access room for around $50AUD incl breakfast.it is standard quality hotel, nothing exceptional but for the price it is very good. It is a newer hotel and typical of a lower standard of construction it has plenty of examples of poor finishing that creates problems cleaning such as in bathrooms. But the staff do a good job to keep the hotel tidy and rooms are very comfortable just do not expect 5 stars especially if you get a room cheaply like I did by booking 3 months in advance. Karon is a quiet place too so make a wise choice. If you want action and excitement try Patong but if you are more laid back and just want a quiet friendly spot good food and a few bars to sink down a beer or two, then Karon is a good choice. Sugar Marina Karon gets a 4 out of 5 from me on value, friendly staff and location near Main Street but quiet area at night.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are great and if booked well ahead will be only a little bit more costly than othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    223
    55
    17
    18
See reviews for
48
112
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Place is amexing, clean with modern forniture! very beautiful, and great price for the quality of service! Is full of russian, whcih they will finish everything availbale for breakfast if you don't hurry!
We'll go back soon!
Cheers

Room Tip: room facing pool is best, but first flloor or higher, otherwise you'll be waken up at 8 by splas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying 2 nights.Booked for pool view and early check-in.No a problem once we reach their front desk.
Room was great and bathroom was clean.Enough space for 3 of us to walk freely in room.Best part,we're given a pool access room.Perfect Stay.We are happy with the room and friendly staffs there.Well Done...

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Since little enter from the street, it is quiet.
Staff will me very devoted follow. And do not forget to smile.
Room has also been kept clean. when I stayed, minibar was FREE.
Breakfast was buffet. And American breakfast, there are two types of Thai cuisine, but is both was delicious.

Of 4 days was staying, but to be able to relax, we were able to spend leisurely.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay at Sugar Marina Resort - Art at Karon Beach in Phuket went beyond my expectations from the photos we saw online when choosing a hotel for our trip. Everything about this resort is nice and contemporary from the room ( art and clean ), the pool ( very nice ) and the incredible breakfast buffet!!! We stayed only 1 night in middle April 2015 ( Songkran's day in Thailand ) When we checked in with the staff at Front Desk, they were giving us for 2 ice-cream, it made us so happy and surprised because we just finished our working from the flight quick turn it made we were tired and we took the flight go to Phuket !! but they made us forgot tiredness. Thanks Khun Alex who is a reception at there. He is very nice and helpful. Compared to hotels that we had stayed, this was one of nice resort we have had the pleasure of staying at. If we have a free time from our working I will go back. We are crew and we have experience with the hotels and we need to recommend this hotel for your choice.
ขอบคุณความสะดวกสบายและความประทับใจให้กับการพักผ่อนอันสั้นของผมนะครับ
Enjoy with your working,
Janenarong Sun,

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights in the pool access room. The room is spacious, clean, and pretty new. Free mini bar drinks that included coke, beer, juice water and chocolate bar. The pool was sparkling clean. The only thing I can fault is the water pressure. Everything else was great.

The staffs were great! I've lost my wallet with all my money and credit cards; knowing that I did not have any money to take public transport, they were helpful enough to drive me down to the local police station to file a report. Even offered me free meals, although I declined. Extremely pleased with the staffs there, wouldn't be alive right now =)

For those who are too lazy to go far for meal, Mama restaurant, right outside the hotel has one of the freshest seafood, serving thai and western cuisines. Affordable and really good! Service staffs are also very friendly.

This area hotel is at is great for families/couple or if you want to have a quiet time alone here. The beaches are cleaner and quieter compared to Patong or Kata beach.

Other info: The location here is close to Patong, a tuk tuk or taxi ride to Patong will cost you 300 baht after some negotiations. Cost around 850 baht for metered taxi from the airport to the hotel.

Room Tip: Pool access is a bliss
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Stayed here with a group of friends last month. This hotel is strategically located near Karon Beach and we ABSOLUTELY love it here. It's at the quieter side of Phuket but not too far away from Patong.

Interior and staff service of the hotel is amazing. Everything here is so beautiful and meticulously prepared (including the restocking of the mini bar everyday!). The swimming pool here is long but not too deep. It's suitable for kids to swim in it.

If you walk out of the hotel, there's a massage parlour just right beside it and outside the street has a lot of convenience stores. It's quite happening at night too with the bars, cafes and street stalls.

Overall, a very good place to stay. Convenient and nice! Will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: If you like to swim, it's advisable to choose a room with direct access to the pool. If you pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - ART? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - ART

Address: 542/1 Patak Road, | Karon Beach, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Karon Beach)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 72 Hotels in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Marina Resort - ART 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exciting new resort concept brings art into every aspect of your stay. Check out the cool eye catching sculptures and displays made from everyday hotel items that will tempt you to take a photo. But more than this, each creative piece of installation art is produced by our own team of staff whose talent goes beyond their gracious hospitality. The installation art has a stunning visual effect that will make you smile from the mighty stack of chairs on the lawn to the paintbrush towel hangers in your deluxe room. Check out the oversized staff photo gallery, huge mobile made from pencils, the upside down umbrellas display and the facilities wall full of TVs to name just a few. There are so many artistic delights to discover at Sugar Marina Resort-ART-Karon Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - ART reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Karon Hotel Karon
Sugar Palm Hotel Karon
Sugar Marina Resort - ART Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Marina Resort - ART, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.