We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Marina Resort - ART

Save Saved
You added Sugar Marina Resort - ART to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   542/1 Patak Road, | Karon Beach, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Karon Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 73 hotels in Karon
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Date: 29/09 - 02/10/2012
Room: Deluxe Pool Access with Breakfast
Agent: Agoda (Singapore $199)

From phuket international airport, it cost us 600baht to karon, the cheapest. The taxi we took was supposed to be metered but obviously they are not. (these taxis can be found outside the airport, turn right once exit the main door of the airport & all the way to the end. cant miss it.)

Somehow, the driver gave us a reason to stop somewhere as he needs to signed something. He stopped at an office by the roadside & another staff, a lady approached us & started making a conversation. She is actually trying to sell us their services, like rent a car, tour package & even a taxi transfer back to airport from ur hotel on the day u depart. (If ur flights are confirmed, its best that u take up the offer bcos it cost the same, 600baht.) Since our flight is at night & we have yet to decide to leave early or to stay at the hotel longer.

Reached hotel around noon & was greeted by the front desk staff. Ample parking space if u were to rent a car. Able to check in early as the room was ready.

The staff led us to our room which is situated on the first floor (obviously). Access by card key & only 1 card key was given to us.

Once we enter the room, we were greeted by the view of the balcony which leads to the swimming pool.
The room is fully furnish with the usual stuff with safe deposit box, & couple of bathrobe. no ironing facilities in the room. Their one day laundry is cheap too.

Bathroom fitted with both rain shower & tub! Amenities provided soap/shampoo & as well as coffee & tea. Everything in the bar fridge is free & topped up everyday if consumed. Nothing much but a can of coke, beer, a bottle of juice & 2 bottled water goes a long way when u need it on a hot humid weather.

Rooms are made everyday.

Their entertainment centre is made up of a flat screen tv, a mac mini complete with magic mouse & wireless keyboard. u can play dvd (5 for 500baht along the streets) & surf the internet at the same time. Wifi is free too.

Breakfast... is simple!!! Diffrent kinds of toast, jam/butter, coffee/tea, salad, fruits, fried rice, omelette, bacon, sausages, potatoes... etc

Pool is abt 1.2m deep & good for laps.

Room Tip: Pool access is the way to go!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    189
    50
    14
    14
See reviews for
36
79
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at Sugar Palm 4 nights, room was great plenty of room. If staying it's worth booking the pool access room excellent. Very friendly staff nothing is a bother. Mini bar is free topped up daily with water, juice, a can of coke and can of Singha. Breakfast was more the enough plenty to choose from. Wifi not that good very slow, but if you sit in the lobby it works great. Hotel location excellent everything you need right at your doorstep. Room was cleaned everyday. Before I left Australia called and arranged for pick up from airport all good driver there upon arrival.
Great place and excellent price I booked my entire holiday over the internet with no hassles at all.

Room Tip: Go for the pool access room you'll love it so will the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

stayed 4 days 3 nights here with friends and family. had a superb time, booked a pool access room, the rooms were huge and fantastic no complaints at all . the room has a smart tv whereby we can surf the net on tv .house keeping is prompt and friendly mini-bar is totally free everyday topped up with one can of beer,soft drink and two mineral water bottles . air con is good fresh and powerful . morning breakfast is american buffet style which has a eggs station. would prefer if they also had a pancakes station as well.overall had a fun time and thumbs up for the hotel
In Thailand there seem to have mosquito problem all around hope the management can provide a electric diffuser for the rooms which will make it compete

Room Tip: please get the pool access room you will not regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights in June 2012. Great value for money. Staff always smiling and helpful. Booked online and didn't organize a late checkout, spoke to the manager and she gave us another room to have a shower before our evening flight free of charge. Great location.

Room Tip: Pool access room was really worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We arrived at this beautiful hotel a little early as we had driven down from Patong Beach. When we arrived our room wasn't ready, however we were made to feel very welcome, we were given a welcome drink of juice and then were told that as our room wasn't ready we would be bumped up to a different room. And wow what a room this was the doors led out to a deck that went straight to the pool. I have to say this was a welcome surprise. I would stay here again as it was also a very well located hotel close to everything.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahaheel, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were pleasently surprised when we arrived at the hotel. The rooms are well sized and the ones on the beach side have a really nice view over the garden/pool. Clean, well located, nicely decorated, slightly large passages if you're in the last rooms. The pool is very large and very enjoyable. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

this hotel was pleasant,clean and in a good location in Karon. The service, and breakfast was all fine. Fine for the price, but i wasnt overly fussed in Karon. Bit too quiet for me and the beach although lovely is not as good as i have in my own backyard in Wollongong, Australia.
To be honest i wasnt fussed on Phuket. I loved Bangla Road and the fun of the bars and things but I found the people a bit rude, stand offish. They didnt seem to like having tourists around to be honest and certainly didnt have much of a sense of humour. Dont get me wrong we did meet some lovely thai people and can totally recommend the red onion resteraunt and the small one up from that on the same side of the road. We found a lovely thai woman driver Kud, she was lovely. The Nepalese and Burmese people seemed to have more time for us and was happy to have a bit of a joke, but they can be rogues. Their english was alot better and they seemed mostly happy to have a chat, I think they realised the tourist dollar. It felt like there was more money in Phuket than in other parts of Thailand and Indonesia..
Shopping was much better in old phuket town, a great market and loved the weekend night market.

Room Tip: the pool is massive, and you can get a room directly into the pool, Dont know if that would be a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - ART? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - ART

Address: 542/1 Patak Road, | Karon Beach, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Karon Beach)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 73 hotels in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Marina Resort - ART 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exciting new resort concept brings art into every aspect of your stay. Check out the cool eye catching sculptures and displays made from everyday hotel items that will tempt you to take a photo. But more than this, each creative piece of installation art is produced by our own team of staff whose talent goes beyond their gracious hospitality. The installation art has a stunning visual effect that will make you smile from the mighty stack of chairs on the lawn to the paintbrush towel hangers in your deluxe room. Check out the oversized staff photo gallery, huge mobile made from pencils, the upside down umbrellas display and the facilities wall full of TVs to name just a few. There are so many artistic delights to discover at Sugar Marina Resort-ART-Karon Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - ART reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Karon Hotel Karon
Sugar Palm Hotel Karon
Sugar Marina Resort - ART Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Marina Resort - ART, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.