We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my recent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Marina Resort - ART

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sugar Marina Resort - ART to your Saves list
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   542/1 Patak Road, | Karon Beach, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Karon Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Karon
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“my recent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

stayed 4 days 3 nights here with friends and family. had a superb time, booked a pool access room, the rooms were huge and fantastic no complaints at all . the room has a smart tv whereby we can surf the net on tv .house keeping is prompt and friendly mini-bar is totally free everyday topped up with one can of beer,soft drink and two mineral water bottles . air con is good fresh and powerful . morning breakfast is american buffet style which has a eggs station. would prefer if they also had a pancakes station as well.overall had a fun time and thumbs up for the hotel
In Thailand there seem to have mosquito problem all around hope the management can provide a electric diffuser for the rooms which will make it compete

Room Tip: please get the pool access room you will not regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    194
    51
    16
    15
See reviews for
40
87
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights in June 2012. Great value for money. Staff always smiling and helpful. Booked online and didn't organize a late checkout, spoke to the manager and she gave us another room to have a shower before our evening flight free of charge. Great location.

Room Tip: Pool access room was really worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We arrived at this beautiful hotel a little early as we had driven down from Patong Beach. When we arrived our room wasn't ready, however we were made to feel very welcome, we were given a welcome drink of juice and then were told that as our room wasn't ready we would be bumped up to a different room. And wow what a room this was the doors led out to a deck that went straight to the pool. I have to say this was a welcome surprise. I would stay here again as it was also a very well located hotel close to everything.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fahaheel, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were pleasently surprised when we arrived at the hotel. The rooms are well sized and the ones on the beach side have a really nice view over the garden/pool. Clean, well located, nicely decorated, slightly large passages if you're in the last rooms. The pool is very large and very enjoyable. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

this hotel was pleasant,clean and in a good location in Karon. The service, and breakfast was all fine. Fine for the price, but i wasnt overly fussed in Karon. Bit too quiet for me and the beach although lovely is not as good as i have in my own backyard in Wollongong, Australia.
To be honest i wasnt fussed on Phuket. I loved Bangla Road and the fun of the bars and things but I found the people a bit rude, stand offish. They didnt seem to like having tourists around to be honest and certainly didnt have much of a sense of humour. Dont get me wrong we did meet some lovely thai people and can totally recommend the red onion resteraunt and the small one up from that on the same side of the road. We found a lovely thai woman driver Kud, she was lovely. The Nepalese and Burmese people seemed to have more time for us and was happy to have a bit of a joke, but they can be rogues. Their english was alot better and they seemed mostly happy to have a chat, I think they realised the tourist dollar. It felt like there was more money in Phuket than in other parts of Thailand and Indonesia..
Shopping was much better in old phuket town, a great market and loved the weekend night market.

Room Tip: the pool is massive, and you can get a room directly into the pool, Dont know if that would be a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Sugar Palm Resort was fabulous. Great service, clean and close to everything and only a short taxi ride to Patong at reasonable price. We had a fabulous time all round and plan on going back.

Room Tip: Ground floor goes straight onto pool - terrific. But no stairs to get back out so you have to walk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

If you are going to stay near Karon Beach (which is infamous for its riptides during the low season), you could do a lot worse than staying here. The rooms are of respectable size. Wifi is free throughout hotel, although slow in the rooms. I like to do laps when swimming, and the pool is perfect for this since it's about the length of a football field and about 5-6 feet across. Breakfast is average, but expensive if it is not included in your roomrate. It's a great location -- minutes from beach in one direction; bars/restaurants etc. in the other. We ran into a bit of a problem the first day -- AC didn't work -- so they upgraded us to a better room overlooking pool for the rest of our stay. That was a mixed blessing, since drunk Russians were particularly loud late at night for several nights. And, best of all, they gave us one can of free beer most days we stayed there. If I stay in Karon again, I'll definitely stay at the Sugar Palm.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better chance you have of seeing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - ART? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - ART

Address: 542/1 Patak Road, | Karon Beach, Muang, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Karon Beach)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Marina Resort - ART 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exciting new resort concept brings art into every aspect of your stay. Check out the cool eye catching sculptures and displays made from everyday hotel items that will tempt you to take a photo. But more than this, each creative piece of installation art is produced by our own team of staff whose talent goes beyond their gracious hospitality. The installation art has a stunning visual effect that will make you smile from the mighty stack of chairs on the lawn to the paintbrush towel hangers in your deluxe room. Check out the oversized staff photo gallery, huge mobile made from pencils, the upside down umbrellas display and the facilities wall full of TVs to name just a few. There are so many artistic delights to discover at Sugar Marina Resort-ART-Karon Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - ART reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Karon Hotel Karon
Sugar Palm Hotel Karon
Sugar Marina Resort - ART Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Marina Resort - ART, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.