We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for the boys fab hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Island Guest House

Save Saved
You added Green Island Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Island Guest House
516/15 Patak Road, Soi Islandia | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 69 hotels in Karon
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place for the boys fab hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Guest House is in the perfect location, its a lovely guest house all clean tidy and everything you need.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Fresh towels and botteled water daily
Tony was the perfect host, already about to book again see you later on in the year :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
9
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Rooms are nice and clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Perfect location to the best beaches on the island. Also, tons of fresh, cheap local fruit and full meals right nearby.

Right next door is a very friendly travel agent to help book tours, shuttles to the airport, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Great guest house in a perfect location. Rooms are spacious, beds are huge and comfortable, shower is powerful & the tv has good English movie channels.

Location is so good because its just round the corner from all the small bars, good if you want a quiet night as there is no loud bars outside the guest house. 5 min walk to the beach. The owner, tony, couldn't be more helpful if you need any local advice.



Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The rooms are spacious and have everything you need, safe, tv, wireless internet, fresh towels daily and bottled water, but it is a shame the bathroom does not have a more powerful shower and is not more modern. My room (room 3 i think) was noisey with the sound of elvis playing until the very early hours of the morning for a few nights from a bar on another road.Green island is however in a very good spot with bars/restaurants very close and an easy flat 4-5 minutes walk to the lovely beach. The bar down stairs is fairly expensive, another bar I visited on a regular basis which was very close, for just about the same price I got a large bottled beer instead of a small one! I would stay again but would shop around before booking, as I think for the money other guest houses offer a better service! i.e breakfast/airport transfers/more bottled water.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karksi-Nuia, Viljandimaa, Estonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

There was very cosy and comfortable room. Nice and spacious safe in room. Didn't hear any noises from outside.

Heirel and Maarja from Estonia
Stayed in Green Island Guesthouse in March 2012

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed here for one night, and would not have liked to have spent my whole holiday here. It is pretty dreary. The rooms are in need of some modernisation and are quite depressing. My room had air-con that leaked constantly, a shower that broke and a lingering smell of drains. While the man who worked there was really nice, the woman was so cold and unwelcoming that it actually made me uncomfortable.
This place is tolerable for a night or two at a push, but there are much nicer and cheaper (I paid 1000 baht/ night) budget places about Karon and Phuket.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011 via mobile

I cannot say one bad thing about our stay at the Green Island Guest House. I will start with the basics of feeling like your right at home- rooms are clean and cool, hot shower with high pressure, comfy bed, and the location is perfect. My first night there, I spent some time at the bar with the owner and his family and friends. The entire staff are the sweetest, and if you have the time be sure to get to know Tony the owner. He is very helpful if you need advice on things to do or places to eat. The travel agent, Tuk, is right next door, and she is amazing as well. Be sure to check out this hotel if you are on a budget or just want to save money in general. We saved so much, and our trip was awesome, because we got to spend the extra money on activities. There are places nearby to eat breakfast for less than 165 baht, if that is something you may be concerned with. The family at the Green Island Guest House will know you by name, and you won't find that anywhere else.. Trust me!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Island Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Island Guest House

Address: 516/15 Patak Road, Soi Islandia | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Karon
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Karon
#23 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Green Island Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Island Hotel
Green Island Guest House Phuket/Karon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Island Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.