We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nai Yang Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Nai Yang Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nai Yang Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65/23-24 Nai Yang Beach Rd, Sakhu, Nai Yang, Phuket 83140 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Nai Yang
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good location and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

This hotel is located opposite the beach in Nai Yang which is 10 minutes from Phuket Airport. Across the road from the Hotel, on the beach there are a variety of local seafood restaurants which are very good value. You literally sit on the beach. Positives for the hotel are price (check prices from different sources), location, clean modern room and friendly staff. Negatives are not a deluxe resort, noisy plumbing, work in progress and hotel rating. I found it a good place to stay which is convenient to the airport. (good for an early or late flight) If you have the money to spend then go to Kata Beach.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    209
    94
    36
    29
See reviews for
83
234
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

This fledgling hotel resort is on Nai Yang beach, which is the least developed of the west coast beaches on Phuket - (the east coast beaches are not considered swimming beaches) - and is at the other end of the spectrum from Patong, where the island's major shopping and nightlife facilities are concentrated.

Located 5-10 mins from the airport, Nai Yang beach still has a rustic feel about it; the beach is one of the island's best in terms of water quality and it is the beach most favoured by the locals. For a long time this was the domain of divers and kite surfers, with one short stretch of shabby huts making up the sole commercial presence, but every year there are growing signs of development in the form of new villas, hotels, serviced apartments and shopping facilites.

The Indigo Pearl, rated second best hotel on the whole of Phuket on this website, is the area's five star Grande Dame, and Nai Yang Beach Resort immediately next door must be second best in the area, though definitely not in the same league. This resort does offer various levels of accommodation, from suites to duplexes to what they call 'budget rooms'. The one thing that will strike you is that everything is white and new, mainly ground floor units of varying sizes. We had one of the budget rooms and it was perfectly comfortable - the bedroom is white and square with the well-sprung bed(s) situated on a raised platform; the bathroom beyond is chic and modern and houses the wardrobe and shower room.

Outside the bedroom, each unit has a small patio with outdoor seating. The resort has two sophisticated swimming pools catering for the two ends of the hotel. The gardens are young but maturing quickly, and they are building more accommodation units on the plot next door.

What rather lets the hotel resort down are the reception and restaurant areas, both basic and charmless; but i understand that these will be recreated as new when the extension is completed.

The room rates are probably 35% that of their glamorous five star neighbour, which brings this resort within reach of travellers with a budget to consider. And for those who don't mind when they travel, the low season rate can be nearly half the high season rate, which makes a two week stint in serviced luxury a very affordable treat indeed.

We stayed for two weeks in August, which is in the middle of the island's low (super-hot and rainy) season, but were blessed with 11 sunny but not unbearably hot days. The hotel was barely 10% full, which meant that we were able to negotiate an even more special rate for our 12 nights sojourn - around 22 pounds sterling per night, including breakfast.

What helped to make this visit special were the excellent staff - cheerful, friendly, interested, helpful; in many ways, much like the local staff in any of the other hotels on the island; but because the Nai Yang area has not yet been invaded by foreigners to the extent that the other beaches have, the locals still seem to have a degree of innocence and are far less pushy or money-driven than their counterparts on the busier beaches; most of them live in the villages around the area, belong to the same community, and at weekends mingle happily with the guests at the local fruit and food market fifteen minutes walk from the hotel.

Nai Yang beach will not appeal to everyone; after two nights of simple dining on the beach, guests may find the local offerings rather limited, especially in low season when half the local stalls are closed for the season. Nai Yang beach resort will not be relevant to such people who may be more accustomed to the crowds of Patong or Karon, where shopping centres are open and foreign cuisine available till late in the night. But if it is a quiet family holiday, or second honeymoon that you are seeking, you could do a lot worse than staying at Nai Yang beach and the Nai Yang beach resort.

  • Liked — Price, space, comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights when we flew into Phuket. The area as a whole is nice - a smallish beach bum resort with plenty of bars/resturants along the shore.

We opted for the Tropical Wing (3200B; a nice new bungalow next to a nice pool and well kept grounds) and we were very glad that we did as the rest of the resort was very run down and shabby - unfortunately you had to walk through the rest of the resort to get to the good part :(

Generally, we found the staff ok, but it was hardly what you'd call friendly. The lobby area next to reception was basically a place for the staff to kick back, relax, eat and watch telly - not really very inviting for guests. The breakfast was in the charmless italian restaurant attached. and was probably the worst we had anywhere in Thailand.

Worst of all, there was major construction going on right next door, so the walk to the room was along a steel site fence with all the associated noise you'd expect - hardly paradise.

Also didn't like the 50% deposit policy for reservations. If you are planning a long stay I would think very carefully about signing up to this.

  • Liked — Tropical Wing rooms are nice
  • Disliked — The rest of the resort is pretty shabby
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

Ok, I'm still trying to figure out this resort/place. I found it on the internet and the resort looked very nice as they do so I emailed them directly to book 3 rooms for 1 night. We needed to be close to the airport for an early flight to Bangkok in the morning. I emailed the resort a few months before hand and asked if they would pick us up from the airport after our flight from Australia. No problem was the reply. 2 weeks before we left Australia I sent another email confirming the pick up and flight numbers etc. They emailed back saying they would be there. Well they weren't, we looked and waited and waited until it was obvious no one would be coming now. So we all ( 5 adults and 3 children) get a van to take us there, he kept asking why we had chosen this place??? We arrived to pitch blackness, only the flicker of a TV going. Next minute a man gets up from the lounge in the reception area, he'd been fast asleep. Honestly we had to get our van driver to translate the best he could who we were, how many rooms I'd booked, that I had already paid 50% deposit on all 3 rooms, it was terrible. He lead us down a path and took my sister and her husband to 1 room, our single friend to his room and then us 5 down the path a bit and opened the door to a room with 2 single beds in it. I looked at my husband and had to laugh, in one of my emails they had said we'd all fit in the 1 room and they'd give us a room with a queen and 3 single beds in it. I pointed to the 2 single beds and then at us 5 but he just stared at me like he coundn't understand, so we said thankyou and he left. My husband and 1 son had to go to our single friends room and squeeze into his other spare single bed for the night. Was I happy to see morning. The room is very basic, no fridge,tv, very basic toilet and shower.
The best thing about this place was Wats Bar across the road and the guys serving breakfast near the resort. I didn't get to see all of the resort as building work was going on right in front of our room and there was extension leads all taped up wires running from the building site to an old shed lying in paddles of water.
It was good to leave...

  • Liked — checking out the next morning
  • Disliked — Where do I start
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights in Jan 07 in a detached bungalow near the front of the resort. This resort has mainly attached bungalows and, based on past experiences, we wanted something detached. We were given what we asked for. It is worth noting that their executive bungalows are not detached and are also near a cut through which is constantly in use by motorbikes. The best accommodation option seemed to be the Tropical Wing towards the back of the resort and set around the pool. The rooms here are attached (hence why we didn't book this) but they are new and probably in the most peaceful spot.

We paid 1950 baht per night including breakfast. The bungalow was nice enough, albeit a bit dark inside. It was very clean and was cleaned daily. We did have a little bit of trouble from a bird living in the roof of the bathroom, which left the odd 'present' near the sink, but not too much to complain about. There was plenty of hot water (albeit a bit brown) and the bed was comfortable. The storage facilities were a bit limited, but that's probably because I always have too much stuff.

We found the breakfast a bit disappointing. It is served from 7.30 - 10.30 and it is well worth getting there sooner rather than later if you want the 'cooked' option. They appeared to cook it and then what they cooked sat outside without covers until the end of breakfast. We didn't see them refreshing the cooked food at any time.

The welcome we received was very friendly and this is something that can be said about the staff here throughout our stay.

We choose this resort as we wanted something quiet with a nice beach. The beach is lovely, although there was quite a lot of seaweedy stuff in the sea at the time of our visit. There are plenty of sun loungers for rent and the resort provides beach towels.

We had booked for 11 nights but only stayed for 3 because the resort was not as quiet at night as we had expected. It was fine until about 11.30pm but then we had to sleep with ear plugs until about 4.30am due to music from a bar somewhere and people walking back past our bungalow making loads of noise (this could probably be avoided if you were in the tropical wing).

For food, I would agree that Linda's seafood if very good.

Unfortunately, Nai Yang was not for us.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Being kept awake at night
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

Hi we stayed at Nai Yang two years running and I must say its the most wonderful place ever! My friend runs the resort with his wife and im not just saying all this because of them, it truly is a great place and was made very welcome from the locals. It has everything you need for a wonderful stay and the beach is just across the road. Id reccommend Lindas Seafood restaurant on the beach front and Mr Kobi beach bar! I was hoping to go there again this year, Feb 07 but couldnt afford it. Will be definately going there again soon though! Enjoy the stay, since we went they have made more rooms and also have a pool. Am looking forward to seeing this!

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2007

This place is very close to the airport - about 15 mins which is great after a Very long flight
we stayed in a cottage by the pool - very nice - clean - large fridge with drinks, kettle - good sized bathroom - air con - on the way back we stayed in a basic cottage with air con - there is a difference in the rooms - i would pay the additional money and get a cottage by the pool.
it is about a 2 min walk to the beach - very nice sea to dip into

nightlife - consists of restuarants and bars on the beach - i would reccommend lindas - great seafood and very cheap

i would go back here as very convenient for the airport and a genuinally nice place

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nai Yang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nai Yang Beach Resort

Address: 65/23-24 Nai Yang Beach Rd, Sakhu, Nai Yang, Phuket 83140 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nai Yang Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After driving through a beautiful stretch of rubber trees you'll find Nai Yang Beach Resort, tucked away on a secluded stretch of sand on the Northwest coast of Phuket. The entire area is under the supervision of Nai Yang National Marine Park, making it protected, quiet and safe. The resort offers unforgettable views, seclusion, and access to a variety of activities including Dive center, shopping Plaza with the unique souvenir and professional Thai and foot massage. Or for that true escape, restful times with a good book while relaxing awaying casuarina and coconut trees. Swimming and relaxing at the front beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Nai Yang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nai Yang Beach Hotel Nai Yang
Nai Yang Beach Resort Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nai Yang Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.