We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but with some complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo Pearl

Save Saved
You added Indigo Pearl to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Indigo Pearl
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nai Yang Beach & National PA, Phuket, 83110, Nai Yang, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Nai Yang
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but with some complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Stayed at Indigo pearl for one week with my husband. Many things have already been said about this hotel so I´m gonna keep it short.
Positive:
* Location. Close to airport , beach and the small town.
* Service. We got great help from the staff when needed.
* Hotel grounds. Nice grounds and pools. Very well kept. Beutiful design in the whole hotel.
* Rooms. We stayed in a plantation villa. Very beutiful bathroom and patio. Very privat.
*Gym. Well equipped but to warm.
*Beach. VERY NICE!! Sandy beach. You can take long walks if you continue to the mai khao beach, and look at all the planes take off. Comfy sunbeds. Snorkeling is possible from the beach!
*Resturants at hotel: Breakfast was very good!! Did eat at the Tin mine when it was Asia buffet, and it was only "so-so". We ate at a resturant in the town that was called "Octupus". They had wonderful thai food and the service was inpeccible. It´s a family that run the resturant.
Negatives:
*Rooms: Impossible to understand how the lights in the room function. About 20 switches to choose from. We had to change room in the middle of the night because the air condition was broken and made a lot of noise. But again the staff was very helpful. There is not enough hangers for clothes.
* Service at the beach. It took to long for them to bring water. The bar staff made it very clear that we disturbed them when wanted to order drinks. No smiles there.
* Beach Club 2 was closed - They say one thing in the ad but reality is something else.
* Indigo Pearl does not live up to what is presented at the website (pictures, descriptions and so on) do not
* Tip: Go to Layana (Koh Lanta) - its magnificent!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,604
    498
    148
    50
    35
See reviews for
448
1359
50
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I have only just started writing reviews hence the long time in between my trip and this review!
This hotel has been the best I have ever experenced (I have stayed a lot of 5* hotels). Even to this day my partner and I use it as a benchmark to all other hotels we have stayed in since! We staye din the plantation Villa which wsa delightful, it came with a outdoor shower (which we didn't use), outdoor garden with sunloungers and a bath (which was a luxury) and indoor bathroom. The decor was fantastic - funky, modern yet cosy still.
There is a beach nearby however as with most beaches e necountered in Phuket, it was dirty and we found that the hotel had enough pools for us to choose from!
Breakfast was fantastic - great range of food. We also tried out the buffet at night, the Thai restaurant and also room service - all of which we thoroughly enjoyed. Some may find the food a bit pricey and there is little choice outside the hotel as it is not near any major places of interest but you're on holiday - spoil yourselves!
The hotel also had free computers in the library for guests to use, a selection of DVDs to watch in your room and free pool tables in the bar area!
I hope to visit this hotel again in the future!
If you want to do a lot of sight seeing this probably isn't the hotel for you (which is why we moved to a hotel in Patong after this hotel) but it is a lovely resort where you can just relax by the pool and soak up the sun.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

We had the privilege of staying at the Indigo Pearl from the 1st -8th April. We wanted the luxury of a 5 star resort , but be near a village so that we could experience Thai food & culture, & be close enough to an unspoilt beach away from crowds. After much research , Indigo Pearl ticked all the boxes, & it didn't disappoint. The fact that it is 5 mins drive from the airport is an added bonus.
Contrary to previous reviewers , we loved the stunning open reception area , which is where we were met on arrival by Pang , the lovely Guest Relations Officer, who welcomed us with ice tea & cold flannels, as she orientated us & took us to our rooms on electric buggies.
We opted for the standard Kelly Quarter rooms as we required a second room for our 3 sons, aged 18, 15 & 9 yrs, & we didn't anticipate being in them much. The rooms were clean , comfortable & had easy access to the beach & all the resort facilities.
One evening we were invited to a The Rever Bar for wine & canapes with the staff,& the General Manager , Arnaud Girodon , a very charming & down to earth Frenchman, sat with us for some time & seemed genuinely interested in us & our thoughts on the resort, & was able to give us some of it's history.
Indigo Pearl is an independently owned by a tin mining family. They hired an American architect who thoughtfully designed this chicly, sophisticated resort blended with beautifully maintained landscaping with ,a tin mine theme.
We used as many of the resort facilities as time would allow. Our 15 yr old son loved his private Thai boxing class, held in the gym which we visited on a few occasions, was well equipped & next to the tennis courts.
The pools were all as gorgeous & inviting as in the photos. We particularly enjoyed happy hour cocktails @ the swim up Plumb Bob bar where they had a DJ some afternoons , or they played Cafe Del Mer type music which created just the right ambience.
Breakfast was amazing & catered for all tastes & cultures. We never needed lunch. We had a divine birthday dinner for one son @ Black Ginger , complete with birthday cake & the lovely staff singing Happy Birthday. We found all the resort staff to be friendly & obliging. Room service prompt & efficient.
The beach is across a narrow street & is lined with great restaurants ; very inexpensive ,with fresh tasty food (recommend Batik). How could you not love dining right on the beach , watching the setting sun.
Nai Yang Beach is picturesque with white powder sand & turquoise water, with a perfect temperature.
We were well looked after by the beach club. Plenty of sun beds & towels & a bar. It was the extras that made it special, ice cold water, small cups made of leaves with fresh fruit, popsicles,
& cold flannels. The staff were always polite & helpful.
Lee was great with the boys . One day they disappeared from site on kayaks,& he jumped in his rubber dinghy to rescue them even though we assured him that we weren't worried for their safety . He let our 9 yr old steer the dinghy back ; which made his day.He stayed with them while they were learning to windsail.
The people in the village are gentle & trustworthy. On the beach, the children come around offering ice creams & drinks, & the women offer massages , but they are not persistent or intrusive.
We booked elephant rides though the small tourist office across the road from the resort, & hired a car (Aus $30/day) , so that we could drive to the night copy & food markets ,& the next day to Patong for parasailing, jet skiing & fish spa( hilarious).As we made our way back up the coast dropping in at other beaches, we were happy that we had chosen Indigo Pearl & Nai Yang Beach. My only regret was that I didn't do the Thai cooking course @ Moo's kitchen . Guess I'll have to go back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

My wife and I spent 3 weeks travelling around Asia and wanted to finish our trip off in a nice relaxing manner. Spending days by the pool reading and drinking was the goal. We didn't really want to spend the time in the hussle and bussle of Patong Beach (approx 30 - 45mins away).

Based on what we wanted to get out of Phuket, the Indigo Pearl was PERFECT. Beautiful restaurants in the resort, great facilities, beautiful room, wonderful staff. We opted for the Private Pool Pavilion and the private pool did not go to waste.

Private cars were a great option for heading into town etc. they drop you off, and come back after a few hours to pick you up. Air conditioning in the vehicle is a major benefit than using taxis, quite reasonably priced as well.

One suggestion would be to experience the Moo's Kitchen cooking class, its a very fun day spent at the markets picking fruit and veg, cooking back at the resort and then eating all the great creations at lunch. Definately a must.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

This is a lovely hotel. I really can’t add much that hasn’t already been said, interesting and unique design, great staff (I was impressed with everyone’s English even the friendly groundkeepers who if you looked lost would ask where you were going and if you needed help.. so sweet... since I got lost a few times). One of the best hotel orientations at check in I’ve every had. The resort is large so I might have missed some of the facilities if they hadn’t been pointed out.
The prices at the restaurants are really very reasonable and the food and drinks were delicious.

The only suggestion I’d have is that one of the three pools be a non-smoking pool or a large area at each designated non-smoking. Most of the hotel guests appeared to be European and smokers so it was our experience that it was hard to get away from the second hand smoke while at the pool. (But we’ve found this to be true at most tourist hotels in Asia)
As we’d just arrived from some much more rustic accommodations one of our favorite things about this hotel was the wonderful mattress. So comfortable! We will defiantly take another long weekend trip to Indigo Pearl in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We had the privilege of staying at the Indigo Pearl from the 1st -8th April at the start of a 16 day holiday in Thailand. We wanted the luxury of a 5 star resort, as close as possible to a beautiful beach with turquoise water & white sand, with a local village to experience Thai food & culture , without the crowds. After much research, Indigo Pearl was the one that ticked all the boxes,& we weren't disappointed. The fact that it is a 5 min. drive from the airport was a huge bonus ( it is actually relaxing lying on the beach watching the planes ,as you can't hear them).
Contrary to previous reviewers , we loved being welcomed in the stunning open pagoda style reception area by Pang , the guest relations officer, who orientated us as we cooled down with ice tea & cold towels.
We chose the cheaper Kelly rooms as we required a 2nd room for our 3 sons aged 18, 15 & 9 years, & we didn't anticipate spending much time in them.The rooms were very adequate, comfortable, clean & accessible to all areas of this well designed resort.
All staff members were amiable & obliging. Room service , always prompt.
We were invited to cocktails at Rebar by the General Manager , a very approachable & down to earth Frenchman, Arnaud Girodon , who sat with us for some time & seemed genuinely interested in us & out thoughts about the resort.
Indigo Pearl is an independent resort owned by a tin mining family who empolyed an American architect to thoughtfully & stylishly design this very chic resort ,with a tin mine theme. The gorgeously well maintained landscaped gardens blend in perfectly . Unlike many beach resorts world wide, it has been cleverly designed not to spoil Nai Yang, as it can't be seen from the beach .
We utilised as much resort facilities as time would allow. Breakfast at the Tin Mine was opulent, catering to every culture. We went to the elegant Black Ginger for our son's 15th birthday ,a gorgeous traditionally Thai restaurant set in the middle of a pond. The same son also loved his Thai boxing class at the gym, which is set beside the tennis courts, & is well equipped.
The family pool is large ,& very inviting . The 14 yrs & up pool , great for a dip on the way back from the beach ,or just to lie on a sun bed & read a book away from the kids. This wet edged pool looks over several amazing ghost palms to the other adult pool , which we loved to frequent at 4pm (happy hour) at the swim up Plumb Bob bar for a cocktail while Cafe Del Mer type music created the perfect ambience .They had a DJ some afternoons.
The beach is just across a narrow street with a small village of restaurants & bars. We tried several of these for dinner & found the food authentic , fresh & cheap (recommend The Batik) & who wouldn't love dining on the beach watching the setting sun.
During the day the beach club really looks after you. We never had trouble attaining sunbeds . Towels were always plentiful . The extras, eg.little cups made out of leaves with fresh fruit, popsicles, iced water & cold flannels felt decadent.
Lee , the beach club manager, went above & beyond to help with water sports . When our boys disappeared from site to explore a small island, Lee was out to them in his rubber rescue boat like , "Bondi rescue", even though we assured him that we weren't particularly worried. He also spent a lot of time helping them learn to wind sail.
The locals are gentle, friendly people. Their children were on summer holidays while we were there & a few were working on the beach , selling ice creams & drinks . Along with the massage ladies , they quietly offered their services without being intrusive.
Locals with long boats will take you to neighbouring beaches for jet skiing & parasailing.
We opted to hire an airconditioned car ($30Aus dollars /day) to visit the night copy markets near Phuket town (about 40 mins drive),& the next day to visit Patong for jet skiing , parasailing & fish spa(hilarious).The drive was easy & roads good. We visited a few of the other beaches on the way back to Nai Yang & were satisfied that we had chosen the right resort for us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We almost don’t want to give this place a rave review - we would rather keep it our little secret. This was our second trip to Indigo Pearl. After having the most wonderful honeymoon there in 2009, we considered staying elsewhere for this trip for all of 30 seconds then decided anywhere else would be a disappointment. So we will give credit where credit is due and also share some experiences and tips in what will be a lengthy review so if you don’t want to read the whole thing the next couple of paragraphs might help you decide if this place is for you…

DON’T STAY HERE IF…you like to drink til you can’t stand up, want to party all night, go to bars, like being around lots of people, want an endless variety of shopping within walking distance of your accommodation, just want a clean, comfortable and cool place to stay and you don’t really care what it looks like. May I suggest Patong is the place for you.

DO STAY HERE IF…you love peace, quiet and serenity, want to relax by the pool, feel like royalty, read a book or watch the clouds roll by, you appreciate accommodation that is really stylish and has the ‘wow’ factor, don’t really care for late nights and partying, happy to pay for a taxi or bus to take you shopping.

Indigo Pearl is something special. If you have not yet looked at photos, it is based around Phuket’s tin mining history. The theme carries through to everything - and I mean everything. The attention to detail is extraordinary - right down to the cutlery, the tissue boxes and even the toilet roll holders. It’s all rusted metal, recycled / aged timber, plate glass, polished concrete and fabulous blue lighting. Some reviews suggest the resort is cold and industrial (“what - you booked without looking at it on the internet?”), we found it simply amazing and even on our 2nd visit we would come across some fabulous design feature that made us go ‘wow’! I guess just like some people cannot appreciate a classic painting by a famous artist, then not everyone will like this place. If you don’t really care for surrounds that are something out of the ordinary, go and stay at the Dewa Phuket just down the road. It is nice; but it won’t blow your socks off like Indigo Pearl. If you have any kind of interest in construction, interior decorating, landscaping, art or photography then you will love it here.

We had booked Kelly Quarters but were upgraded to (I think) a Pearl Beds suite; they gave us exactly the same room we had on our honeymoon which was a really nice touch. The room is quite spacious with a clever walk-in robe / dressing room with plenty of hanging space, shelves and drawers. The provided toiletries - soap, lotion, shower gel are good quality and smell just divine.

We were just a short walk from the gym, which was great as we were there at 7am each day. If you are going to work out you have to do it early as it gets hot real quick and you feel like you’ve earned a big brekky once you‘ve exercised. The gym is small but has a great range of equipment for a full body workout. We really enjoyed our conversations with Graad, such a nice friendly guy who is working on his English. Ask him to show you what he can do with the fit balls!

There is a shuttle bus each day to Phuket town, Central Festival shopping centre and Patong. There aren’t actually any signs in the lobby for this, just ask at the concierge desk. It costs 490 baht per person return, more reasonable than local taxi which is 900 baht one way. I thought it strange that the bus left at 12 and returned at 4, giving us barely 3 hours shopping time in Patong. As it turned out this was a blessing. I previously visited Patong in 2002 and now it is just crazier and more crowded, full of sweaty tourists and every step of the way someone is wanting to take you somewhere or sell you something. It was ridiculously hot and we were happy to make our purchases and get the hell out of there. There is no way on god’s green earth that we’d consider staying there for even a night. It really is only good for shopping. As a guide (and I’m told I’m pretty good at bartering!) singlets and t-shirts 150 - 200 baht (good quality but beware they do shrink a bit); pashminas and silk scarves 300 - 350 baht; silk robes 300 baht; boxers shorts 2 for 300 baht. Of course it does depend too on the quantity purchased and the willingness of the seller. Do remember to smile when you barter, you will get a better price. And in my experience if a Thai seller says they are giving you a good starting price, (ie because you are buying a few things) they really are giving a good price. I spent quite a bit of time talking to one stallholder and he told me he buys the silk robe I bought from a wholesaler at 285 baht and sells for 300 baht, a profit of just 15 baht (about 50 cents in Australia). So remember also when you are haggling that small change to us is a lot to the locals. I also recommend Central Festival for shopping. It is huge and while not exactly cheap there is plenty of variety and it‘s nice and cool! When we were there last year there were a few temporary stalls where you could barter and we did some great shopping there. The stores where it’s one price were similar prices to home. Cosmetics are certainly cheaper but the best place for cosmetics is the duty free store at the departure lounge at Phuket airport. As for Phuket town I wouldn’t bother going there for shopping. It has some interesting architecture but the streets are a confusing maze, some very putrid smells and the shopping is not that great.

THE BEACH…
No, not the Leonardo Di Caprio movie, Nai Yang beach. But if you expect Nai Yang to look like the movie you will be disappointed. Nai Yang is a perfectly lovely, picturesque little beach. But let me qualify that by saying I live near some of the best beaches in the world. There is a little bit of rubbish, but I’d rather come across the odd plastic bottle or a tin can on Nai Yang beach than broken glass and hypodermic needles which you‘d find on the dodgy beaches back home. I think the only people that swim at Nai Yang are the locals and tourists who have never seen a beach before.

Indigo Pearl sits in the centre of Nai Yang, but it doesn’t have direct beach frontage. The resort is separated from the beach by a high wall. Nai Yang beach is in a national park, so I think that’s why the restaurants and shops along the beach have enormous casuarina pines literally growing out the roof. A very funny sight.

The ‘road’ that runs along the beach is a narrow strip of bitumen barely three paces across. You can walk from one end to the other in under 5 minutes. There are 20 or so restaurants, a couple of clothing shops and tour operators, massage services, tailors and taxis. It is not unusual to go into a shop in the afternoon to find the shopkeeper asleep on a stretcher at the back of the store. There is a real sense of community here…if you want a massage for two but they only have one person available they just call down the street for someone to come from another massage place. One nice thing is that the shop prices are really reasonable even BEFORE you start bartering. If this was home, where you have tourists at a somewhat isolated little beach resort, they would jack up the prices for sure.

The restaurants are all pretty much open air, plastic tables and chairs on the sand. I hate it when people call these places shabby old shacks - what were they expecting? Yes they are made of whatever the owners can find but there is a lot of love and pride in what they do. They even sweep the sand!

We ate 6/7 nights at Mamma Mia’s. It was great last time and even better this time. You have never seen a more organised kitchen. Very clean and tidy with a place for everything. Also one of the few places that has a fridge from what I can tell (compare this to the so called restaurant next door). Mamma Mia’s is run by a friendly extended family who all speak English quite well. I like that you can see exactly what the cook is up to in the kitchen. We ate at Batik last year, which was nice, but the kitchen is way out the back and you can’t see into it and that is a concern. Also at Batik you dine in these gorgeous little timber huts but after dark I saw a huge rat running around the sand so that was a put-off! But we thoroughly recommend Mamma Mia’s; everything we tried was delicious and the vegies were always fresh. Even their Western food was great - had the best French fries I’ve ever had and they did a cheeseburger that looked exactly like the one on the photo in their menu (take note McDonald’s). Average price of a meal for 2 with four dishes and soft drinks was around 400 - 500 baht. Very reasonable. Highly recommend the green curry soup with prawn.

There is a choice of restaurants at the resort but after handing over a big chunk of our holiday budget for the accommodation I’m happy to support the locals and dine on the beach. So other than Tine Mine restaurant where we had breakfast daily and one dinner I can’t comment on the other resort dining. Same goes for the spa, you can get a perfectly nice massage on the beach for much less.

A tip for the thrifty - the first thing we do when we arrive is take a local taxi to the nearest 7/11 (200 baht) and stock up on soft drinks and snacks. We then take all the expensive mini bar items out of the fridge. Soft drinks are only 14 baht at 7/11. You can also buy these from the mini mart just outside Indigo Pearl on the beach but you’ll pay more (35 baht).

THE BEST THINGS ABOUT INDIGO PEARL…
- The beds are divine, enormous king size beds so soft you feel like you are floating on a cloud. Huge feather pillows - not normally a fan - but found these extremely comfortable. You just sink into the bed and feel like you never want to move again. As someone who has chronic back pain, I woke pain-free every single day. I’d have taken this bed home if I could!

- The breakfast. Honestly anyone who says breakfast here is substandard is a complete idiot. There is fresh fruit and juices, the best bircher muesli I ever had, cereals, yoghurts, salad and stir fries, delicious fresh petit pastries and variety of fresh breads, bacon, sausages, potatoes, baked beans, hash browns, grilled tomatoes, smoked salmon, a variety of cheeses, waffles, pancakes and your own personal egg chef to cook eggs any way you like. The omelettes were sensational and if you order one, when you return the chef remembers what you ordered and hands over your plate without hesitation. OK I suppose there’s always going to be someone who will whinge that they don’t have some obscure brand of tea or something. All the food was fresh and delicious, not your typical bland crap for the masses that is churned out at your average buffet. It made us want to try everything; which we did. To the point where we just didn’t want to move we were so full!

- The gardens. Some reviewers have complained about getting lost in the resort. What a place to be lost in! Mass plantings of aloe, agave, bamboo, bird of paradise, liriope, frangipani, cordylines, cactus and enormous palm trees the likes of which I’ve never seen anywhere else. They look like something out of Jurassic Park. Simply awesome! Get lost, enjoy, take a camera.

- The staff. Extremely gracious, friendly, helpful. They have varying degrees of English but that’s to be expected. You will get plenty of practice saying ‘sa-was-dee’ as you make your way around the resort. I have absolutely no idea what other reviewers are talking about when they say the staff are unfriendly. Mind you we did see some appalling displays of bad manners from other guests who were so demanding and rude to the staff. We believe that a smile and graciousness will surpass any language barrier. When you adopt the traits of the locals you will enjoy your holiday all the more.

When it came to checkout we asked if we could have our room a bit longer as we had an evening flight. Staff told us we could have the room until 2pm but when I went back a couple of minutes later for them to adjust the key card, she said her manager had called and said we could have the room until 4pm because “we are special”. How good is that?

WHAT THE TRAVEL AGENTS WON’T TELL YOU…
- Yes there is just a curtain between the toilet and the rest of the suite. This didn’t bother us in the slightest, but if you need solid timber between you and your partner while you are doing your business, I suggest you look elsewhere.

- The heat is a killer. It was unseasonably hot when we were there and at times we found it unbearable to be in direct sun between 9 and 3pm, yet we are used to much hotter temperatures back home. It’s the humidity and lack of breeze, and the intensity of the sun. I would burn within 5 minutes, even with sunblock on. And yet we saw many people sit by the pool or beach in direct sun for hour after hour and they were red as lobsters! What they say about mad dogs and Englishman and midday sun also applies to Europeans! Makes me wonder if they have skin cancer awareness campaigns in the Northern hemisphere. We often spent the hottest part of the day in the comfort of our room having a nap or watching TV. In fact the nicest time of day to go to the pool is 3.30pm onwards. The sun loses its kick a bit and all the people who are burnt to a crisp have left so it’s easier to get a sun lounge.

- There is really not much to do here and we love that! The nightly entertainment consists of…watching planes climb into the sky while you dine on the beach, watching the local kids play soccer, watching the sky change color as the sun sinks into the Andaman sea, or the local dogs fighting over their patch of beach. There are a few bars on the beach but they had very few customers. We are not big drinkers in fact we didn‘t drink at all while we were there; the prices were not that cheap and I’m fussy about what wines I drink so happy to go without. At night we had dinner while watching the sun set, a walk on the beach, then back to our room for some TV, then an early night. Our holiday was all about relaxation.

- You can just hear the planes. The airport is at the next beach to the north. Inside the resort and depending on the breeze you can just hear a distant rumble of planes. This didn’t bother us at all; in fact it‘s a reminder that you are somewhere faraway and exotic. You can catch glimpses of the planes through the trees while at the adult pool.

- The main restaurant, Tin Mine, where breakfast is served is a big open air space cooled only by fans. It can get quite steamy even in the morning or having dinner there after dark. As everything is open air, if you are at all squeamish about flies on your food you may not like this. Not that I’m saying there are lots of flies, but there are some. We are Aussies so if we had a problem eating food with flies around we’d starve within a week.

- The smells both inside and along the beach. Just occasionally you will come across a really bad smell from the drains underground. You just have to hold your breath and keep walking. It soon passes and you are back smelling frangipani again. Honestly I can’t see why people get upset about this; all those tourists eating all that food, it has to go somewhere! Thai infrastructure is just not the same as home.

- If you leave your door or window open creepy-crawley things will come into your room. (Just like they will at home! Duh.)

MY GRIPES…
And there aren’t many! I don’t know if there’s such a thing as sun lounge etiquette but I’m sure that putting a hat and book on a couple of sun lounges then disappearing for a few hours is not playing fair. I think management could do something about this as it’s really disappointing to get to the pool and find no space, then have to trek off to another.

The prices in the gift shop are way over the top and few things have prices on anyway so you have to ask the staff, then put stuff back when you realise how expensive it is!

I have asked management - again - pleaded in fact, to make one of the three pools smoke free, or even better make a smoke free area at each pool. Or perhaps all you smokers could just go and spend your next holiday in Afghanistan or somewhere far away where you won’t stink up my little patch of tropical paradise.

Kids young and older will be bored in 15 minutes here and won’t appreciate the fabulous surroundings. If you must travel with kids Patong has much more to offer. If you just want a stopover near the airport the Dewa has recently opened at Nai Yang, looks nice and is cheaper. I saw so many grizzly, hot and bothered kids stressing out their parents (and nearby diners) it makes me wonder why you’d bother. I mean who would want to push a stroller through sand?

So there you have it, hopefully you have an idea whether this place will suit you. If you want a peaceful, relaxing holiday away from the masses, somewhere to forget that you have a job, mortgage, kids (leave them home!) and bills to pay then this is the place for you. We will be back next year. What are you waiting for?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
4.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Free internet...
Show More
7.6 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#4 of 52 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
18.0 mi away
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa
#4 of 51 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
10.9 mi away
Point Yamu Resort by Como
Point Yamu Resort by Como
#1 of 142 in Phuket Town
5.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Beach, Pool, Ro...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon B...
#11 of 52 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Dewa Phuket Resort Nai Yang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Pearl

Address: Nai Yang Beach & National PA, Phuket, 83110, Nai Yang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Indigo Pearl 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and distinction - Historic detail fuses with chic industrial elegance. A 5 Star Luxury Design Resort touching Nai Yang Beach, Phuket. The Indigo Pearl resort experience is an encounter with Phuket's collective imagination - a gathering of intriguing details, re-envisioned through imaginative design. Architecture inspired by Phuket's tin mining past. The hotel decor evokes a Thai factory of a century ago. A landscape overflowing with surprises: the postmodern transformation of a mature plantation, spiced with modern sculpture and found industrial art. Luxury, comfort and service surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Escapio, Otel and Venere so you can book your Indigo Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket/Nai Yang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.