We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, chic,away from crowds , fantastic service, ....Heavenly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo Pearl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Indigo Pearl to your Saves list
Indigo Pearl
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nai Yang Beach & National Park, Phuket, 83110, Nai Yang, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct get 15% off
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Convenient, chic,away from crowds , fantastic service, ....Heavenly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We had the privilege of staying at the Indigo Pearl from the 1st -8th April at the start of a 16 day holiday in Thailand. We wanted the luxury of a 5 star resort, as close as possible to a beautiful beach with turquoise water & white sand, with a local village to experience Thai food & culture , without the crowds. After much research, Indigo Pearl was the one that ticked all the boxes,& we weren't disappointed. The fact that it is a 5 min. drive from the airport was a huge bonus ( it is actually relaxing lying on the beach watching the planes ,as you can't hear them).
Contrary to previous reviewers , we loved being welcomed in the stunning open pagoda style reception area by Pang , the guest relations officer, who orientated us as we cooled down with ice tea & cold towels.
We chose the cheaper Kelly rooms as we required a 2nd room for our 3 sons aged 18, 15 & 9 years, & we didn't anticipate spending much time in them.The rooms were very adequate, comfortable, clean & accessible to all areas of this well designed resort.
All staff members were amiable & obliging. Room service , always prompt.
We were invited to cocktails at Rebar by the General Manager , a very approachable & down to earth Frenchman, Arnaud Girodon , who sat with us for some time & seemed genuinely interested in us & out thoughts about the resort.
Indigo Pearl is an independent resort owned by a tin mining family who empolyed an American architect to thoughtfully & stylishly design this very chic resort ,with a tin mine theme. The gorgeously well maintained landscaped gardens blend in perfectly . Unlike many beach resorts world wide, it has been cleverly designed not to spoil Nai Yang, as it can't be seen from the beach .
We utilised as much resort facilities as time would allow. Breakfast at the Tin Mine was opulent, catering to every culture. We went to the elegant Black Ginger for our son's 15th birthday ,a gorgeous traditionally Thai restaurant set in the middle of a pond. The same son also loved his Thai boxing class at the gym, which is set beside the tennis courts, & is well equipped.
The family pool is large ,& very inviting . The 14 yrs & up pool , great for a dip on the way back from the beach ,or just to lie on a sun bed & read a book away from the kids. This wet edged pool looks over several amazing ghost palms to the other adult pool , which we loved to frequent at 4pm (happy hour) at the swim up Plumb Bob bar for a cocktail while Cafe Del Mer type music created the perfect ambience .They had a DJ some afternoons.
The beach is just across a narrow street with a small village of restaurants & bars. We tried several of these for dinner & found the food authentic , fresh & cheap (recommend The Batik) & who wouldn't love dining on the beach watching the setting sun.
During the day the beach club really looks after you. We never had trouble attaining sunbeds . Towels were always plentiful . The extras, eg.little cups made out of leaves with fresh fruit, popsicles, iced water & cold flannels felt decadent.
Lee , the beach club manager, went above & beyond to help with water sports . When our boys disappeared from site to explore a small island, Lee was out to them in his rubber rescue boat like , "Bondi rescue", even though we assured him that we weren't particularly worried. He also spent a lot of time helping them learn to wind sail.
The locals are gentle, friendly people. Their children were on summer holidays while we were there & a few were working on the beach , selling ice creams & drinks . Along with the massage ladies , they quietly offered their services without being intrusive.
Locals with long boats will take you to neighbouring beaches for jet skiing & parasailing.
We opted to hire an airconditioned car ($30Aus dollars /day) to visit the night copy markets near Phuket town (about 40 mins drive),& the next day to visit Patong for jet skiing , parasailing & fish spa(hilarious).The drive was easy & roads good. We visited a few of the other beaches on the way back to Nai Yang & were satisfied that we had chosen the right resort for us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,806
    539
    159
    56
    37
See reviews for
518
1,506
61
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We almost don’t want to give this place a rave review - we would rather keep it our little secret. This was our second trip to Indigo Pearl. After having the most wonderful honeymoon there in 2009, we considered staying elsewhere for this trip for all of 30 seconds then decided anywhere else would be a disappointment. So we will give credit where credit is due and also share some experiences and tips in what will be a lengthy review so if you don’t want to read the whole thing the next couple of paragraphs might help you decide if this place is for you…

DON’T STAY HERE IF…you like to drink til you can’t stand up, want to party all night, go to bars, like being around lots of people, want an endless variety of shopping within walking distance of your accommodation, just want a clean, comfortable and cool place to stay and you don’t really care what it looks like. May I suggest Patong is the place for you.

DO STAY HERE IF…you love peace, quiet and serenity, want to relax by the pool, feel like royalty, read a book or watch the clouds roll by, you appreciate accommodation that is really stylish and has the ‘wow’ factor, don’t really care for late nights and partying, happy to pay for a taxi or bus to take you shopping.

Indigo Pearl is something special. If you have not yet looked at photos, it is based around Phuket’s tin mining history. The theme carries through to everything - and I mean everything. The attention to detail is extraordinary - right down to the cutlery, the tissue boxes and even the toilet roll holders. It’s all rusted metal, recycled / aged timber, plate glass, polished concrete and fabulous blue lighting. Some reviews suggest the resort is cold and industrial (“what - you booked without looking at it on the internet?”), we found it simply amazing and even on our 2nd visit we would come across some fabulous design feature that made us go ‘wow’! I guess just like some people cannot appreciate a classic painting by a famous artist, then not everyone will like this place. If you don’t really care for surrounds that are something out of the ordinary, go and stay at the Dewa Phuket just down the road. It is nice; but it won’t blow your socks off like Indigo Pearl. If you have any kind of interest in construction, interior decorating, landscaping, art or photography then you will love it here.

We had booked Kelly Quarters but were upgraded to (I think) a Pearl Beds suite; they gave us exactly the same room we had on our honeymoon which was a really nice touch. The room is quite spacious with a clever walk-in robe / dressing room with plenty of hanging space, shelves and drawers. The provided toiletries - soap, lotion, shower gel are good quality and smell just divine.

We were just a short walk from the gym, which was great as we were there at 7am each day. If you are going to work out you have to do it early as it gets hot real quick and you feel like you’ve earned a big brekky once you‘ve exercised. The gym is small but has a great range of equipment for a full body workout. We really enjoyed our conversations with Graad, such a nice friendly guy who is working on his English. Ask him to show you what he can do with the fit balls!

There is a shuttle bus each day to Phuket town, Central Festival shopping centre and Patong. There aren’t actually any signs in the lobby for this, just ask at the concierge desk. It costs 490 baht per person return, more reasonable than local taxi which is 900 baht one way. I thought it strange that the bus left at 12 and returned at 4, giving us barely 3 hours shopping time in Patong. As it turned out this was a blessing. I previously visited Patong in 2002 and now it is just crazier and more crowded, full of sweaty tourists and every step of the way someone is wanting to take you somewhere or sell you something. It was ridiculously hot and we were happy to make our purchases and get the hell out of there. There is no way on god’s green earth that we’d consider staying there for even a night. It really is only good for shopping. As a guide (and I’m told I’m pretty good at bartering!) singlets and t-shirts 150 - 200 baht (good quality but beware they do shrink a bit); pashminas and silk scarves 300 - 350 baht; silk robes 300 baht; boxers shorts 2 for 300 baht. Of course it does depend too on the quantity purchased and the willingness of the seller. Do remember to smile when you barter, you will get a better price. And in my experience if a Thai seller says they are giving you a good starting price, (ie because you are buying a few things) they really are giving a good price. I spent quite a bit of time talking to one stallholder and he told me he buys the silk robe I bought from a wholesaler at 285 baht and sells for 300 baht, a profit of just 15 baht (about 50 cents in Australia). So remember also when you are haggling that small change to us is a lot to the locals. I also recommend Central Festival for shopping. It is huge and while not exactly cheap there is plenty of variety and it‘s nice and cool! When we were there last year there were a few temporary stalls where you could barter and we did some great shopping there. The stores where it’s one price were similar prices to home. Cosmetics are certainly cheaper but the best place for cosmetics is the duty free store at the departure lounge at Phuket airport. As for Phuket town I wouldn’t bother going there for shopping. It has some interesting architecture but the streets are a confusing maze, some very putrid smells and the shopping is not that great.

THE BEACH…
No, not the Leonardo Di Caprio movie, Nai Yang beach. But if you expect Nai Yang to look like the movie you will be disappointed. Nai Yang is a perfectly lovely, picturesque little beach. But let me qualify that by saying I live near some of the best beaches in the world. There is a little bit of rubbish, but I’d rather come across the odd plastic bottle or a tin can on Nai Yang beach than broken glass and hypodermic needles which you‘d find on the dodgy beaches back home. I think the only people that swim at Nai Yang are the locals and tourists who have never seen a beach before.

Indigo Pearl sits in the centre of Nai Yang, but it doesn’t have direct beach frontage. The resort is separated from the beach by a high wall. Nai Yang beach is in a national park, so I think that’s why the restaurants and shops along the beach have enormous casuarina pines literally growing out the roof. A very funny sight.

The ‘road’ that runs along the beach is a narrow strip of bitumen barely three paces across. You can walk from one end to the other in under 5 minutes. There are 20 or so restaurants, a couple of clothing shops and tour operators, massage services, tailors and taxis. It is not unusual to go into a shop in the afternoon to find the shopkeeper asleep on a stretcher at the back of the store. There is a real sense of community here…if you want a massage for two but they only have one person available they just call down the street for someone to come from another massage place. One nice thing is that the shop prices are really reasonable even BEFORE you start bartering. If this was home, where you have tourists at a somewhat isolated little beach resort, they would jack up the prices for sure.

The restaurants are all pretty much open air, plastic tables and chairs on the sand. I hate it when people call these places shabby old shacks - what were they expecting? Yes they are made of whatever the owners can find but there is a lot of love and pride in what they do. They even sweep the sand!

We ate 6/7 nights at Mamma Mia’s. It was great last time and even better this time. You have never seen a more organised kitchen. Very clean and tidy with a place for everything. Also one of the few places that has a fridge from what I can tell (compare this to the so called restaurant next door). Mamma Mia’s is run by a friendly extended family who all speak English quite well. I like that you can see exactly what the cook is up to in the kitchen. We ate at Batik last year, which was nice, but the kitchen is way out the back and you can’t see into it and that is a concern. Also at Batik you dine in these gorgeous little timber huts but after dark I saw a huge rat running around the sand so that was a put-off! But we thoroughly recommend Mamma Mia’s; everything we tried was delicious and the vegies were always fresh. Even their Western food was great - had the best French fries I’ve ever had and they did a cheeseburger that looked exactly like the one on the photo in their menu (take note McDonald’s). Average price of a meal for 2 with four dishes and soft drinks was around 400 - 500 baht. Very reasonable. Highly recommend the green curry soup with prawn.

There is a choice of restaurants at the resort but after handing over a big chunk of our holiday budget for the accommodation I’m happy to support the locals and dine on the beach. So other than Tine Mine restaurant where we had breakfast daily and one dinner I can’t comment on the other resort dining. Same goes for the spa, you can get a perfectly nice massage on the beach for much less.

A tip for the thrifty - the first thing we do when we arrive is take a local taxi to the nearest 7/11 (200 baht) and stock up on soft drinks and snacks. We then take all the expensive mini bar items out of the fridge. Soft drinks are only 14 baht at 7/11. You can also buy these from the mini mart just outside Indigo Pearl on the beach but you’ll pay more (35 baht).

THE BEST THINGS ABOUT INDIGO PEARL…
- The beds are divine, enormous king size beds so soft you feel like you are floating on a cloud. Huge feather pillows - not normally a fan - but found these extremely comfortable. You just sink into the bed and feel like you never want to move again. As someone who has chronic back pain, I woke pain-free every single day. I’d have taken this bed home if I could!

- The breakfast. Honestly anyone who says breakfast here is substandard is a complete idiot. There is fresh fruit and juices, the best bircher muesli I ever had, cereals, yoghurts, salad and stir fries, delicious fresh petit pastries and variety of fresh breads, bacon, sausages, potatoes, baked beans, hash browns, grilled tomatoes, smoked salmon, a variety of cheeses, waffles, pancakes and your own personal egg chef to cook eggs any way you like. The omelettes were sensational and if you order one, when you return the chef remembers what you ordered and hands over your plate without hesitation. OK I suppose there’s always going to be someone who will whinge that they don’t have some obscure brand of tea or something. All the food was fresh and delicious, not your typical bland crap for the masses that is churned out at your average buffet. It made us want to try everything; which we did. To the point where we just didn’t want to move we were so full!

- The gardens. Some reviewers have complained about getting lost in the resort. What a place to be lost in! Mass plantings of aloe, agave, bamboo, bird of paradise, liriope, frangipani, cordylines, cactus and enormous palm trees the likes of which I’ve never seen anywhere else. They look like something out of Jurassic Park. Simply awesome! Get lost, enjoy, take a camera.

- The staff. Extremely gracious, friendly, helpful. They have varying degrees of English but that’s to be expected. You will get plenty of practice saying ‘sa-was-dee’ as you make your way around the resort. I have absolutely no idea what other reviewers are talking about when they say the staff are unfriendly. Mind you we did see some appalling displays of bad manners from other guests who were so demanding and rude to the staff. We believe that a smile and graciousness will surpass any language barrier. When you adopt the traits of the locals you will enjoy your holiday all the more.

When it came to checkout we asked if we could have our room a bit longer as we had an evening flight. Staff told us we could have the room until 2pm but when I went back a couple of minutes later for them to adjust the key card, she said her manager had called and said we could have the room until 4pm because “we are special”. How good is that?

WHAT THE TRAVEL AGENTS WON’T TELL YOU…
- Yes there is just a curtain between the toilet and the rest of the suite. This didn’t bother us in the slightest, but if you need solid timber between you and your partner while you are doing your business, I suggest you look elsewhere.

- The heat is a killer. It was unseasonably hot when we were there and at times we found it unbearable to be in direct sun between 9 and 3pm, yet we are used to much hotter temperatures back home. It’s the humidity and lack of breeze, and the intensity of the sun. I would burn within 5 minutes, even with sunblock on. And yet we saw many people sit by the pool or beach in direct sun for hour after hour and they were red as lobsters! What they say about mad dogs and Englishman and midday sun also applies to Europeans! Makes me wonder if they have skin cancer awareness campaigns in the Northern hemisphere. We often spent the hottest part of the day in the comfort of our room having a nap or watching TV. In fact the nicest time of day to go to the pool is 3.30pm onwards. The sun loses its kick a bit and all the people who are burnt to a crisp have left so it’s easier to get a sun lounge.

- There is really not much to do here and we love that! The nightly entertainment consists of…watching planes climb into the sky while you dine on the beach, watching the local kids play soccer, watching the sky change color as the sun sinks into the Andaman sea, or the local dogs fighting over their patch of beach. There are a few bars on the beach but they had very few customers. We are not big drinkers in fact we didn‘t drink at all while we were there; the prices were not that cheap and I’m fussy about what wines I drink so happy to go without. At night we had dinner while watching the sun set, a walk on the beach, then back to our room for some TV, then an early night. Our holiday was all about relaxation.

- You can just hear the planes. The airport is at the next beach to the north. Inside the resort and depending on the breeze you can just hear a distant rumble of planes. This didn’t bother us at all; in fact it‘s a reminder that you are somewhere faraway and exotic. You can catch glimpses of the planes through the trees while at the adult pool.

- The main restaurant, Tin Mine, where breakfast is served is a big open air space cooled only by fans. It can get quite steamy even in the morning or having dinner there after dark. As everything is open air, if you are at all squeamish about flies on your food you may not like this. Not that I’m saying there are lots of flies, but there are some. We are Aussies so if we had a problem eating food with flies around we’d starve within a week.

- The smells both inside and along the beach. Just occasionally you will come across a really bad smell from the drains underground. You just have to hold your breath and keep walking. It soon passes and you are back smelling frangipani again. Honestly I can’t see why people get upset about this; all those tourists eating all that food, it has to go somewhere! Thai infrastructure is just not the same as home.

- If you leave your door or window open creepy-crawley things will come into your room. (Just like they will at home! Duh.)

MY GRIPES…
And there aren’t many! I don’t know if there’s such a thing as sun lounge etiquette but I’m sure that putting a hat and book on a couple of sun lounges then disappearing for a few hours is not playing fair. I think management could do something about this as it’s really disappointing to get to the pool and find no space, then have to trek off to another.

The prices in the gift shop are way over the top and few things have prices on anyway so you have to ask the staff, then put stuff back when you realise how expensive it is!

I have asked management - again - pleaded in fact, to make one of the three pools smoke free, or even better make a smoke free area at each pool. Or perhaps all you smokers could just go and spend your next holiday in Afghanistan or somewhere far away where you won’t stink up my little patch of tropical paradise.

Kids young and older will be bored in 15 minutes here and won’t appreciate the fabulous surroundings. If you must travel with kids Patong has much more to offer. If you just want a stopover near the airport the Dewa has recently opened at Nai Yang, looks nice and is cheaper. I saw so many grizzly, hot and bothered kids stressing out their parents (and nearby diners) it makes me wonder why you’d bother. I mean who would want to push a stroller through sand?

So there you have it, hopefully you have an idea whether this place will suit you. If you want a peaceful, relaxing holiday away from the masses, somewhere to forget that you have a job, mortgage, kids (leave them home!) and bills to pay then this is the place for you. We will be back next year. What are you waiting for?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We booked the hotel through their website, which had an offer of a free upgrade when booking a standard pearl suite dependant on arrival. When we arrived at the airport we were greeted by a resort staff who knew exactly who had been expecting us (we hadn't even given them our flight details). When we got into our hotel transfer air conditioned people carrier, the driver handed us ice cold towels scented with jasmine and ice cold mineral water. Thank god, as the heat was 35 degrees! This was when I knew that the resort was going to be amazing.

The trip to the resort took all of 5 minutes and we drove through the National Park to get to our hotel, it was all lovely and serene. Just as we expected and were hoping for.

A check - in staff was already there to meet us and sat us down with a chilled Loganberry drink and more of those wonderful scented towels! She went through our reservations with us and explained that the suite that they were going to upgrade us to was not available and offered us a Plantation Villa (still free!!). As the resort was massive she took us to our villa on a golf buggy and showed us around our villa. It was amazing, we had our own pagoda for chilling out at night and where we had dinner some nights, in-house spa room, outdoor shower and bath tub as well as an indoor one! The place was amazing!

Everything at the resort looked exactly like it does on the website!

At dusk, the staff comes to light our mosquito coils and left us gifts during turning down service. All of the toiletteries smelt of jasmine and gardenia. In fact the whole place smelt like it :) Jasmine and gardenia are my favourite smells! Reminds me of my Grandmother garden path!

Everyone staff members that we passed would greet us and everyone was very pleasant. Service was absolutely five star all the way. Even when my boyfriend ran out of contact lens solution they offered to drive us to the main town to the pharmacy free of charge. Lucky we found some at the local supermarket a hop skip and a jump from the resort.

We ordered room service on our first night as we were so tired, it was amazing (I am Thai and the flavours blew me away!) and not expensive. It is more than you would pay for in a local restaurant but £12 for 2 mains and a starter at that quality is not bad at all!

They also have drinks packages where you can fill up your mini bar with...not cheap but not crazy prices either. We had 2 bottles of wine, 6 cans of soft drinks and 6 fresh juices for £30. Lasted us a few nights! They always leave you plenty of mineral water about 4 litres a day) free of charge each day.

We had a very early check out at 05:30am! They had packed us a breakfast box to take with us on our Bangkok bound flight! Filled with croissants and jams, juices, sausages, bacon and boiled eggs.

Everything about this hotel was amazing and completely spot on. We stayed there for 5 nights and had an amazing time. The local restaurants are just 5 minutes walk from the resort. They have 2 beach clubs at either end of the beach. Three adult swimming pool with a bar (thumbs up)!

Highly recommended stay and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

On arrival the reception is a little confusing - you first see the concierge who point you at reception - who ask you to sit down - 10 minutes later we were offered a local drink and a cold flannel, all very nice but I really wanted to check in and get to bed after travelling for 18 hours. The reception was very helpful as was the concierge but the lack of English and understanding was a bit annoying - bearing in mind this is a "5 star" hotel. They took us to the room in a golf buggy and the luggage arrived not long after we did. We had two pearl suites - one for us one for the kids, they could not offer us single beds for the kids only a king size - which again was a poor show - no attempt was made to rectify this. The rooms themselves were very large but too open - i.e no internal doors just curtains which was not very discreet if you went to the loo, the shower was good and there was a big bath in the room albeit not in the main bathroom - not sure why this was there as it was so hot a bath would have been silly - there were two balconies but the humidity and insects made it impossible to use - so a waste of space - plus you can only use one balcony at a time so no idea why there was 2. The airconditioning was excellent and bottled water was provided next to the sinks and by the beds most evenings. Sheets were changed every other day and the staff were very very helpful but they did expect tips and we willingly obliged. The rooms were cleaned every day, but not very well - nothing a good mop wouldn't have sorted out - but the focus was on the bed and shower room not the corners so again this could do with some more effort. Whilst space was big in the room - drawer space was poor and we had to request additional hangers. Lighting was good and the electrical sockets were plenty - the TV had english/US channels - but why does every hotel in the world think we want to watch 5 different news channels in english? One final point on the rooms - coffee and tea making facilities are there and work, room service was very prompt albeit they rarely if ever filled up the mini bar - and it only had beer and coke in it when you arrived - you could pay for a top up (i.e. more goodies) but again this is poor for a so called 5 star hotel. - one final gripe for the rooms was internet was free in the lounge but payable in the room - how silly and annoying is that. Other thing to mention on the rooms and this is really a bad design - the door locks work by inserting a card - both our sons and ours failed - a common problem we were informed as the battery goes in the door - we had to wait 15 minutes for them to come out from reception with a PDA to open the door - again really bad design and bad maintenance.
Walking around the complex was challenging at night as it was not very well lit and signage was poor- its a big place so better signage really should be sorted out. The staff were great though if you asked the way somewhere they would not just point you at it they would escort you - which was really kind of them - as I said earlier the staff were really nice and friendly. The bar was ok - it had a snooker and pool table and did snacks which were very good - prices were Ok and not too excessive albeit measures and too much ice were a bit annoying. The restaurants next - the Tin mine was the "main" restaurant - did a buffet breakfast which was mediorce and dinner - the big problem with this restaurant was that it was in the open and you really do need air conditioning in Thailand whilst eating - so you tended to never stay that long - which was a shame because the effort put in during dinner was exceptional and the food - both buffet and a la carte was of a good standard. The Rivet restaurant was the steak house on site - with a bar above called Rebar - always empty or closed - the food and wine in the restaurant were very good - only complaint was little choice on the steaks - need much greater range of weights and types - otherwise really nice restaurant - again staff were excellent. Finally the Thai restuarant - really nice and pleasant - in the middle of a lake (pond) but excellent Thai food - really slow service though which was a suprise as the restaurant was really small.
The pools - were ok - 3 pools first of all - a family pool, a pool for adults and kids to 14 and an adults only pool - which had a bar in it. The family pool was nice and pleasant but a distinct lack of beds and brolleys - lots of towels and help though! The kids upto 14 pool was nice and plain but very boring and the adults only was full of same sex couples so not really for us.
The gym was very well equipped - but most of the activities were at 9 am - again not really great timing.
The place died at 10:45 and limited if any nightlife exists outside of the hotel, the beach was disgusting with broken open sewers and filthy bars and snack shops.
This reads awful - the place is lovely - the staff are warm and welcoming - the bars and restaurants are ok and excellent in some cases. Its just the rest of it that messes it up. I would not return - one final point - the brochure and internet site is 100 times better that the real thing - we were really disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Stayed at Indigo Pearl during Easter. Everything was perfect and themed around the tin mine. It's interesting that even forks and knives are using the tin mine theme.

We stayed at a Private Garden Pavillion, very modern and spacious, with the size of the garden as big as the interior space. I would say interior space seems a tiny cramped but it didn't bother us. Bathroom is spacious too.

During our stay, I had a peep at the next door Private Pool Pavillion (sorry but I am curious) and I m happy that we chose the Private Garden Pavillion instead. The Pool Pavillion is exactly the same size as the Private Garden Pavillion, only it comes with a small pool occupying some garden space. As a result, the garden of the pool pavillion feel a bit cramped. And it looks to be the water in the pool pavillion isn't that clean, or maybe its due to the deep color of the pool. For me, it doesn't look too appealing.

The hotel occupies a very large space. Indeed we were taking a map around with us but still cannot figure out the way. Plus the mid-day heat, most of the time we used the hotel's golf cart. You can call from anywhere and the golf cart will be here in 5 mins or so. While we are looking around for direction, a guest we bumped into told us he used 3 days to figure out the whereabout of the hotel.

Great breakfast at the Rivet Grill Room. I believe most other guests had there's at Tin Mine Restaurant. But during the period of our stay, they allow villa guest to have breakie at Rivet Grill, which is more private and silent. And the breakfast set even comes in with a high tea rack.

There are 3 pools (1 Big, and 2 adult pools). I went to all 3 and enjoyed the Main Pool most. The staff will bring every guest iced cold water with lemon (for free). Now that's what I called service.

I encountered mostly great service except 1 girl at the reception. I was using the Library computer and wasn't able to use the printer. I go to the Reception and asked a girl if the printer is connected....She looked up at me and said " I don't know." in a couldnt-care-less manner, and continue with her work. I was astounded as I could not believe this is the service level of a reception girl at the 5* hotel. I mean I can undertsand if she doesnt know how to fix computer, but at least she could be more helpful. Anyway, we got assistance from another helpful staff afterwards. Thats the only negative experience I've had in Indigo Pearl.

For those who wondered how much it cost to go to Nai Yang Beach, as a reference, we go from Kata to Nai Yang, and it costs B700. But as quoted by most tuk tuk drivers, the standard price is B800-B1000. The drive is around 1 hr.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Unique, luxurious, stunning, excellence; the Indigo Pearl

Stayed at the indigo pearl with my partner for a long weekend, This resort well deserves its reputation as being the number one Hotel in Phuket (may be the world) in terms of its luxury, grandiosity, features and impeccable customer service.

Upon entering the room, we were stunned with the design, decoration, art, luxuriousness, opulence, and unique "feel" of the pearl suite, there was even a handwritten note from the manager welcoming us. The staff members were professional, friendly, warm always looking to go above and beyond for guests. The Pear Bed Suite was a total delight, large comfortable bed with down comforter and crisp clean sheets (easily comparable to the Heavenly bed). A huge, design bathroom with unique amenities, shower, 2 sink … a true delight. The Pearl Suite overlooked the exotic environment and the terrace featured an extra large bathtub – very romantic.

During our stay we sampled most of the restaurants; all of them excellent, however one outlet was worthy of a Michelin star the Rivet Grill. We had degustation dinner at the Rivet Grill: unique industrial ambiance with a modern spin, impeccable service, exquisite food, impressive wine list and a “couple” of signature dishes (The Wagyū beef & the poached lobster/spiced scallops are highly recommended). The Rivet Grill with its unparalleled cuisine can easily be described as the best fine dinning and culinary experience in Phuket (may be Thailand?).

Overall I truly loved the Indigo Pearl, whether the impeccable customer service, the opulent feel of the hotel, the magnificent beach. I would dearly recommend this to anyone who wants to experience Phuket at its best.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

I loved the design of the hotel.
very clean.excellent breakfast.
I would stay a month there!
Go there if you want a quiet vacation. There is no nightlife. Only a few bars and restaurants on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indigo Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Pearl

Address: Nai Yang Beach & National Park, Phuket, 83110, Nai Yang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Indigo Pearl 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and distinction - Historic detail fuses with chic industrial elegance. A 5 Star Luxury Design Resort touching Nai Yang Beach, Phuket. The Indigo Pearl resort experience is an encounter with Phuket's collective imagination - a gathering of intriguing details, re-envisioned through imaginative design. Architecture inspired by Phuket's tin mining past. The hotel decor evokes a Thai factory of a century ago. A landscape overflowing with surprises: the postmodern transformation of a mature plantation, spiced with modern sculpture and found industrial art. Luxury, comfort and service surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Indigo Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket/Nai Yang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.