We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Potential” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo Pearl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Indigo Pearl to your Saves list
Indigo Pearl
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nai Yang Beach & National Park, Nai Yang, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct get 15% off
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Potential”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This may initially sound negative, but overall it was a great resort, and fantastic locaiton.
We recently stayed at the Indigo Pearl in Nai Yang Beach, Phuket. It started off bumpy, and I was regretting booking this hotel. We paid almost €7000 (nearly $13K) including air, for 15 days, I expected a great vacation! We were dropped off at the front entrance, it was beautiful, open aspect and very tropical looking, no one greeted us, our luggage was left on the circular drive, not what we expected from 5 Star. We made our way to the front desk, it was a group of young kids running the show...not another great start. My husband went and brought the luggage up himself.
Our check in took quite a while, and we were exhausted after travelling for nearly 19 hours, we wanted our room. The front desk was complete chaos, repeatedly we were asked by staff members could they help us? It became comical, otherwise we'd lose it. There is no system.
We were brought to our room about 45 minutes later, completely exhausted, only to discover that our room was not finished. It was absolutely GORGEOUS, but no slippers, no beach shoes, no beach bag, the fridge was empty, no bathroom items... I wanted to cry. Staff were running in and out of our room for the next 30 minutes. We finally shut the door and slept. We were woken up with a fruit platter, it was very nice, and we hoped a fresh start. Unfortunately we had more problems, our room was not cleaned properly, there were dirty plates and glasses left in the suite, and we didn't receive new towels. This was the third day, and I wanted to check out. Regardless how beautiful this resort was, we wanted the 5 Star service we paid for... I called front desk and spoke to the assistant manager, Oil, she was very understanding and immediately apologised, and let us know she'd have the problem fixed. She told us she would contact us the next morning at 10:00 which she did. Her assistant came and asked me to see another suite, as a token of their apology, it was beyond beautiful. Ironically it was the suite we wanted to upgrade to, however no one at the front desk made any attempt to help us with this on check in. It was wonderful, we had the suite and didn't pay the upgrade cost. Things became better after this, which is sad. A 5 Star should be 5 Star regardless of the size of suite you have. The service definitely needs to be worked on, beach staff were uninterested in the guests, and this was disappointing. The locals told us that there is a new manager, and he's intent on shaping things up. I will go back again, because the location is incredible, the suites are divine and the beach street is so friendly. I have confidence that the New Manger will sort things out. We did go to the Cocoon Spa and went into the nest, they messed up our reservation, and initially put us into a normal spa room, it was frustrating, as it's the little things you want and expect in a luxury holiday. Again, I have faith that this hotel will meet it's potential and become a lovely resort offering the promised 5 Star service. The adult pools are wonderful for childless couples! It was a savior!
I recommend Linda's Seafood restaurant down the street on the beach, it's incredible! And the staff at Sunset beach bar are incredibly friendly! Our ipads were taken out of our bag by some tourists "helping us out" when I had a sugar episode and the staff took them and kept them behind the bar for us! Honesty and friendly! great combination!
Thank you Oil for your wonderful gift of the upgrade, it was our 11 year anniversary, we would have happily paid for it, if your front desk staff had been a little more competent!
PS.staff that can speak and understand English is a great asset!! Or German, or French!
I look forward to your service improvements!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, if you can afford it, pay for it, the bigger suites are amazing! If you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at Indigo Pearl, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Skusderci,

Thank you for your review. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you faced during your stay and the service not being up to standard. Please note this is not our standard, and mostly certainly will be rectified immediately. We do hope to welcome you back and deliver the "wow' service. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,846
    555
    163
    59
    37
See reviews for
533
1,544
62
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Have just spent 10 days at The Indigo Pearl and have to say that it was truly lovely. I was rather apprehensive after reading some of the earlier reviews, but there really wasn't anything to worry about.
We were picked up from the airport in a lovely air conditioned car and were checked in and taken to our room by buggy, all within 30 minutes.
We stayed in a Premium-Pearl-Bed-Suite, which was clean, comfortable and quirky to say the least. It overlooked pool 2 and the hills behind. It was quiet and cool.
The management appear to have addressed the mosquito problem and provided daily repellent coils and oil burners. We did spray ourselves before going out in the evening and I didn't have one bite the whole holiday.
I do feel that the management need to look at their food and drink pricing however. The service and the staff were excellent, (especially Sao and Noon in the Rebar/Rivet Grill) but we found ourselves to be the only people eating in the restaurants on two consecutive nights. We then discovered that you can get excellent food and cocktails at a fraction of the price, right outside the hotel, on the beach. It is far too expensive to eat in the hotel for every meal. That said, the breakfasts were to die for!
We had two fabulous evenings, at the seafood barbecue and The Black Ginger buffet, which were both good quality and value. On our last evening we dined in The Rivet Grill. The food and service were excellent, however I don't think it warranted the £160 bill!
I had a terrific massage from Wan (the masseuse) in the Coqoon Spa. Wonderful, have never been so relaxed.
So all in all it is a great place to stay and don't be put off by the one or two bad reviews.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best vies and the most light
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Indigo Pearl is very unique and in terms of design it is a special one of a kind venue. The moment I stepped into the venue, I was amazed at how industrial design, seamlessly and boldly combines with the tropical landscape.
On every step you will see "mining" motives, at lobby there are 20-ft containers and all doors looks like entrances to a shaft or a bunker.
The room is outstanding and what really made me happy are the stylish massive black colored bathtub and extremely Comfy beds that I never wanted to get out of. There are 3 amazing pools and 2 are only for adults which makes it exclusively for adult play time. I dined at Rivet for my first night and it was absolutely stunning. However, my most enjoyable experience was at the Coqoon spa which was designed by Bill Bensley. The spa’s showstopper is The Nest Built high in the air, cleverly hidden in an aged Banyan Tree. The Nest is breath taking and a designer work of art, as well as a truly functional treatment room. The staff are highly versed so it made the entire experience flawless and prudent. I would highly recommend that you should give the Coqoon spa experience a go!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two weeks at the end of February and we selected it based on the reviews and the cost. We were very happy with the hotel and enjoed our stay. The staff are friendly and helpful and the room was large and well laid out for us, our 11 year old and baby. The restaurants offer a variety of food at different budget levels, but still more expensive than the local beach restaurants, but that is to be expected in a 5* hotel. The food quality is very good. The beach is adjacent, safe and quiet but you do see the airplanes coming in although not so it spoils the ambience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I will go back to phuket just so I can stay here again! I stayed in d bunk room- I cannot rave enough about it. Outdoor bath, private courtyard huge industrial like shower inside, cool room all up.

The breakfast was amazing.

You MUST go to the dayspa. I felt like a princess, the private rooms/showers and attention to detail is great. 5 star and then some.

There are several pool areas, everything is unique and works well with natural surroundings which is why I enjoyed it so much. It's a massive place but you don't feel like your in a western resort.

Great area- so close to airport but decent enough beach and heaps of restaurant as on beAch. Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We actually ended up not staying overnight at the hotel. My family with 2 kids had the option of staying at Indigo or another hotel. From reviews on Tripadvisor, we chose Indigo. We checked-in to our pool villa suite. The room was spacious with unique decor. However, the room had a moldy smell and was gloomy dark not what you expect in Phuket. When we turned on the tap water ( we had 2 taps in our bathroom), the water of both taps were BROWN like rust. (After a while the water did clear) The view of our room was our private pool which looked run down and had greenish brown cloudy water. There was a sign saying it's a salt water pool thus may be cloudy. Hmmmm we have a salt water pool at our house and its not cloudy!!! The pool of the villa next door to us looked worse with missing tiles all over so they must have chosen the best villa for us. The hotels grounds garden looked dry. Overall we did not feel like we were in Phuket so we decided to move to another hotel. I cannot comment about the pool or beach because I did not see them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at Indigo Pearl, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear JuneBeen,

Thank you for your feedback, It was very unfortunate you were inconvenienced with the water issues which affected all of Phuket due to maintenance work going on that day.

Please note this was one-off and not our norm.

Kind Regards
Indigo Pearl team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I have been spending family vacation in this hotel for many years in a row.
I want to highlight the negatives because I really care. This resort is my best vacation destination ever, so please weight in the observations, it is only aimed at being constructive.
This year, I found that the personnel turnover was high. Not sure if this is the reason for the inconsistency in the quality of service and the attention that is given to food quality.
The same dish ordered 2 days in a row would be once great and once barely eatable.
The diving center new management isn't as good and friendly as previous years.
Also this year's room cleaning wasn't as perfectly done that what it used to be.
Everything else is still at the top: sunday brunch as good as ever, service at the Rebar is smooth and full of humour, kids club staff truely loves kids and takes extremely good care of them...
Last but not least, the Tennis academy is the best you can find on the planet!
Thank you.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indigo Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Pearl

Address: Nai Yang Beach & National Park, Nai Yang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Indigo Pearl 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and distinction - Historic detail fuses with chic industrial elegance. A 5 Star Luxury Design Resort touching Nai Yang Beach, Phuket. The Indigo Pearl resort experience is an encounter with Phuket's collective imagination - a gathering of intriguing details, re-envisioned through imaginative design. Architecture inspired by Phuket's tin mining past. The hotel decor evokes a Thai factory of a century ago. A landscape overflowing with surprises: the postmodern transformation of a mature plantation, spiced with modern sculpture and found industrial art. Luxury, comfort and service surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Indigo Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket/Nai Yang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.