We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pearl on Phuket” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo Pearl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Indigo Pearl to your Saves list
Indigo Pearl
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nai Yang Beach & National Park, Nai Yang, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct get 15% off
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A Pearl on Phuket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Indigo Pearl, nestled against Nai Yang Beach–a small beach-side enclave on the northwestern shores of Phuket–is part of the larger Nai Yang National Marine Park. The hotel, owned by the local Na-Ranong family, was founded on tin money, and the owners have clearly decided to pay homage by infusing the metal (at one time called “black gold”) into the design motifs of the resort that permeates the entire property from the installation art to the cutlery in its restaurants.

The Indigo Pearl is a fine gem in many ways. It’s a mere 10-minute taxi ride from the airport in a location that is quiet, pristine, with easy access to the beautiful Nai Yang Beach. The premium pearl bed suite I stayed in was spacious, well-appointed, and conveniently comes with an in-room power adaptor. Wi-fi is free throughout the resort. The bed is comfortable, and the shower area is huge (in fact, it is “integrated” into the room without any barrier). There is a modern-Thai-industrial feel to the decor.

There are three pools dispersed around the property, of which two are off-limits to children below 14. Great idea. The gym was under renovation, but the equipments remained accessible in the back room, although they were tightly placed. The property is generally well-kept and the grounds verdant with native flora, but the array and dispersion of the wide variety of accommodation blocks can be disorienting.

The co-located Coqoon Spa is worth a trip, if only to see the crown jewel of its spa suite, which clearly takes its inspiration from a cocoon to provide that surreal, enveloping sensory experience. Treatments in that room come with a mark-up of 10%, by the way.

There are six dining options on the property, but the best deals and most uplifting ambience are found just outside the resort along the beach where you can feast on seafood with your feet literally resting on the sand, the waves lapping up the shore, and the Andaman breeze gently caressing your soul.

Room Tip: It's worth it to upgrade to a premium pearl suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,856
    557
    164
    59
    37
See reviews for
535
1,552
62
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for two days at the end of September 2012, as a stop-over between Bangkok and the ferry to Phi Phi. Seemed silly just to stay one night, so we stayed a bit longer. The rooms were lovely, and the grounds beautifully kept. Swimming pools were all different and great, and it was amazing that the staff kept bringing you ice cold water and refreshing towels. There was a great choice of bars, and even though we did not eat dinner in the hotel, the breakfast was very good. The village outside was nice and typical, untouched and natural Thailand as I remember it back around 13 years ago when I first visited Samui before it, like too many resorts have become so commercial. The beach however is not great in comparison to so many others you could visit in this lovely country.

To top it all off, I had left my expensive toothbrush charger behind and realized this when I reached Krabi about 4 days later. I contacted guest services and within 24 hours the item was found, and en-route to me there. Within 48 hours from me noticing it missing, it was returned and at no cost to me. The whole thing was arranged and brilliantly coordinated by Judi, right up until it was back in my hand on a Saturday evening. Her customer service could never be bettered, and her English as good as anybodies you will come across in Thailand. Judi was constantly calling me, my current hotel and emailing non-stop until I had my charger back. Superb, and thanks again to her.

If I were in Phuket again, I would definitely stay here once more. It was far from a lively night out in Patong, but probably worth the 1000Baht to 1200Baht return taxi fare just to be going to sleep in such a very cool, comfortable and well run establishment.

Back to taxis, they seemed pricey but were actually a fraction of the cost of those in Krabi and the long tail boats in Phi Phi, which we found collectively a total rip-off for tourists in comparison. Also, you can hire a car for 500Baht per day in Nai Yang village if you so desire.

Enjoy - Paul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for only one night and we arrived a bit late (after 20h00). As we booked at the last minute, we had to showed our online confirmation so they can let us check in. Anyway, we understand the process. Finally, the receptionist really took good care of us and we even got upgrade to suite. The design of the hotel is very unique (mechanic, screw) but very nice. They had a Thai buffet dinner with a north Thai show but we decide to eat at their gastronomic restaurant. For me not so good and expensive. Anyway, we had a very good night sleep and enjoyed an excellent buffet breakfast. Too bad we arrived a bit late. Walk around the huge hotel park and it was already time to leave. Will come back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Absolutely outstanding.
The staff are so friendly and helpful the food is fantastic and the rooms are even better in reality than they look in the pictures.
We stayed for 8 nights and got a great deal with Trailfinders. The room wasn't ready when we arrived so we did have to go for a wander for a couple of hours. That wasn't the end of the world as it meant we got to explore the village adjacent to the beach.
I did read a negative review on here which I really struggled to comprehend. No, the bath is not marble (is that important?) and not the breakast area is not air-conditioned. But then then restaurant in question has no walls, so air conditioning would be somewhat pointless.
The Black Ginger is a must. Most nights we ate on the beach at one of the many restaurants down there, but the Black Ginger is a cut above and it's actually quite reasonably priced too.

Do venture out of the hotel to the beach. There are several bars and restaurants which are really good.
The Banran Tree, Mama Mia's and the one next door to Mama Mia's (the name escapes me!) are the top three.

The beer in the hotel is a bit on the expensive side. A lot of people go to the mini-mart right next to the beach entrance next to the diving school and buy beer at a 3rd of the price and keep it in the fridge in the room ;)

Swimming pools are sublime. The water can get incredibly warm when the sun is shining!
The staff regularly bring round frozen ice lollies and cold towels to keep you cool!

The hotel has free wi-fi which you can even pick up on the beach, but it's not the most reliable or speedy of connections.

The spa is expensive. There are numerous places on the beach offering the same treatments for a fraction of the price.
An hour long Thai massage with tiger oil will set you back a mere 400Baht (£10) and is well worth the money.

Oh, and don't rely on the bedside alarm clock to wake you up in the morning. The power is a bit hit and miss and it will reset the clock when it goes off!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The moment we enter the hotel it was wow all the way,though check in were a little delay from them but they offer us to relax at the beach while we wait.We had the premium pearl suite and it was amazing,the room is lovely and spacious.Really like the design.Awesome pool as well with bar on it to relax.Staff were quite helpful and breakfast was enjoyable for u. Unfotuneately I didn't had the chance to try the spa and the restaurant.

Just behind another entrance it was their beach club and with mini store,massage and tons of seafood restaurant for you to choose with cheap price but good quality food.

But bear in mind this hotel is just 10 min from airport.So if you're looking for happening life at night like patong.This defi not the choice for u.
For me,this hotel is perfect for relaxation and with quiet surrounding without all the night life hassle and noises.This is a piece of heaven for me from earth.100% going back there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

My stay ay Indigo Pearl was perfect, it is beautiful, something new to look at in every direction be it the art sculptures, the garden, the architecture or the beach.
Great place for heading off on tours although it is hard to leave the fabulous pools. The service and the food were also outstanding, plenty of variety to choose from in the resort as well as the the beach front village. The bed was SO comfortable, plus no blackouts or issues when I was there.
I just loved it, great value for money and I will go back there again I hope!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have been staying in Phuket for one week in September, 3 nights staying at Indigo Pearl. Along the beachside of the resort, restaurants & mini market were easily found & the food quality were not bad. It was lucky for me to have 4 days sunshine & 3 days good sunset.
The breakfast was o.k. & they got different types of bread. I like it.
We lived in the Premium Pearl Bed Suit. The room was comfortable & large. My room was at the (P) zone & quite near one of the pool & very convenient for swimming. Free WI-FI was provided. You needed to bring along the ointment provided by hotel with you cause mosquitoes & insects might be not so friendly with you….my wife was bitten by them & needed to take a week to recover…
One thing was that since the resort was large, you must prepare an electric torch with you when you went back to the hotel, the reason was:
(1) The road back to the room was a little bid dark & the light showing the direction board was not bright enough to show the way.
(2) Another use for the electric touch was to lighten your way because if you were not clear enough, you might step on something you don’t want to step on……(please see into photos…this picture was not suitable for children…HA HA)….so be careful…..
One morning we don’t have an umbrella with us & got heavy raining when we went out for breakfast, however, their staff was so kind that she call the Golf car to drive us to the breakfast area. Just say thank you for the good service of the resort.

Room Tip: P zone is very near to one of the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indigo Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Pearl

Address: Nai Yang Beach & National Park, Nai Yang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Indigo Pearl 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and distinction - Historic detail fuses with chic industrial elegance. A 5 Star Luxury Design Resort touching Nai Yang Beach, Phuket. The Indigo Pearl resort experience is an encounter with Phuket's collective imagination - a gathering of intriguing details, re-envisioned through imaginative design. Architecture inspired by Phuket's tin mining past. The hotel decor evokes a Thai factory of a century ago. A landscape overflowing with surprises: the postmodern transformation of a mature plantation, spiced with modern sculpture and found industrial art. Luxury, comfort and service surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Indigo Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket/Nai Yang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.