We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, fantastic service! 5 star!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo Pearl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Indigo Pearl to your Saves list
Indigo Pearl
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nai Yang Beach & National Park, Phuket, 83110, Nai Yang, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct get 15% off
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, fantastic service! 5 star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our stay at indigo pearl was fantastic, we were greeted and treated very warmly by all staff throughout the entire trip, the little touches made all the difference ie: turndown service, candles and insect replent lit nightly.
The facilities are beautiful, they have a fantastic gym, private beach with drinks and Popsicles served throughout the day! A good room service menu and varied buffet breakfast. I was very happy with this resort and would happily recommend it to any travelers, I will definitely return soon :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,823
    545
    159
    58
    37
See reviews for
524
1,521
61
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have been planning and looking forward to this trip for months as my husband was participating at a conference held here at Indigo Pearl. We decided to extend our trip a further 3 nights on top of the 3 nights that was part of the conference for some family time with our 2 year-old son. Based on the many glowing reviews, we came here expecting a top notch hotel. We arrived early evening yesterday and have, unfortunately, been so sorely disappointed with the overall quality of the hotel.

Granted the hotel is currently at maximum capacity and the weather has been unforgiving, raining non-stop since we arrived, but the property has turned to be way short of what we'd expected. Never mind the reception did not find our booking for the extension nights, we were assigned room 1214 which is located in block C, quite a distance from the reception with absolutely no views, and horrible stroller access. Because we have paid for in advance for a premium pearl room for our extension nights I had specified to be booked in the same room throughout our stay but as it turned out, our assigned room for the conference was a pearl bed not premium (based on the pictures on the site) although when I called reception to enquire she insisted it is a premium room - twice.

The room had twin beds instead of a king and we were horrified to find a hideous old boxy TV instead of a flat screen (because the room is located in an old block it seems, and how that is relevant I don't know) the AC outside the room makes a loud whirring noise and everything in the room seems frayed - scratches on the wall, low water pressure, scratchy speakers when you turn off/on the lights, super dim lights, worn furniture, torn curtains. Because the hotel was booked out, they could not change our room. We are all equal paying guests so why should there be a difference in the rooms we get? Do you mean to say that it all depends on random luck which room we get, some less lousy than others? Just because we're staying in part of the conference certainly does not mean we deserve any less. We expect to get what we paid for for our extension nights.

The TV cable reception quality is terrible, lots of static and no kids' channels. We had also requested or a baby cot at booking but none was provided until we got to the room. The layout does not make any sense, the dressing area is disconnected from the bathroom and the work desk is in the bathroom. There are no plastic bags lining the trash cans, which is honestly quite disgusting. There's a huge stain in the corner of the balcony where all the dirt stayed, and the AC vents are dirty. The property is huge and can be very confusing to navigate but no maps of the hotel are to be found in the room. And seeing how it tends to pour quite a bit in Phuket one would expect to find umbrellas in the room, but none are offered or provided in the room.

We ordered room service - expensive, but which hotel room service isn't - we had the grilled beef salad, which was excellent, and fried rice, which was swimming in oil. Breakfast is average at best, the spread is standard and the quality passable. Nothing spectacular about the pastries or made to order eggs and the local fare is disappointing. We were ferried to the kids' club on the buggy, which didn't appear when we called for it so we had to walk to the pool area in the rain and into puddles to get the staff to call for another one. The kids' club is just basically a play room with two unenthusiastic lady staff attending it. There were no activities and they didn't even bother to say hi to my son or least tend to him for a short while for courtesy sake. The room had no books, low tables or chairs for kids to sit on for coloring/drawing/reading. Just some toys, a few computers, a TV with cartoon on, adult sized desks and chairs and an adult toilet with a dirty mop leaning on the wall. The room does not appear to be clean. The property's gardens are unkempt as well - untrimmed bushes, dried shriveled plants, exposed earth, unraked leaves, all quite unsightly.

I get the rustic concept and have stayed in many stunning resorts but seeing Indigo Pearl during the day you can certainly see the flaws in its maintenance the lack of attention to detail. Rating this place 5 stars is most definitely unwarranted, in our books. We still have 5 more nights to go. There are just certain things you come to expect from a property which prides itself in its 5-star rating and this place just isn't there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at Indigo Pearl, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear ALOH_HS,

Thank you for your comprehensive review and quite sad to read you had an unpleasant stay with us. We certainly apologize and could only wish for the weather to be better and proper details organized through your group organizer for your stay. However we will review all your details and act on it accordingly asap. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is around ten minutes from the airport and on arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink and cold towels. The staff were friendly and helpful meaning the the booking process took no time at all. We were taken to our room on a golf buggy and our luggage arrived a few minutes later. This stay was for our Honeymoon and due to this we received cake, a fruit platter and a bottle of champagne in our room, which was a very thoughtful gesture.
Accommodation- we were initially booed into a Pearl suite which was spacious, tastefully decorated and lovely. It had a king size bed and little welcome extras like slippers and bathrobes. The bathtub was huge as was the shower, our room had two balconies, both with daybeds. everything about the room was perfect.....except the noise! This was due to a collection of air-conditioning units outside our room and kept awake during the night. We informed the reception staff after the second night. I have to say they did not seem surprised and moved us the following day to an upgraded room. This room was even better than our original, it had a large balcony and outdoor bathtub, the interior was as tasteful as our original.
Food- during our stay we tended to eat along Nia Yang beach, however we did eat at the Black Ginger restaurant and the Italian sports bar, both were excellent. The Black Ginger is the signature restaurant and the surroundings beautiful. It is nestled in the middle of a lake and you are taken there on a hand pulled raft, the food was perfect. The Italian bar has a happy hour from 9.30pm to 11.30pm and well worth a visit, the food here is also very good, particularly the burger and pizza.
The buffet breakfast at the Tin Mine was outstanding, every possible food choice from cereal and fruit to a cooked breakfast or even Thai green curry!
Spa- Initially we thought the spa was a little pricey, but look out for the special offers in the news letter. We had the Indigo Sunday package, which was a 60 minute massage and a 30 minute foot massage, cocktails, canapés and foot scrub. This cost 4,200 baht for two people, less than half the normal price. They have a different offer each day so well worth a look at and the staff, particularly Nu and Oil, are brilliant.
Surroundings - for us this was one of the highlights!! The 35 acres of landscaped gardens and lagoons were like paradise, the pools were well maintained and the service at the adult infinity pool is second to none. The staff bring you cold drinks, a selection of fruit and ice towels every couple of hours, toilets are close by and clean and the pool just amazing.
Our stay at the Indigo Pearl was one of the highlights of our honeymoon and we can't wait to return in the near future. If you are thinking of travelling to Phuket and want a quiet, luxurious resort, this is a must!
Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable and special,
Darren & Sara

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Without a doubt, the best place to stay on Nai Yang Beach is the Indigo Pearl. This is not your quaint beachfront boutique hotel, more of a large, full-service resort with just about every possible facility you can imagine.

Even if I'm not a huge fan of large resorts, I was still truly impressed with just about everything at the Indigo Pearl. Rooms are comfortable and beautifully designed with the overall mining theme (the location used to be full of tin mines) and public spaces like restaurants, bars, gym, lobby, pool and beach areas are thoughtfully designed and blend naturally with the lush gardens and vegetation that encapsulate the resort.

I highly recommend eating a dinner at the Black Ginger restaurant. Not only is the food excellent (mostly spiced-down but tasty Thai cuisine). This is also one of the most romantic restaurants I've ever been to in Thailand. The Black Ginger lies on a small pond and you have to take a wooden, hand powerd ferry to get there. Tip: get there a little ahead of your reservation for a drink in the bar where they make a mean Mojito.

The breakfast buffet is one of the best I've ever eat at – anywhere. Excellent choice of breads, fresh juices, hot and cold breakfast dishes (love the waffles!) and attentive service.

The gym at the Indigo Pearl is worth an extra mention. Not so much for the equipment, which is good, but not the most modern I've ever used. Instead, the gym excels by offering knowledgable staff and a slew of indoor and outdoor activities to take part of during your stay. These include bicycle tours, tennis, classes in yoga and thai boxing.

The resort also provides a small beachfront area with a bar and comfy sun chairs. Great when you feel like being a little extra pampered.

A few things in need of improvement:

• Despite using the "Do not disturb" sign, our maid(s) would knock on our room door anyway. This happened several times early in the morning and communicating this with them didn't help.

• Our room's key card reader malfunctioned and we were locked out of our room for an hour late at night. I suggested to the reception manager that the hotel could offer us a drink in the bar while we waited for it to be fixed. After a call to her boss, she agreed but limited our choice of drinks to non-alcholic beverages. Was a beer really too much to ask for as compensation for our wait? This policy should be changed.

• Drinks and food at the beachfront bar were so ridiculously expensive that even the staff recommended that we eat elsewhere and buy water at a nearby store.

• As this is a self-proclaimed five star resort, charging extra for a cappuccino at breakfast seems a bit silly. Choice of coffee is included at most other luxury properties on Phuket that I've stay at. (such as Amanpuri or Six Senses).

• The Food & Beverage manager and Head Chef need to sit down and try some of the resort's Asian dishes. When they do, they too will experience how bland they taste. I realize that many guests wouldn't appreciate traditional spicy Thai cuisine, but serving the opposite is not the answer. There has to be a middle ground here.

Notes on Nai Yang:
Along the small village road in Nai Yang there's a selection of massage shops, a hairdresser, laundry service and a few small convenient stores with snacks and drinks.

This may be the perfect beach on Phuket. Super close to the airport (without being disturbingly close) and aside from being typically postcard beautiful, Nai Yang is also perfect for walking or jogging, the shoreline is shallow enough for young travellers to swim in (with adult supervision) and a bit further out, sufficiently deep for those of you geared up for a bit of snorkelling.

But what really makes this beach so special is the relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are nice, but the view isn't good and the small patio doesn't feel invitin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights, and were very satisfied with our accommodation and surroundings.
On arrival check in was smooth and we had our room straight away, my hubby even got a 10min neck and shoulder massage on arrival complimentary. Our room was great, light, clean and modern (Premium Pearl room in K block). We have a 5 year old, and there was plenty of room even with her roll away bed. Great balcony overlooking adult pool 2, which was closed for renovation at the time, but we didn't notice any noise or banging from any maintenance work.
We used the gym a few times, and our daughter loved the kids club wanting to go daily, the ladies there were great.
Family Pool & Adult pool 1, were both great we used both while there. Beach area for Indigo Pearl was also great, they provide sand buckets etc for the children.
Great little street area by the beach, if you want to eat at local restaurants, or need ATM, mini-mart etc.
Breakfast was plentiful, great selection, my only negative comment would be the coffee, we stayed at 5 resorts while in Thailand for 4 weeks and this was the only place we didn't enjoy the coffee at breakfast. (Tasted like bulk instant coffee made up, nasty taste)
Otherwise we ate there quite a few times, and food was always great including room service, and Black ginger was fantastic, a must try! I thought prices were Ok for food, drinks were the pricey part.
I can recommend doing the Thai cooking course at Moo's Kitchen, it was so much fun and great value. You can eat all the great food you cook at the end, and if your partner is around they can join you at the end to share your food. (We even had a nice glass of wine with our food) The staff at Moo's kitchen are top notch!
To sum it all up, we would recommend Indigo Pearl to others, and we would return. (Low season rates were good value)
Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: K Block was good location, close to kids club, breakfast & pools. Only 3-4min walk to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great hotel, better than expected. A bit on the quite side, but beach outside busy.
Staff excellent great room service. Reception and concierge could smile a bit more.
Use local taxi. Located at exit to beach. Very friendly and mostly 4x4 to take you around.
We had 8 days of sun , this helped a lot in monsoon season
Rooms and decor throughout fantastic.

Room Tip: block A level 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Indigo Pearl is situated about 10 minutes from the Phuket Airport.
The road into the hotel may be a little put-off to some, but once in the lobby, I was welcomed by bright smiles and peculiar industrial artifacts as decorations.
The complex is big and it will take a little getting used to before understanding the hotel lay-out and what is where.
The newly refurbished room was a pleasant surprise. Firstly the bed, "wardrobe" and toilet areas are not placed in a normal way creating a new perspective. The outdoor tub is great for couples...
We celebrated our wedding anniversary and appreciated the gestures offered e.g. room floral deco, champagne and spa discounts.
I found the best parts about Indigo Pearl are the restaurants, pools and especially the spa.
Indigo Pearl is conveniently near the famous Blue Canyon Golf CC.
Setbacks:
Remember that Indigo Pearl does not have a private beach. You need to cross a street before getting to the beach. And Indigo Pearl is about 45 minutes from Phuket Town or Patong, depending on traffic. The car rental company used by Indigo Pearl could be better.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room, second floor (for privacy and better view). The ground floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indigo Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Pearl

Address: Nai Yang Beach & National Park, Phuket, 83110, Nai Yang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Indigo Pearl 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and distinction - Historic detail fuses with chic industrial elegance. A 5 Star Luxury Design Resort touching Nai Yang Beach, Phuket. The Indigo Pearl resort experience is an encounter with Phuket's collective imagination - a gathering of intriguing details, re-envisioned through imaginative design. Architecture inspired by Phuket's tin mining past. The hotel decor evokes a Thai factory of a century ago. A landscape overflowing with surprises: the postmodern transformation of a mature plantation, spiced with modern sculpture and found industrial art. Luxury, comfort and service surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Indigo Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket/Nai Yang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.