We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Birthday stay at Indigo Pearl” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo Pearl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Indigo Pearl to your Saves list
Indigo Pearl
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nai Yang Beach & National Park, Phuket, 83110, Nai Yang, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nai Yang
Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Birthday stay at Indigo Pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We had a group of 10 staying at the Indigo Pearl for my birthday. The entire hotel had been designed with the tin mining history in mind with funky metal artwork and a hark back to Thailand's little known industrial history. They had clearly taken the time to think through the design of both the rooms and all common areas and the hotel looked great. We did find it a little hard to navigate through all the different building blocks and the seemingly random room numbering. Some better signage wouldn't go astray. Nai Yang itself is about 5 mins drive from the airport, which is convenient. Although it is about 40 mins from the Phuket markets, elephants and Patong. This wasn't a problem for us though as we wanted to relax by the pool for most of our trip. It also made the trip to the airport stress free, and cheap at only 200 baht. There were plenty of restaurants and some shops/ massage places/ tailors (we recommend Williams) by the beach.

Our room was very spacious with a very comfortable, but slightly too short, bed. The mattress topper was ideal and it felt like sleeping on a cloud! We also had a separate room for our cases and safe which was a nice touch. We had an issue with our tv where it kept turning off and they replaced it immediately. The bathroom had a big bathtub, huge shower with two shower heads, separate toilet and double sink - with the same funky design that was seen throughout the hotel. My only complaints would be the lack of hot water at times (shaving with cold water at 6am before a boat trip is not much fun) and the use of curtains instead of doors in the bathroom and toilet.

We loved the adult pool with pool bar, it is part of the reason we chose this hotel. The larger kids pool looked great but there were quite a few kids playing so the quieter adult pools were ideal. I have to say that the cocktails seemed hit and miss and were mostly full of ice so a little disappointing.

We tried several of the hotel restaurants. Tongha Syndicate was quite casual with a pool table and great simple food. The room service was great, I accidentally ordered the wrong thing (spicy fried rice instead of normal) and they replaced it for free and apologised - even though I'd just ordered the wrong thing. Our favourite from the pool bar was the hot chips, we ate them almost every day! Breakfast was a really well made buffet. Friendly staff seated us each day and on offer was a wide range of thai food, including pork buns, cereals, breads, pastries, hot breakfast including eggs and made to order ommelette and pancakes/ waffles cooked fresh each 1/2 hour or so. The tea was a little overbrewed but you could purchase freshly made tea or coffee if you preferred. All 10 of us ate at their beach restaurant, Cotomer, for my birthday dinner, and they made an effort to ensure we were all catered to and even brought me a birthday cake. We dined at Black ginger on our last nigth there and it was a stand out. The moat to take you there is quite cool, staff very friendly and the food was fantastic. Overall the restaurants, apart from Black Ginger, didn't have that many vege options but otherwise the choice was good.

All staff here were all incredibly friendly and eager to please. When we gave advanced notice they were fantastic at organising vegetarian food for two of our guests, after some problems with that on the first night. They also booked us taxis several times without any issues. We had a little trouble communicating at times but staff remained friendly and there was a French concierge on hand which also helped.

We would recommend this hotel and look forward to coming back again one day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,751
    524
    153
    51
    36
See reviews for
494
1,464
59
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We just completed a business conference at Indigo. My room was excellent, well fitted out and comfortable. The resort itself is spread out across large attractive gardens. Architecture outside fits the location well. Rooms are a mix of industrial chic (which works OK) and Thai which works better.

They could do with a couple of more restaurant/bars with aircon as it was pretty hot and humid when we were there.

Apart from that the service was very good, although room service had a hard time working out what Laphroaig was - probably my lousy accent.

Being part of a conference most of our meals were buffet style but the choice was wide and interesting and well presented/cooked. Dinner on the beach was pretty spectacular.

Nai Yang beach is right next to the resort which has it's own section well catered for with sun lounges, umbrellas, bar etc.

The beach is pretty, typically Thai - about 5 km's long of clean sand, relatively shallow and with the prerequisite fishing boats.

The beach restaurants and bars were pretty typical but friendly people and not overly commercial like Patong.

Great spot for a holiday.

Room Tip: I stayed in building O which was both close to the beach and the horizon pool which was great for la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. From the moment you walk through the main entrance, you get the wow factor. It is unique in the way that it is set out, every area of the hotel is a little adventure. About 10 minutes from the airport which is very handy, and although you see the planes, you cant hear them.
The standard room is not big by any standard, but it is furnished in a very rustic way. Very comfortable beds, standard size bathroom with all sorts of fancy touches. Only thing I think that was disappointing was lack of wardrobe space. Apart from that, the room was a big a feature as any other part of the hotel. The pavillion pool rooms were exceptionally well furnished.
The Tin Mine restaurant is where breakfast is served, and they have a variety of things to eat, as you would expect in any quality hotel, they will make things to order if you fancy something not on offer.
Black Ginger restaurant was where our group started a black tie event, very subtle class about this place, food was exceptional.
There are a few nice bars around the hotel, but I think the best bar is the swim-up bar in the main pool, as 4-6 is happy hour, and the cocktails are very generous. The main pool is reasonably sized and part of it is like an infinity pool, which just adds to the class of this place.
Hotel is right next to the beach, about a 10 second walk from the back end of the hotel, although it will probably take 10 minutes to get from one end of the hotel to the other, that's if you don't get lost. My advice would be to go to the lobby and get a golf buggy! Staff are always happy to give you a lift around the hotel.
All in all, very impressive, I will definitely stay here again. If you want to be wowed, then send stay here, if they are looking for party town, send them somewhere else as it is about 40mins in a tuk-tuk to Patong.
If you have any questions, call me at DialAFlight or message me.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to the next grade up, the balcony rooms are definitely worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at Indigo Pearl, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Byron_DAF,

Thank you for your review and eye-for detail. Indeed "every area of the hotel is a little adventure" as you have mentioned. We do hope to welcome you again. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Don´t know how many nights I spent in hotels in Asia - both on business and holiday. Must say that Indigo Pearl have the most comfortable beds in Thailand (probably top in the world as well). I bought their madrass and brought it back home - it is like sleeping on whiped cream......
Indigo is not only about sleeping like a Princess. I just adore the design - everytime I go there there is a new detail to take in. The mix of rust and silk, raw surfaces and flowerarrangements to die for.
I can honestly recomend this resort to almost anyone. It is perfect for couples - all ages, but also for families. Having such large areas within the resort it is never crowded anywhere. Two pools only for adults (makes the couples happy that want a more quite and relaxed atmosphere), One big poolarea with sep kidspool for all families that does not need to feel that they dirstub anyone. Beautiful beachclub and lots of local Thai outlets just on your doorstep.
And yeah only five minutes from the airport (no disturbing noices I promise) it makes a perfect place to start or end your holiday.

A fair warning - if you expect the "normal" Thai five star all gold n glitter and staff in Thaisilkdresses - think again. Indigo Pearl is nothing like that!

Enjoy
Lin

PS Don´t forget to prebook Sunday brunch - it is a must

Room Tip: ask for a Pearl bed suite with the bath tub on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at Indigo Pearl, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Lin,

Thank you for your feedback, much appreciated on your acknowledgment. Indeed we are different and try to provide a great experience to all our guests with different needs. We do hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had booked a Premium Pearl Bed Suite mid last year for our stay between 19-24 February. Our airport pick up went smoothly and were greeted with some iced tea while we completed the check in formalities, unfortunately we were then told that we had been downgraded as the hotel was fully booked and our room type was not available and apparently could not be refunded as we had booked through Agoda.

We were offered meals each night as compensation which we accepted but in hindsight wished we had been more assertive, we were just too tired after our flight and wanted to get to our room. However the meals were limited to Black Ginger or Tin Mine only.

We were later able to exchange one of the meals for a spa treatment which was fantastic.

The room we were provided was well appointed and of a decent size but we were still dispointed that it was not as nice as what we had booked. There was no outdoor bath and the room was smaller but it was on the end of the building and had a comfotable sized balcony with a view over the main pool.

The room was well designed and had numerous small touches that would have made it a fantastic room had we not been expecting more. The only issue we had was not being able to work out ho to have the light in the bathroom on while all the other lights in the room were off. It seemed it could not be on in the bathroom without the light above the bed being on.

Once we had gotten past the initial hiccup the rest of the stay was fantastic.

The staff were all extremely friendly and the Spa was an amazing experience. Things like the turn down service and extremely efficient houskeeping more than made up for the initial issues we had. Sao and Tien in the spa should commended for their fantastic service.

The breakfast buffet had more than enough options to keep us satisfied for 5 days and dinner each night was always enjoyable but we would have preferred to try some more of the local beach options.

Overall I would be more than happy to stay again but am still not sure why we were downgraded if we had booked so far in advance. The food, drinks and spa were all of a high quality but are priced significanly higher than what is available outside the hotel. Black Ginger is worth it for one night at least but I wouldn't eat in the hotel every night if we were paying for the meals.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

My first impression of the reception was utter shock am I really in a 5*star resort or a backpackers lodge its one big mess and stuffy, then u sit and wait for attendance they take our passports and get all the information wrong on the form. The staff just look tired and worn out nothing chic about this resort. She takes us to our pavillion room in the K block the grounds are worn out and tired I think they should get a landscape consultant to zen the garden it just looks dry and lacks the thai feeling. We put a dnd sign on the door and at 8 the maid service decide to clean the room. I've stayed in so many 5* and diamond hotels and boutiques indigo pearl is just a middle class resort isolated. I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone who is well travelled and likes the finer things in life.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at Indigo Pearl, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Rawahi83,

Sad to hear your experience at our resort, rather surprised. Indigo Pearl is certainly 5 star with bold luxury provided the guests have an acknowledgement and appreciation of fine art. Highly recommend while choosing boutique hotels to do a thorough research on the resorts features before booking. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allerød
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children age 3 and 10, stayed in a D-Buk Family suite. The tin mine concept was very unique but very well done, and we liked the suite very much, Plenty of room and a large king size bed plus a large bed that did very easily accomodate 2 children. Only complain about the room was the view from the room or rather lack of. The terrace was sort of a small concrete tunnel and not really a place you wanted to spent time, but there were plenty of other nice places to be, so it was not a problem.
There are many couples at the hotel but the main pool which was open for children was excellent and there were very few people there, so we enjoyed very much to swim and play with the children. There were toys to play with, and the staff came with ice water and icecream. In one end of the pool there was a large tree giving shade but the childrens pool was in full sun. Some shade on the childrens pool would have been good.
The staff was very friendly.
The hotel is only 10 min from the airport but there is no noice from the planes.
Just outside the hotel and before the beach there are plenty of small shops, restaurants and massage places. Also 2 ATM's.
The beach is fine for swimming, building sand castles, walking etc. and in the evening you could have a nice and cheap dinner right on the beach
We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and could have stayed for 1 or 2 nights more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at Indigo Pearl, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Bo_Alyce,

Thank you for your review. Pleased to read you had a great stay with your family. Hope to see you again for the extra few nights to experience our signature restaurants and award winning Coqoon Spa. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indigo Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Pearl

Address: Nai Yang Beach & National Park, Phuket, 83110, Nai Yang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Indigo Pearl 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and distinction - Historic detail fuses with chic industrial elegance. A 5 Star Luxury Design Resort touching Nai Yang Beach, Phuket. The Indigo Pearl resort experience is an encounter with Phuket's collective imagination - a gathering of intriguing details, re-envisioned through imaginative design. Architecture inspired by Phuket's tin mining past. The hotel decor evokes a Thai factory of a century ago. A landscape overflowing with surprises: the postmodern transformation of a mature plantation, spiced with modern sculpture and found industrial art. Luxury, comfort and service surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Indigo Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket/Nai Yang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.