We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awfull resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo Pearl

Save Saved
You added Indigo Pearl to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Indigo Pearl
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nai Yang Beach & National PA, Phuket, 83110, Nai Yang, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Nai Yang
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awfull resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

My first impression of the reception was utter shock am I really in a 5*star resort or a backpackers lodge its one big mess and stuffy, then u sit and wait for attendance they take our passports and get all the information wrong on the form. The staff just look tired and worn out nothing chic about this resort. She takes us to our pavillion room in the K block the grounds are worn out and tired I think they should get a landscape consultant to zen the garden it just looks dry and lacks the thai feeling. We put a dnd sign on the door and at 8 the maid service decide to clean the room. I've stayed in so many 5* and diamond hotels and boutiques indigo pearl is just a middle class resort isolated. I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone who is well travelled and likes the finer things in life.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at Indigo Pearl, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Rawahi83,

Sad to hear your experience at our resort, rather surprised. Indigo Pearl is certainly 5 star with bold luxury provided the guests have an acknowledgement and appreciation of fine art. Highly recommend while choosing boutique hotels to do a thorough research on the resorts features before booking. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,605
    498
    148
    50
    35
See reviews for
448
1360
50
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Allerød
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children age 3 and 10, stayed in a D-Buk Family suite. The tin mine concept was very unique but very well done, and we liked the suite very much, Plenty of room and a large king size bed plus a large bed that did very easily accomodate 2 children. Only complain about the room was the view from the room or rather lack of. The terrace was sort of a small concrete tunnel and not really a place you wanted to spent time, but there were plenty of other nice places to be, so it was not a problem.
There are many couples at the hotel but the main pool which was open for children was excellent and there were very few people there, so we enjoyed very much to swim and play with the children. There were toys to play with, and the staff came with ice water and icecream. In one end of the pool there was a large tree giving shade but the childrens pool was in full sun. Some shade on the childrens pool would have been good.
The staff was very friendly.
The hotel is only 10 min from the airport but there is no noice from the planes.
Just outside the hotel and before the beach there are plenty of small shops, restaurants and massage places. Also 2 ATM's.
The beach is fine for swimming, building sand castles, walking etc. and in the evening you could have a nice and cheap dinner right on the beach
We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and could have stayed for 1 or 2 nights more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at Indigo Pearl, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Bo_Alyce,

Thank you for your review. Pleased to read you had a great stay with your family. Hope to see you again for the extra few nights to experience our signature restaurants and award winning Coqoon Spa. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We booked 2 nights in a Pearl Bed Suite for the last 2 nights of our Thai trip before coming home. Upon arrival we were greeted by a staff member with 2 fresh cocktails and scented wet face washers to cool down with. We were then told for the first time in all our years of travelling that we had been "downgraded" to a smaller room due to the busy weekend! I was appalled. I checked the room that they offered us, it was small and had a view of the gardeners shed. I argued with them and asked that we be upgraded to something better. After deliberation on their part, we were given a premium bed suite which was amazing. Massive bedroom with king bed, a massive polished concrete bathroom with huge shower and double basin's, plus botht he bathroom and bedroom opened up to a massive balcony with huge soaking tub, a large daybed and table and chairs that looked over one of the 5 pools. Aircon worked well and we also had a large walk in robe to put our belongings in. Nai Yang is a peaceful beach without loads of hawkers and good for swimming we actually prefered it to Surin or others south towards Patong. Heaps of bars and restaurants on along the beach as well as massage places every 30 meters. We had one hour long massage each day for only 300 baht. The resort caters to all age groups, so there are kids, families, honeymooners, and oldies but there are 5 pools and 2 of them are for adults only which is good. Breakfast buffet was very average albeit large with too many people aggressively fighting for food. The Tin Mine restaurant which it was held in though had a great food on offer for lunch and dinner. Black Ginger had great food, but we were annoyed with 2 Russian families with 5 screaming kids who were so badly behaved that pretty much destroyed the nice ambience of the place. We had to leave after entree and return for mains after they had left. Not good for a resort that claims it as there "jewel of the crown restaurant" - kids should probably not be allowed in such a tranquil setting. The design of the hotel is quite nice and different for Thailand, focusing on the rich mining history of Phuket. Resort is a short taxi ride from the airport which is also a bonus, only 400 baht. All in all a nice resort with lovely landscaped gardens everywhere. Staff were helpful and friendly too. Would stay again....

Room Tip: Pearl bed rooms or suites are definitely nicer and in the middle of this large resort and it's e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at Indigo Pearl, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Nathan,

Thank you for your feedback, sorry to hear your early experience at the resort, please be rest assured this is not our standard. Your points has been noted and will be managed to ensure all our guests have a great experience. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I traveled to Phuket in October 2011, we stayed at Indigo Pearl for 8 nights.
We loved Thailand, and loved Indigo Pearl. After a long flight It was perfect that the hotel was a very short journey from Phuket airport.

We arrived late in the evening, and were greeted with Jasmine Iced Tea and a cool towel, we were then driven to our room after a very promt check-in. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and nothing ever seemed like too much of a problem.

Arriving in our room, we were suitably impressed (Private Pool Pavillion), the decor was modern, as other reviews have commented might not be to everybody's liking, but we thought the design was great. (you get a good idea from all the photos)

We had no problems with any noise from the pools, air conditioning, or other guests. Our room was located just behind one of the adults only pool, and the only time we heard a slight noise from any of the aircraft was when we walked north up the beach towards the airport.

The only negatives we could think of were; a very slight damp smell from the bathroom, but nothing overpowering or enough to warrant requesting another room, and as other reviews have commented, the lack of sunlight to the private pool area at the back of the room, which therefore made the private pool very chilly!

Some reviewers have commented that the hotel is not on the beach, which is true, however it's a very short walk from the hotel grounds, across a fairly quiet street to the beach club adjacent to the hotel, however we did not see this as a significant problem. The beach was clean but was not the nicest we visited in Thailand, but still a nice place to unwind and during our time there was very quiet.

I can definitely reccomend this hotel, we had a thouroughly enjoyable stay.

Finally as many other reviews have commented Phen's restaurant on the beach is well worth a visit, it served some great food and was very good value for money. We did not eat at the hotel so are unable to comment on the food there.

Room Tip: Our Private Pool Pavillion was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at Indigo Pearl, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear NAJLHR,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We will certainly check out the smell you mentioned and also we are currently working on a new concept to ensure the plunge pools are warm and have enough sunlight. Do hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful, quite place! Great for couples and family who don't want to be near busy patong. Excellent restaurants inside and staff are very kind.
Go out to the back street where it leads you to the beach. Hear out for a lady on her bike/shop honking her horn, she sells the most delicious authentic papaya salad. Let her know how hot you would like it.. Coz she can make it hot!!
Hotel rooms are well thought out. Always kept clean. Cleaning ladies will wait til you leave the room to clean and change sheets etc. without be so obvious.
You get 2 free bottles of water everyday. They gave us 4 and we just put them in the fridge and freezer so we could always have cold drinks for spares.
Kids minding room is quite small. Better for older kids 4+ but I wouldn't leave them there for that long as they'll probably get bored very quickly. They have a great kids pool though and a larger one right next so you can keep an eye out for them while you're dipped in the pool.
Spa treatments are expensive but very relaxing if you're into the aromatherapy stuff.
Getting a Thai massage (outside the resort) everyday was much better for me and so much cheaper. Some were more experienced. Foot massages everyday was great too.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at Indigo Pearl, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear ChloeMWilliams,

Thank you for the feedback, much appreciated. Our Coqoon Spa is certainly an experience worh having as it is unique in concept and spa treatments, highly recommended. We do hope you will get to enjoy this on your next visit. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

What a magnificent find; unfortunately at the end of our holiday. We stayed at 3 fivestar resort and this was the best by a mile.
If you want a magical Phuket holiday this is the place to stay. It's all about "relax and enjoy". For example there is no "Business Centre" rather a magnicient Library. Same facilities of free Internet, books and beautiful lounges in air-conditioned comfort but the emphasis is on relaxing; forget business.
Lovely obliging staff, beautiful pools, fabulous restaurants, magnificent grounds, out of this world beach facility and its signature Spa facility.
I dare anyone to say they had a less than perfect stay. Give it a go; you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at Indigo Pearl, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Afclark,

Thank you for the wonderful review, much appreciated. Its always pleasing to receive acknowledgment and read that our guests had a great time with us. We do hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was my second stay at the Indigo Pearl. The first stay was great and I knew I would come back. I returned a year later and was even more impressed this time.

The resort has a unique design to be seen in every detail. The staff is very friendly and their language skills are way above what you usually meet in Thailand.

When travelling with friends it is much appreciated with two "no-children" (14/16yrs) pools. The accomodation is superb and lots of attention to details can be seen everywhere. The cleanliness is 100%.

An extra recommendation is to visit the restaurant Black Ginger. The food and the environment was impressive.

Impressive breakfast!

My warmest greetings to the staff at Indigo Pearl that gives full focus to their guests.

Room Tip: Upgrade to D-buk suites to get two private terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice, Management at Indigo Pearl, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Jesper C,

Thank you for your review, glad to read you had a wonderful stay with us. Indeed recommend prior reservations to dine at our Black Ginger restaurant to avoid disappointment, as due to its popularity, always booked out. And will certainly pass your acknowledgement to our staff. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Indigo Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Pearl

Address: Nai Yang Beach & National PA, Phuket, 83110, Nai Yang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Indigo Pearl 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and distinction - Historic detail fuses with chic industrial elegance. A 5 Star Luxury Design Resort touching Nai Yang Beach, Phuket. The Indigo Pearl resort experience is an encounter with Phuket's collective imagination - a gathering of intriguing details, re-envisioned through imaginative design. Architecture inspired by Phuket's tin mining past. The hotel decor evokes a Thai factory of a century ago. A landscape overflowing with surprises: the postmodern transformation of a mature plantation, spiced with modern sculpture and found industrial art. Luxury, comfort and service surpasses expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Indigo Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket/Nai Yang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.