We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely atmosphere, good for vegetarians” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Octopus Restaurant

Octopus Restaurant
91 Moo 3 | Sakhu, Thalang, Nai Yang, Phuket, Thailand
081 676 34 99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 31 Restaurants in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely atmosphere, good for vegetarians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

As two vegetarians, we often found it quite challenging to find food in Thailand. One of us also doesn't eat eggs, which makes things even more complicated. Nai Yang doesn't have a huge selection of restaurants and Octopus was a great find. It has a good selection of vegetables, veggie dishes and salads, all the food was very good and not too spicy. The prices are cheap compared to Western standards but slightly on higher end for Phuket beach restaurants. However, the setting is lovely - just on the beach, with pink tablecloth and nice breeze. The waiter spoke fluent-ish English (another rarity in Thailand) and the only thing that damaged our experience was the mosquitoes - our bad for not applying repellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    87
    31
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Good food, friendly staff, good location and value for money, service could be a little slow but the food was worth waiting for.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best meal so far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

First night in Phuket after arriving from Bangkok and ventured out in search of some Thai seafood. We saw similar looking restaurants but after reading some great reviews we settled on Octopus.


We couldn't narrow it down to two choices of starter so decided on having calamari, Thai fish cakes and Thai chicken toast. The calamari was the best calamari we have ever had, the same goes for the Thai fish cakes, there was a slight delay with the chicken toast arriving but again this was delicious!!!

Our mains consisted of Thai red prawn curry and BBQ crab (a little messy) - both of which AGAIN were delicious. Would highly recommend this resteraunt for a casual evening meal with a gorgeous setting.

Our total bill for the above including drinks was less than £20, great value for money for good quality food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
2 reviews
“Love the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Really love the food. Been there so many times they asked us to write our names on the wall! Spring rolls, soft shell crab, tom yam goong, mushrooms, pineapple rice, omelette, duck, the list goes on... They close only twice a month, on the 1st and 16th of every month. If you have a kid, ask for a free magic show ;-)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We didn't get our food!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We ordered our food (eventually) and received our drinks but never received our food. We asked where our food was about 3 or 4 times and never got an answer. After almost one hour, the chef came to us and informed us that there was a backlog of orders - there were 5 or 6 tables occupied which is not busy for a restaurant of this size - and then asked if we still wanted to eat. Obviously our dishes had not even been started!! So we got up and left. They didn't even ask us to pay for the drinks. What a shambles!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Octopus Restaurant also viewed

 
Nai Yang, Phuket
 

Been to Octopus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Octopus Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.