We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate rejuvenating experience!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp

Save Saved
You added Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp
Vill/ P.O. Batseri, District Kinnaur, Sangla 172106, India   |  
Hotel amenities
INDIA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ultimate rejuvenating experience!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We went with our family (members of all age groups) to this location. Banjara camp was ultimate experience in all aspects, be it service, location, food, accommodation, cleanliness, proximity to nature, value and so many other factors. I'll suggest that if u r going with family and small kids then stay at deluxe and super deluxe rooms.....tents will become cold in night.....food is awesome.....there is so many things to pass and enjoy the time like books, outdoor and indoor games etc....staff is very co-operative and friendly...it feels like ur home there....everybody welcomes u with a smile....prices are inclusive of meals and accommodation....and at any point of time u'll not feel cheated for that price.....there are no TVs in the room and total peace in the lap of nature.....and last but not the least dont forget to enjoy hot soup and drinks at bonfire in the camp (carry ur own liquor) ...all rooms have balcony/porch(sitout area)....

Room Tip: take the deluxe or super deluxe room for family!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    18
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We have been here twice and not been disappointed at all. The Camp is situated between Apple orchards. Tents are top class with absolutely clean attached toilets with running hot cold water. They use some kind of LPG devise to heat water but it works. Its on the bank of the river Baspa and you can hear the river as u sleep at night. Enough flat area for your kids to play around unsupervised. The staff at the camp are very courteous and My Ojha (He looks after the place ) is always available in case of any issues. The food spread is absolutely amazing. You will have no problem with kids. The best part is that if you are going to be out all day on trek (which they organize ) or on a day excursion the staff pack Lunch for you which is comprehensive with Juice, Chocolate, Nuts , Breads you name it and u will find it in there. The only bummer is that cars are parked little far away so please make sure you don't leave stuff as u will have to shuttle up and down. The walk is beautiful though :-)!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Good staff. Clean rooms. Good food.

Good location for bird watching.

Room Tip: Go for the cottage rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We'd heard so much about the luxury campsite at banjara Camps & Retreats in Sangla that a visit was long warranted. Driving from Delhi, with a well-needed halt at the Banjara Orchard Retreat at Thanedar was just what the doctor ordered. The Camp has grown and a well-appointed main block building with double rooms now offer an experience suited for the less adventurous as well, in case you're wary of braving the cold in the tents. Warm tea and coffee and a zillion rounds of scrabble kept us warm in the main block, while treks to the Indo-Tibet border (Chitkul Village and Nagasthi, the last Indian outpost on the border); and over the glaciers to Batseri Village - one of the best governed in the country; kept us occupied through the stay. The service was superlative, making it easy to forget the rudimentary nature of the environs that help retain the charm of this little haven.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed at both Thanedar and Sojha retreats (not listed in Trip Advisor but the same people as Sangla) and the locations, food, accomodations, etc were terrific. The drive to get to these places is not for the faint-hearted, but so well worth it! The hiking guides were pleasant, the environment is delightful, I can not wait to try their other resorts at Let and Sangla. If you want to see and experience the Himalayas, and are not a 20 year old backpacker, this is the way to do it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

Went with my wife, baby, my parents, younger brother and two nannies.

Overall we had a great stay at Banjara. The nature in Sangla is nothing short of fantastic and there several really good day walks that you can take from the resort. We came in the middle of apple harvest season and could pick apples straight from the trees at the resort. Very nice. Our young son loved playing around the camp area - so many things for him to explore.

Since we had a small child and my not-so-young parents, we opted for the the new building since October gets very cold. The rooms in Banjara are comfortable and light - the use of wood gives a very nice look and feel to the place. Overall it's a very high standard considering the remoteness of this place. It's not a 5-star hotel like what you can find at similar prices in other parts of India, but that's not what you went all the way to Sangla for.

Staff is very friendly and helpful, but can sometimes be a little hard to find if you're staying in the main building - they all seem to hang out at the camp site and it's a bit annoying having to go all the way over there in the dark if you just need some toilet paper or similar. Also we were wondering at times why they serve dinner in the camp site in October when they have a nice new dining hall in the main building. especially my mother found the old dining hall way to cold to enjoy her dinner. Overall we found the food to be fresh and good, but perhaps just short of great. The freshly squeezed apple juice really was great though.

We had a bit of trouble with a our geyser, but nothing bad enough to spoil our stay. Overall I would warmly recommend this place if you're looking for a bit of comfort and luxury in a fantastic, remote location - and can afford it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

There is no road after Simla. If you can manage 10 to 11 hours of driving on broken roads,dirt, stones, , just terrible and dangerous road conditions, and blockades on account of landslides--you reach the most beautifl Sangla valley with a more beautiful Banjara Resort. in october one could see the lovely sights of apples all around. Banjara Camps gives you fresh juice and heavenly apple pies. The main building at Banjara is excellently kept , takes care of your every need-friendly staff

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp

Address: Vill/ P.O. Batseri, District Kinnaur, Sangla 172106, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Sangla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Sangla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A soft adventure family holiday place in the higher Himalayas. Located on the banks of Baspa river and next to the amazingly beautiful Batseri village, Banjara Camp was pioneer of tourism in this area. Kinnaur, Spiti and Upper Kullu region also have properties from this the company, Banjara Camps & Retreats Pvt Ltd., which runs the camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip so you can book your Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banjara Camp & Retreat - Sangla Valley Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.