We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Orchard Farm and Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sangla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple Orchard Farm and Camping
Save
You added Apple Orchard Farm and Camping to your Saves list
Village Batseri | Sangla, Sangla, India   |  
Hotel amenities
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Homely comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We went to Sangla as a group of 3 friends from Delhi. The last 100 kms. drive beyond Rampur is bone-rattling as road is practically non-existent. But once you reach the camp site all the shudders and judders are forgotten….as it's a beautiful location. Untouched, pristine beauty. Snow capped mountains rising on one side, brown rocky slopes on the other side. The gurgling of Basapa river can be heard in the background, a 10 minute easy walk from the camp, across another camp next door: Banjara. Mr. Negi (Manager/ Owner) and his staff received us warmly and welcomed us with fresh juice from apples of their own orchard. Tents are spacious, comfortable beds and can accommodate 3 adults ( however 2 adults and 1 child may be a better fit). Attached bathroom has running water, geyser and English style toilet…no complaints on that account. Electricity trips very occasionally. Ample secure parking is available. The best part of the camp is the staff…helpful, ever smiling and non-obtrusive service. Food is excellent, great variety and customised to your choice. Do consult locals and go on short and full day treks around. Recreational facilities for children may be lacking….can be worked on. Otherwise, excellent value for money. We stayed 4 nights….came back happy and without a complaint.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We went to Sangla for a marathon in May 2013 along with lots of friends and family. We were a total of 9 people with 4 kids and what a trip it was!! The hospitality at Apple Orchard Farm and camping is simply amazing. The adults and kids settled in very quickly and the food was fresh and excellent. The cook, Mr. Vijayendra and all the staff were most helpful and courteous. There was a landslide the day before we were scheduled to reach. Mr. Vijayendra and his team met us and help carry the children and luggage with such ease that it didnt seem like a hindrance to our holiday plans. The marathon runners were also helped with food (and the right kind) to help with the pre-race preparations. The scenery were most wonderful with picture perfect views right out the window as you wake up. All in all, a most memorable trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnala, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First of all,I am writing this review at the time when cloudbursts have wrecked havoc in Kinnaur. We were lucky to return just a day before it all happened. I pray for all the affected and dead- locals as well as tourists. May God be with them.
To reach this camp you have to negotiate wildly winding unmetalled road from Karcham(which is very very exciting for bikers like me). On reaching Sangla,just ask for Banjara camps which is adjacent to Apple orchard; around 7 kms from main town. They haven't put many signboards for directions.
Well the camp is very beautiful, located just adjacent to river Baspa and you can hear the wild river gushing in your tents. This not a very costly camp unlike its neighbours (infact much cheaper than others), so the caretakers here are not professionals from hospitality industry. Instead they are locals, the ever smiling and ready- to-serve-you locals; they are very simple and down to earth crew. So sometimes you have to ask for your needs. On our arrival they didn't serve us non veg in dinner. But just as we asked them, it was a feast of chicken for the rest of our stay-be it breakfast, lunch or dinner. One must try item is their local apple juice with its unlimited supply. We gulped down probably a gallon n a half during our stay. Sensing our extreme love for their juice they gave us a few bottles for our return journey too.
Just as I told earlier, ask them for directions to the river and must spend a noon there. Its complete wilderness with Baspa's icy cold water flowing like madness. We packed some light snacks n tea for our little picnic by the banks of the river and it was one of the most peaceful yet exciting afternoons of my life.
As far as accommodation is concerned, the swiss tents here are very good with clean and hygienic washrooms attached. But this place tends to be very quiet and lonely(boring hence) sometimes, so I'll recommend it only to a group of minimum four persons.
And when there's a bunch of friends then Apple Camps is the best place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a wonderful two day vacation in this scenically spectacular apple orchard surrounded by the snow capped Himalayas. It was our first experience of living in tents and it was very comfortable.The tents were large with clean linen and a western style toilet including a geyser for a hot bath.It was a very pleasant experience to be lulled to sleep by the sound of the mighty Baspa roaring accompanied by the gurgling brooks that flow through this property. Mr Negi and his team run a very efficient camp where they provide home cooked food and willingly pack a picnic basket for excursions to Chitkul and Raksham two nearby villages. Mr Negi Is a font of local information and is ever ready to help you plan your day. The apple trees were laden with fruit but sadly they were much too small and green to enjoy just yet.
The nearby Batseri village is a lovely walk over the bridge and the villagers are very friendly and eager to practice their English conversation. Their recently reconstructed fully carved typical Himachali wooden temple is a symbol for modern India as it bears images of the gods of a variety of religions from Hinduism to Christianity. Moreover it also carries sculptures from the Kamasutra which depicts "social life" as one of the elders told us. Amazingly broadminded villagers!

Room Tip: All the tents are the same - set in the apple orchard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Reaching Sangla little exhausted due to bad road and long drive but after checking in Apple Orchard Farm and Camping we saw the nature's beauty all around.
Tents were nice, clean and spacious with latest bath fittings. Food was one of our great experience; we all like it especially my parents. My kids enjoyed a lot especially local Apple Juice.
Mr. Negi and his staff are very friendly and always eager to help. They are providing the best with limited staff.
This camp is paradise for nature lovers. Over all it was a great experience camping in middle of apple trees garden…!!! Thank you all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I travelled to Apple Orchard Camp and Farming along with my family and close relatives in mid June 2013. We were a group of 4 adults and 3 children. The camps were excellent set amidst apple orchard. They were quite spacious and had all amenities including running hot and cold water. The carpeted floor, beds and linens were clean. View from the camp is very good. The best part of the camp is the food. It is like homemade delicious food. Hats off to the cook. Over and above, the hospitality rendered by the owner, Mr. Negi is unparalleled and out of the world. The kids enjoyed the ambience and the surrounding. However, as a feedback, would request the owner to make a playground with some amenities for the kids without disturbing the natural surrounding of the place. Overall it was an excellent experience and value for money.

Room Tip: Any tent/camp is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Though the owner Viju Negi is sincere and eager to help there is so much that he can do with extremely limited staff. The tents are comfortable and the bathrooms are clean. There are geysers in the bathrooms for warm water. I went with my my wife, my five year old son and one year old son and did not face problems. The staff are not as enthusiastic as negi. The food is average and utensils can be cleaner. Everyone has to have their meals in the dining tent and if u r late u might miss out on on the dessert or one of the dishes so be there for meals on time. The vehicle parking space is totally monopolized by the contiguous resort , the better known "Banjara" so you will have to park your vehicles slightly away from the resort on the village road. If you are going with your driver he would have to sleep in the car but blankets are provided by the resort.
Now for the good part. The view is amazing. Snow clad mountains seem very close and look lovely. the river is a walking distance away where children can have lots of fun. your tents are right in the middle of the apple orchard and if you are there in aug sept u might get to eat them right off the tree.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Orchard Farm and Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Orchard Farm and Camping

Address: Village Batseri | Sangla, Sangla, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Sangla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Sangla
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Orchard Farm and Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.