We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Orchard Farm and Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sangla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple Orchard Farm and Camping
Village Batseri | Sangla, Sangla, India   |  
Hotel amenities
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Though the owner Viju Negi is sincere and eager to help there is so much that he can do with extremely limited staff. The tents are comfortable and the bathrooms are clean. There are geysers in the bathrooms for warm water. I went with my my wife, my five year old son and one year old son and did not face problems. The staff are not as enthusiastic as negi. The food is average and utensils can be cleaner. Everyone has to have their meals in the dining tent and if u r late u might miss out on on the dessert or one of the dishes so be there for meals on time. The vehicle parking space is totally monopolized by the contiguous resort , the better known "Banjara" so you will have to park your vehicles slightly away from the resort on the village road. If you are going with your driver he would have to sleep in the car but blankets are provided by the resort.
Now for the good part. The view is amazing. Snow clad mountains seem very close and look lovely. the river is a walking distance away where children can have lots of fun. your tents are right in the middle of the apple orchard and if you are there in aug sept u might get to eat them right off the tree.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed two nights at camp. Near by Sangla we have major land slide (block in local term). So we need to leave our vehicles near Block. AOFC people come to pickup our luggage and us. We have to do trek for 500 mt. with kids. But camp people helped us to arrange vehicles to visit to camp and next two days going to near by places (off course paying extra cost).

The location of hotel is excellent. Food is ok. Apple fruit juice is very good. Service was ok. Cost of Bon Fire is Rs 500, which we thought bit extra as cold places like this needs camp fire all the time.

The places near by is too good. Rakcham Village, Batseri Village, Chitkul Village - Indo-Tibetan border, Sangla are nice.

Camp site is clean and nice. Owner Mr. Neggi is very co-operative and helpful.

Must visit place. Food quality is ok.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

When we visited Sangla, we wanted a place far from the main town, where we can enjoy the serenity of Himalaya. Apple Orchard Farm and Camping provided us the exact feeling that we were searching for! The whole range were just in front of the camp and as it is located in the valley the view got even more magnified and thus, mesmerizing. One can hear the Baspa roaring just by the side of the camp. The beautiful Batseri, the village on the other side of the river, is just a few steps away from the camp. If you follow the path in the village you can actually reach the foot of the mountain from where the jungle starts! On top of these, the hospitality and the food that one can get there is amazing. Mr. Negi, the owner, is a very hard-working and friendly person; as well as the other people who work there. They have some wonderful cook who can provide any kind of food in a very short notice. Overall, the days that we spent there (me and my husband) are one of the most memorable days of our lives.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went to apple orchard camp in october 2012. it hadnt started snowing yet but the nights where cold and in the mornings there where frost on the ground. Jai (the owner) was VERY friendly and accommodating and always tried to help with whatever questions you had for him. it was quite and experience sleeping in tents when the night temperatures went bellow freezing, but they provided plenty of blankets as well as heatingbottles that you filled up with hot water and kept under your blankets so it wasnt a problem at all! the surrounding nature is amazing up there and we hardly saw any other foreign tourists(which we like), even tho there where a hotel or two in the small villages. the daytrekks you can do from the camp was amazing. i only have two negative things to say about our stay there. the first is that there is a military outpost further down the valley towards china that wont let you trekk past it. its really a shame because the valley looks absolutely stunning further down. it is however possible to bypass the outpost by doing a little climb over a nearby hill. we did but its at your own risk since the boarderpatrols will most likely not be too happy with you if they catch you. and the other thing was the price Jai took for arranging the taxifare back to shimla. he charged more then twice what we payed for going from Shimla. so your probably best off if you can arrange the taxi back to shimla on your own. other then that its a lovely place located at the bottom of a valley in a small apple orchard as the name suggests ^^ and if you come in time for harvest(which we did) you get an unlimited supply of very tasty apples and homemade applejuice(great for those daytrekks). and its also close to a small lovely village that you can walk around in and observer the daily life of the himalayans! Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Me with my cousin went there to participate in a running event.. Stayed in Apple Orchard Farm. The stay was comfortable, neat and clean camps with no electricity and water problem. The owner (Mr. Vijender) is really a helpful person. I remember I fall ill a day before my event, and at night he arranged for the medicine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The location, service & hospitality at AOFC are all 10 on 10. The food, to our surprise, was homely, with less oil & spices, and very delicious as it is freshly prepared. The dedication of Mr Vijender Negi and his staff to cater to the comfort of their guests at all times is highly commendable. After a lot of research I zeroed in on this camp-stay in Sangla because of its location (next to Banjara Camps & by the river!) and it's afforbability.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patiala, India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Mr. Vijender, the owner of the Apple Orchard Farm is a man who will go to any extent to make your stay comfortable. The local cooks are amazing and the food they dish out will leave you licking your fingers. This is the most value for money stay to be had, add to it, t he convienience of being able to walk down to the Baspa river and amazing views of the majestic Kinner Kailash Mountains. Get a big memory card for your camera, and please be responsible about plastic disposal when in this absolutely godly country.We would like our kids to see it the way we have !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apple Orchard Farm and Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Orchard Farm and Camping

Address: Village Batseri | Sangla, Sangla, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Sangla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty lodging in Sangla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Orchard Farm and Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Apple Orchard Farm and Camping to your Saves list