We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pool and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Horsefair, Boroughbridge YO51 9LB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boroughbridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Good pool and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

The Crown is a fine old inn once at the heart of the stage coach service from London to Edinburgh. Rest assured that the town has been bypassed twice so there is no through traffic now. The Crown has been modernised and updated and has a pool and a secure car park under pass code control. The small town of Boroughbridge is almost untouched by national chains and brands and there is a full range of local shops.

We chose a particularly quiet week, so there were relatively few people staying and the rates were good. However the conference rooms were busy. The location near the A1(M) makes this a good place for a conference.

The pool is excellent, about 20 metres by 10 so there is room for 4 to swim abreast. The Gym is busy between 4 to 6 pm with local members but at many times the Leisure Club is quiet.

There are 2 lounges downstairs as well as 2 bars.

Any problems we had were dealt with speedily.

We ate in the hotel twice, this was fine. We also tried local pubs, the Crown at Roecliffe was good and the Olde Punchbowl at Marton cum Grafton was OK. Both had a good pub atmosphere.

Away from the hotel we found plenty of places to visit within 15 miles such Fountains Abbey, Pately Bridge, Brimham Rocks and the Royal Horticultural Society Gardens at Harlow Carr. There are several horse race courses within easy distance. Our big trip out was to Whitby which was well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    130
    51
    20
    2
See reviews for
59
198
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

Having been stuck in a traffic jam on the M1 for 2 hours, I had telephoned in advance and - having ascertained that the restaurant would be closed by the time I arrived - had ordered a sandwich to be left for my arrival.

Check in was quick and the staff very friendly. I also appreciated the gated car park, confident that my car would be safe for the night, although that said, Bororoughbridge is hardly a hotbed of activity on a Thursday night in November. My double room was rather on the small side, but well kitted out and beautifully clean. Everything that was supposed to work did.

Having had a quick spruce up I went down to the by then deserted bar area for a beer and my sandwich. This consisted on two slices of mass produced sliced bread and a chicken and bacon "mix" that one buys from any supermarket. A great shame, which indicates a strong lack of imagination in the kitchen.

Had a great nights sleep, the bed being very comfortable and my room blissfully quiet. Breakfast the next morning was nothing to get excited about.

This is a good place for road warriors like me - only five minutes from J48 of the A1M and would, I am sure be a great base from which to tour. Although not tried, the pool looked very inviting and would be of great appeal to families. I guess I would probably have enjoyed my stay if a little bit more had been going on - there were only half a dozen or so people staying - but hey, you can't win 'em all.

  • Liked — The very comforatbale bed
  • Disliked — The food was not particularly good
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

Having been disappointed by the hotel we originally booked, we called the Crown at short notice to book an executive double room. On arrival we were upgraded to a four poster superior room, which was a nice gesture.

We were impressed by the large, gated car park and the friendly staff. We didn't use the pool or gym, but they looked good. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, as was the bar downstairs. There was a fair amount of traffic noise in our road-facing room, but it didn't really bother us. There are plenty of other rooms at the back of the hotel if you prefer to be quiet. The Crown has large conference rooms and we suspect it could get very busy for weddings, etc, but as the conference areas are to the side of the hotel they shouldn't interfere with the main areas.

We took breakfast and dinner for two nights. The menu choice was excellent and the food nicely presented. We suspect that most of the Crown's guests are there for corporate or family functions, as there were plenty of cars in the car park but very few people taking breakfast or dinner in the main restaurant. We had it to ourselves after 9:30 pm on both evenings! A bit of a shame, as the bar and restaurant are nicely decorated and could just do with a few more people to liven things up.

The location is good for a touring holiday in Yorkshire, being a 5 minute drive from the A1 and between the Moors and Dales.

  • Liked — Secure car park and spacious room
  • Disliked — Guests outnumbered by the staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat early if you don't want to be the last to leave
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

Just spent a saturday night 17th June with my husband at this old coaching inn . Stayed DBB in a standard double, very clean & comfy, not very big, but other rooms available. Asked the receptionist for a bedroom fan, she kindly gave us the office fan as it was the last one!! (very hot & humid)
Spent a wonderful time in the pool & jaccuzzi, very smart pool area. Bar is cosy, bar staff really nice & evening meal excellent. Stayed as a family 4 years ago in a huge family room, had a great time then.
Car park locked, very secure, Boroughbridge is very pretty for a quiet break.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2006

After searching for many hours for somewhere for an impromptu stopover we happened upon this little gem. Despite being part of a franchise (Best Western) - it had a good deal of charm, with great staff.

Don't know that this is the place for a week's holiday but if you're looking for a stop over for 1 or 2 nights - or just want to escape the world for a night - this is a great place.

Food is ok - not amazing - but good enough. Breakfast was very good though.

Very clean, very comfortable, quiet and relaxing and all in all great value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2005

Stayed at the Crown Hotel in September 2005 for one night and don't think I'll be staying there again.

My wife and two friends went to the hotel early on the Saturday afternoon to use the leisure facilities (pool, sauna, jacuzzi etc) and said that they were good and thats where it stopped.

The hotel is very dated and has teh feeling of an old peoples home rather than a hotel. The room was cleanish, but there were a few holes in the bed linen that were hidden and also you could see where the damp was penetraing through the wallpapaer in some areas as well as on the roof.

We all arrived back from the wedding we attended at around 10:15pm and went to the bar area to get a night cap but it was locked up, checked with reception to see if we could ge a drink or a snack and was told the bar wasn't open tonight as the hotel was only ¼ full and we could have some peanuts if we wanted a snack, top service!!

Basically only the leaisure facilites stopped me from giving this 1/5 and I would never stay there again

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel

Address: Horsefair, Boroughbridge YO51 9LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Boroughbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boroughbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking a hotel in North Yorkshire, this 37 bedroom hotel has excellent accommodation, conference facilities and a large private car park. Leisure centre with indoor swimming pool, steam room, sauna, gym and sun-shower. York only 17 miles, Harrogate 10 miles, Leeds 28 miles. Easy access from junction 48 A1(M) makes the Crown Hotel Boroughbridge an ideal stay over for journeys between Scotland and the South, a great location for weekend breaks, holidays in Yorkshire with York, Harrogate, the Yorkshire Dales and other Yorkshire tourism attractions nearby plus a meetings and conference venue for training courses, business meetings, functions and events for up to 150 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Boroughbridge
Best Western North Yorkshire
North Yorkshire Best Western
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel Boroughbridge, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.