We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Horsefair, Boroughbridge YO51 9LB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boroughbridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here on a two day midweek break with a Travel Zoo deal.(13/14th August). Parking was secure and gated with the entrance to the hotel side. Our room although small was comfortable and with the bathroom clean, but slightly dated. The lack of a glass for water and cups in our room (mugs provided and plastic beakers) was a let down. The food was most satisfying and we both enjoyed the bellypork , but the menu choice was somewhat limited at dinner. The staff were friendly in the main, with Tony being particularly friendly and helpful, but reception seemed rather otherwise occupied whenever we sought information. The restaurant and lounge areas were comfortable and the pool looked good even though we didn't use it. On checking out we were promised a same day follow up phone call on a query we had regarding Best Western reward points, but this was not forthcoming. (quite disappointing).

Room Tip: We were away from the front of the hotel, which meant we only had a view over the flat roof, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    130
    51
    20
    2
See reviews for
59
198
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Foulden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The bedroom was pleasant and comfortable, with tea making facilities and biscuits. The option of green tea bags would have been good.
Staff all very pleasant and helpful.
The food was excellent and both food and plates piping hot. But the service was slow and staff were not observant of guests' needs.
Plenty of secure parking.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at this Hotel for our 25th Wedding Anniversary Its a 17th Century Coaching Hotel, From start to finish the Staff were so helpful and Friendly especially in the Restaurant,The food was always hot and very tasty served on piping hot plates .Room was large and airy. Would highly recommend and given the chance we will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I reckon this is the third time I have stayed at the Crown and again no problems! Very friendly staff, from checking in, ordering a drink at the bar, dining and finally checking out, all staff first class, helpful and good fun.
Room was nice, everything I need to make my stay perfect. I will return! Thanks to all staff.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spent a night here on route to the Scottish Borders, as its only a short detour from the A1. The receptionist was really friendly, the room and four poster bed lovely. It looses points for me as the food in the restaurant was OK but nothing special and our room, which was at the front of the hotel suffered from traffic noise throughout the night. All said and done though, I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a lovely break at the Crown. The location is wonderful in the old market town of Boroughbridge. We are keen walkers and the River Ure circular trail starts within meters of the hotel. There is lots to do in the town and beyond.There is a Roman town nearby and ancient monoliths " Devils Arrows". It is also easy to get to York, Harrogate, Ripon et al as it is so close to the A1.

The hotel is lovely. It is a beautifully maintained coaching inn with loads of character. The hotel has a first class gym and swimming pool which we made the most of.

We booked a Travelzoo deal and paid a little extra for an Executive room. Our room was large with a huge four poster and ensuite bathroom with huge tub. The food both at dinner and breakfast was very good indeed but what makes this hotel truly special are the staff. Every single member of staff we met from the receptionist to the leisure centre staff are a credit to the hotel.

We had excellent Internet connection much better than in other hotels we stayed in this holiday. A lovely hotel, nice staff, good food, great location....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, Cumbria
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The internet connex seems a bone of contention here (what did we do in the 1980s?). Having worked with computers since 1985, I was glad to see the back of these for 2 days. Now I know some people do rely on wifi whilst here, reps, businessmen etc. But as we were on our 35th wedding aniversary, computers were the last thing on my mind!
The food was of the highest quality, as was the service! One of the best gyms I have used, and i've used a few here and abroad. Looked a lovely pool too, though I did not use it. THe bedroom was very comfortable too with all that you could ever need.
The manager and her staff were really nice and even though we were only these 2 days, it felt like we had known them for ages. We would certainly return if anf when the opportunity ever presens it's self in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel

Address: Horsefair, Boroughbridge YO51 9LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Boroughbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boroughbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking a hotel in North Yorkshire, this 37 bedroom hotel has excellent accommodation, conference facilities and a large private car park. Leisure centre with indoor swimming pool, steam room, sauna, gym and sun-shower. York only 17 miles, Harrogate 10 miles, Leeds 28 miles. Easy access from junction 48 A1(M) makes the Crown Hotel Boroughbridge an ideal stay over for journeys between Scotland and the South, a great location for weekend breaks, holidays in Yorkshire with York, Harrogate, the Yorkshire Dales and other Yorkshire tourism attractions nearby plus a meetings and conference venue for training courses, business meetings, functions and events for up to 150 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Boroughbridge
Best Western North Yorkshire
North Yorkshire Best Western
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel Boroughbridge, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.