We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They went that Extra Mile!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Horsefair, Boroughbridge YO51 9LB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Boroughbridge
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“They went that Extra Mile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I held my 60th birthday party here, Our private room we was fantastic, the food superb and Emma and her staff went out of their way to make our family party a success and memorable day. I can't praise them enough. Nothing was any trouble to them. They felt me feel like a VIP on arrival and throughout the afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    87
    29
    20
    2
See reviews for
43
135
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baxenden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Myself and my husband recently stayed here for 2 nights. We found the meals in the restaurant to be of a very low standard, the menu looks very good but found out that the staff in the kitchen can not cope with some of the meals on the menu. It would be better if they produced a pub style menu instead of trying to create meals beyound their capabilities. The breakfast on the first morning was very poor as some items were obviously heated up and not fresh. On the secound morning the kitchen had no electric so we could only have microwaved scambled egg on one slice of toast. We had evening meal on both nights and found it to be very bland and tasteless any meat served was overcooked. My husband notified the reception staff that there was no soap in the gents and the receptionist just laughed and said it would be sorted out in the morning when the housekeeping staff came in. The staff in both the reception and restaurant were more interested in playing about and having a laugh than taking care of the needs of clients. I would never stay here again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
It was regrettable that at none of the courtesy checks made to your table at dinner on both evenings you felt able to mention that dinner was not to your liking, we would have happily brought you something else. The menu has been tested by all the Chefs’ and I am really disappointed that you felt it was not up to standard. To survive in a customer led industry good staff must have the right balance of training, professionalism and good humour, if the balance was unsuitable I am sorry and we will of course do our best to put this right for future guests. Thank for taking the time to post your review I thoroughly appreciate your feedback
Emma Lee / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for a short break for my 30th - me my husband and our 2 friends. We made full use of the spa facilities, which were small but very clean and modern. The rooms were spacious, and very clean. The main highlight was the staff - very nice and efficient. The breakfast was very good too - all in all a lovely place to stay if wanting to be near york - but away from the city centre

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My best friend booked an evening function - after her wedding at a local hotel to carry on the fun. Well that stopped as soon as we arrived. A side room was booked and the pub was pretty empty so they should have been glad of the custom at the bar and made us feel welcome. Sadly we asked for music - only a group of 25 of us largely older people we weren't going to raise the roof but management were very unhelpful and finally allowed us a cd player but came in at one point to turn down. Bacon sandwiches were provided - no other food so I can't judge that but the welcome was terrible.Bride and groom ended up wishing they had stayed at the room at the Crown at Roecliffe where the service was amazing but the bar area is a little limited... I hope they don't treat all their guests that way but sadly a friend stayed over with his partner and had an arguement about going into the pool after the allowed time. Go for a boutique hotel I would say as this place is tied down by Great Western rules.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
It was with genuine sadness that I read your comments on your friend’s evening wedding reception. Please accept my sincere apology if anyone here came across less than helpful. Having spoken to the Bride only yesterday I am once again confident that she and her husband were more than satisfied and indeed had a very happy and memorable evening. We have privately discussed one small aspect of the evening that she brought to my attention and as far as we are both concerned that matter is resolved.
The hotel has had the pleasure of receiving some fabulous comments on all aspects of the services we offer and I truly hope that anyone reading this will know that your review was read and acted upon.
Emma Lee / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk north yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed her for a week now following a flooded house, the staff have been absolutely brilliant helping us out and making our stay so nice. The manager is fab and has looked after us so well. We had the tripple room over the leisure centre, it is a warm room and the fans next door can be a little noisy but it is a nice spacious room. The internet access is fast and free what more can you ask!!!!! The restaurant is lovely, food is reasonably priced and very good quality, the bar it good and the local beer is well kept top quality. Breakfast is very very good, a wide range of things to choose from and lots of fresh cooked to order items rather than your usual tepid buffet............
The free leisure centre is lovely, not massive but very clean and tidy and well looked after, not every country hotel has a pool, hot tub, steam room, sauna and gym!!! And again for guests its totally free :-)
All the staff have been friendly and helpful a warm welcoming atmosphere with people who now feel like friends after our week stay.
I would recommend this hotel for a great local Yorkshire base with, really easy access to the A1M and A19 meaning you can see the surrounding areas very easily.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed here. This time I made full use of the pool and steam room.
Still didn't eat dinner here though, made use of local chippy and indian takeaway instead.
Reception was helpful and ample parking as always. Make sure you take the exit code with you though when you want to leave the car park.

Room Tip: Room 80, is directly above the steam room. This room was so hot and steamy during the day, you can f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at The Crown as a base for a weekend visiting Yorkshire. Hotel is well placed. We visited Leeds, York & Scarborough. Room was large and clean. Dinner menu was varied and beautifully cooked and presented. All hotel staff were outstandingly helpful and friendly especially Emma ( duty manager). The pool and sauna area was great. A nice addition to a small hotel.

When we stayed, there was flooding in the locality caused by very heavy rainfall. Staff went out of their way to ensure all residents were aware of the local conditions and checked travel plans giving advice where required.

Overall a very pleasant stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel

Address: Horsefair, Boroughbridge YO51 9LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Boroughbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Boroughbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking a hotel in North Yorkshire, this 37 bedroom hotel has excellent accommodation, conference facilities and a large private car park. Leisure centre with indoor swimming pool, steam room, sauna, gym and sun-shower. York only 17 miles, Harrogate 10 miles, Leeds 28 miles. Easy access from junction 48 A1(M) makes the Crown Hotel Boroughbridge an ideal stay over for journeys between Scotland and the South, a great location for weekend breaks, holidays in Yorkshire with York, Harrogate, the Yorkshire Dales and other Yorkshire tourism attractions nearby plus a meetings and conference venue for training courses, business meetings, functions and events for up to 150 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Boroughbridge
Best Western North Yorkshire
North Yorkshire Best Western
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel Boroughbridge, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.