We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit to the dog at studley” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Dog

The Dog
Henley Road | Mappleborough Green, Studley B80 7DR, England
+(44)0152 785 2230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 18 restaurants in Studley
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: British, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At The Dog Harvester in Studley food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Studley, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Ipsley, Ullenhall and Winyates, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“visit to the dog at studley”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

slow service salard trolly half empty very small over cooked food portions no white bread rolls brown ones like eating rocks

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Dog, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Dog Harvester . We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

34% Recommend
    1
    11
    3
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muscat
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Seated quickly and food very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Drinks served very quickly and the food arrived quite quickly also. Food very nice try out the Apple Tart.
Ample parking with outdoor seating area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Dog, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Dog Studley. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Worst steak ever!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our friends and family decided to go to the dog restaurant this friday, me and my partner both ordered the "A perfect cut...12oz Rump Steak" and they were far from perfect both our steaks were so fatty that i ended up leaving most of the steak as it was inedible. On the plus side the kit kat sunday was fab. They staff were helpful and friendly. Just was let down on the main course. Expected more from a Harvester.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Dog, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback following your recent disappointing meal at our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a good meal here on a saturday evening. Food on the salad bar was fresh and often replenished. My steak was well cooked and the chips were nice. My husband enjoyed his duo of lamb.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Dog, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Good Middle-of-the-road meal in pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have eaten at The Dog several times over the years, the last time being in May 2013. It is definitely a family place but when we've been there the many children have been pretty well behaved.

The food is standard fare for these establishments, and certainly not a gastronomic experience, that said, we have never had a bad meal, and I usually have the fish, which I find is very good value and well prepared.

I do agree that the service is slow. The staff are cheerful and hard working, but there just aren't enough of them. I would not recommend The Dog as a place to stop for a quick meal, but so long as you are in no hurry, it is pretty good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Dog, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to our Restaurant.
Regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog also viewed

Belbroughton, Worcestershire
Studley, Warwickshire
 
Studley, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.