We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airco still doesn't function” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ashford North A20

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maidstone Road, Hothfield TN26 1AR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hothfield
Den Bosch
1 review
“Airco still doesn't function”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

First read review 16 June; we experienced last night (july 31/aug 1) that the airco also did not function. Is it a structural problem? The comment of the staff: sorry, but we have no alternative for you. HI Ashford sells you a room with AC, and when you arrive it does not function, and they do not offer an alternative. Only offer is a lot of noise of the motorway! I especially booked this hotel because of the AC. Next time travelodge?

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Airco did not function
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    107
    33
    16
    5
See reviews for
67
109
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
482 helpful votes 482 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

While no one could conceivably chose to stay here for pleasure, this bog-standard chain motel offers clean, functional rooms at a bargain price - we paid £64 for one night’s B&B, except that we couldn’t take breakfast as on Sundays they don’t start serving it until 7.30am, by which time we were on the train to France. The drawback to the hotel is also its advantage - while being close to the M20 motorway and only 15 minutes from the Eurotunnel terminal, it does suffer from terrible traffic noise that prevented us from sleeping properly because the air-con wasn't working so we had to have our window open. As far as we could tell, most guests were Germans on coach tours.

  • Liked — Close to M20
  • Disliked — Traffic noise!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

We booked this hotel for a night stop-over on our way down to the South of France.
I used the Holiday Inn Website, and chose this hotel based on the trip advisor reviews.
Our party had three rooms in total, one of which was a family room.
There was plenty of parking, and the hotel was easy to find.
Our rooms were furnished well, and we were impressed with the decor. The family room was great, with a double for the parents, and two singles, in there own section of the room, which was ideal.
Breakfast was fantastic. Service was quick, and the staff worked really hard. The breakfast was buffet style, and we paid £5 extra each (in with our room rate), which i thought was great value. The food was piping hot and there was sausage, bacon, black pudding, scrambled egg, tomatoes, mushrooms, and a large selection of continental style breakfast items.

Overall we were all very impressed. It isn't the cheapest hotel in Ashford, but i think its worth spending the extra bit, for the quality you get at this hotel.
I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

I booked this hotel on the Priority Club (free Intercontinental Hotel membership service) website, for a modest £54 room rate (2 adults).

The location is fantastic - close enough to links for Canterbury/Faversham/Ashford/M20, but far enough away to enjoy the beautiful Kent countryside.

As I'd booked through Priority Club, the check in process was quick and easy. I just had to find my envelope (with dining discounts & room key) at the alloted desk, sign, and we were away. All the room preferences I'd stated when booking had been actioned (high floor/back of the hotel/away from the road).

The room we were given was dead opposite the "mini gym", and ice & vending machines were within a 10 second walk - everything you could ever need for a perfect stopover! The real draw was the furnishings in the room - considering I paid the same as you would expect for a Travel Inn / Travelodge, you got so much more - A double bed (with choice of 4 pillow types), hairdryer, desk & comfy chair, TV, sitting area and climate control that works without a preset interference! The room was also very clean throughout!

Unfortunately there were some negatives. The single biggest problem was the bath/shower. The water kept fluctuating from warm to stone cold, the pressure was up & down, and the shower curtain kept sticking to me as I showered.

The other minor inconvienience was the fire alarm bell sounding at 6:30am. As it was quickly turned off (after waking me and my partner), and being put through this in a few hotels before, we assumed it was a false alarm. We were not telephoned and there was no P.A. either way.

We didn't use the Hop Picker pub or the in-room hotel menu (although the hotel menu looked very reasonably priced - especially so with the dining discount), so can't comment on this.

Check out was just as painless - dropping the key off to the receptionist and then going straight on our way. The free parking spaces were ample and the location seems quite secure.

Overall it's a brilliant hotel with very helpful staff, and I would definately stay there again - an open window and listening to the birds singing in the morning is such a beautiful rarity these days!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2007

we stayed here on the way to eurodisney. We had a family room which was great, clean, big, loads of space for my very hyper children. The breakfast was soooooo good and I was able to cater for my allery son. I would stay here for a mini break infact my room in disney was a bit of a downer comparied to the Holiday Inn family room.

  • Liked — the space and breakfast
  • Disliked — metal windows a bit drafty
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

Just stayed at this Holiday Inn again - and once again very pleased with the hotel. Nice room, friendly and helpful staff - and even the breakfast had improved! No hesitation in recommending this hotel and would definitely stay there again

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoose, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

I booked this room on the holiday inn web site which is easy to use and efficient. It gives you the option to join there priority club which i would recommend you do. This gives you priority check in and usually a free drink voucher or money off coupon for there restuarant.

The rooms in the hotel were huge. Ours was a family room which had two big double beds. No pull out uncomfortable sofa bed in sight.

We ate first in the restuarant across the car park which was affiliated with the hotel so you can out your bill onto your room bill which was handy. The food was nice, but not cheap. We are all vegetarians but they kindly jiggled the menu around to suit our diets which was very helpful.

The bar in the hotel was nice and relaxed and family friendly.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay and such a bargain booking on the internet.

  • Liked — Staff, size of the rooms and the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Ashford North A20? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ashford North A20

Address: Maidstone Road, Hothfield TN26 1AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hothfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hothfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the charming rural surroundings of the Holiday Inn Ashford-North A20 hotel, with easy access to Ashford's Eurostar train terminal.A country setting and family-friendly atmosphere make Holiday Inn Ashford-North A20 a peaceful home from home. Your Guest room overlooks rolling countryside and it's just 10 minutes' drive to the Eurostar terminal at Ashford ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ashford North a20 Hotel Hothfield
Holiday Inn Hothfield
Hothfield Holiday Inn
Ashford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 Kent, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.