We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view - even better service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cormorant Bay Cafe

Cormorant Bay Cafe
Brisbane Valley Highway, Fernvale, Queensland, Australia
(07) 5426 7305
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Fernvale
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Spectacular view - even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was lucky enough to come across this gorgeous little cafe 2 weeks ago and am honest when I say that it was one of my best dining experiences. The setting is wonderful with breath taking views and is set with warm modern 'country chic' decor. The cafe is spacious, light and airy and the facilities were nice and clean - but the cherry on the cake was the fabulous service and excuisite food. I went there with my husband and 2 young children and we were very, very well taken care of. The staff were only too happy to cater to my dietary needs and made us feel very welcome by doting on our kids (they even took my 4 year old to see the resident carpet python!). We were there for a late lunch but will be trying for breakfast/brunch there soon. 10 out of 10 Cormorant Bay Cafe, it really was a flawless dining experience and you were well worth the drive. Thanks :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, Owner at Cormorant Bay Cafe, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thankyou very much for your feed-back. We work very hard to make each visit a pleasure. And you are right, the view is always spectacular and ever changing. The dam takes on so many different moods depending on the weather, so everyday is a different view and mood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dodgy business. AVOID!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

There were dozens of flies inside their food display cabinet so decided to just get drinks. It took 20 minutes for them to bring out 2 cans of coke and 2 bottles of water that had already had their seals broken and obviously refilled to the very brim with tap water.

However, this is a nice area to come for a picnic.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landsborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a place to enjoy a breakfast with views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had breakfast at Cormorant Bay Cafe last weekend. It was a beautiful day made all the better with the food and the service. The Views were excellent as well. Well worth the trip out from Brisbane.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect scenery and a great stop-off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wonderful stopping place for families with beautiful natural scenery, fabulous wildlife and great refreshments. Built alongside the lovely Wivenhoe Dam.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant food great service amazing atmosphere got to visit this cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Thanks Deb for your amazing food and service. Will remember to book for Sunday's

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cormorant Bay Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cormorant Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cormorant Bay Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.