We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Former Inn Proprietor of Luxury Virginia Inn Comments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harptree Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Harptree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harptree Court
Save
You added Harptree Court to your Saves list
Whitecross Road, East Harptree BS40 6AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pacific Northwest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Former Inn Proprietor of Luxury Virginia Inn Comments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

It is not just the attention to details that makes a difference between boutique inns and traditional B&B's, but the gracious warmth and hospitality that makes one stand apart and memorable. Such is the reception, the pastoral setting, yet convenient location and the talents and passion of the hosts: Linda and Charles, that make recommending Harptree Court a pleasure. Linda is justifiably proud of what she serves from her gardens and local produce for breakfast. The result got rave reviews even from my adolscent grandchildren. They also enjoyed fierce competitive croquet and rambling the property. The inside of Harptree is a lovely page from all the traditional British home decor magazines that American anglophiles are so particularly fond. It is perfect and I can say that as a former inn proprietor with ten years of experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
183
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for just one night recently and wished it could have been many more. Our room (Pink room) was fabulous - so clean, with lovely individual furnishings, calming décor, comfortable bed and a lovely ensuite (although the age of the house and the vagaries of the plumbing did mean that the bath was preferable to the shower). We especially enjoyed the "love seat" as a great chill out chair in which to drink the bottled water, coffee machine drinks, or many teas that were provided. To be greeted with homemade lemon cake and our choice of tea on arrival was lovely, especially as the weather was good enough to enjoy it outside in the shade of the huge catalpa tree. The breakfast was delicious and served in such a relaxed style, with Sunday papers and a wonderful view of the garden that we lingered far longer than we had planned! Linda and Charles are very welcoming hosts and the house and its setting are superb. Can't wait to have the opportunity to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We recently stayed in the Yurt and we must say how fantastic it was, it exceeded our expectations, wonderful location, friendly owners. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Charles our stay was total bliss. Linda made a wonderful lemon cake which was delightful. We walked around the grounds and the walled garden and our hosts did everything they could to make you feel welcome. We can not wait to return and we highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It was thanks to the accolades given by previous Trip Advisor reviewers that we chose to stay at Harptree Court and we are delighted that we did.
This is a lovely house and garden in a truly tranquil and relaxing setting with excellent hosts.
Our room - Pink - was very spacious with a large and comfortable bed - everything one could want.
We walked the few hundred yards to the village pub - The Waldegrave Arms - one evening where the food, atmosphere and welcome were first class.
Having stayed in half a dozen other Somerset hotels/B&Bs/pubs over the last few years, this is without doubt the one to which we will return.
Couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at Harptree Court in the beautifully tranquil and serene lavender room. A stunning room, traditionally decorated with period furniture and soft furnishings, but still offering the modern luxury of a large contemporary bath room. The owners have thought of absolutely everything, providing guests with an experience that is not easy to find. From the discrete basket of goodies in the bathroom, containing items that you always forget to pack e.g nail file, sewing kit etc to the luxury of having a coffee machine in your room that provides you with freshly brewed coffee at the touch of a button. Despite being spotlessly clean and immaculate, our room still felt homely and relaxing. The owners Linda and Charles are what can only be described as being 'masters at their game' as they create a welcoming and tranquil stay. These people define the term hospitality !
Well what can we say about the breakfast. We started with a bowl of fresh fruit and organic yoghurt. This included some freshly stewed rhubarb from the garden that was still a little warm, sweet and very moorish. We then opted for the traditional English breakfast, which was an array of locally sourced produce, including the most vibrant yellow and flavoursome scrambled eggs ! The toast served with our breakfast was made from wholesome hand cut bread, and a selection of homemade jam ( made by Charles, who was making a fresh batch as we arrived...ohh the aromas ! ) and local Harptree honey.
Harptree Court is the ideal place for a quiet relaxing retreat or as a good base to explore the surrounding Mendips, Bath and Bristol. The grounds of the house provide some wonderful walks and the scenery is truly magnificent. The local pub, The Waldegrave Arms is a stones throw away, and has won awards for its food.
To sum it up, a truely wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Words really can't describe how incredible the Treehouse at Harptree Court is! Charles & Linda gave us a very warm greeting upon our arrival and then led us through the garden to the treehouse...it looks amazing nestled amongst the trees as you approach. There's a big walkway and balcony as you walk up to the doors and once inside we were amazed how beautifully it's furnished...a huge comfortable bed, big copper bath, underfloor heating and a nice kitchen/lounge area. There's a wood burner for the colder months but we were really lucky with the weather and managed to have breakfast on the balcony each morning and picnics on the grass below! If you're looking for a really special place to go, look no further!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My family stayed at Harptree Court for one night in June as a stop-off on a long drive to Cornwall. We could not have chosen a better location. Harptree is a stunning Georgian country house standing in beautifully manicured grounds and gardens. As we were to learn, it was also the setting for the BBC's "Great British Bake-Off" programme. The rooms were nothing short of immaculate, with furnishings of the highest quality and which fitted the period style of the property. Our room was enormous and had its own equally large en-suite bathroom. The bed and bedding were sumptuous and the views over the grounds were spectacular. The pure opulence of the place does not hit you until you arrive. Our hosts were genial and enthusiastic, they personally served us our very generous breakfast in their gorgeous dining room. Cleanliness, attention to detail, friendly, warm - are all ways to describe this terrific place. Try it - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harptree Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harptree Court

Address: Whitecross Road, East Harptree BS40 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > East Harptree
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Harptree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian country house set in own landscaped gardens. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation rated 5 Star with a Gold award in well equipped highly individual rooms with period furniture. All rooms have flowers, current magazines, tea/coffee tray, freeview television. Ideal for romantic escapes, close to Bristol (12 miles), Bristol Airport (9 miles), Bath (15 miles) and Wells (8 miles) and the Mendip Hills are close to hand for you to explore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harptree Court Hotel East Harptree
Harptree Court East Harptree, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harptree Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.