We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location with water views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlton Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Charlton Apartments to your Saves list
Charlton Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   451 - 452 Charlton Esplanade, Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ballina, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location with water views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I booked a week at the Charlton, in one of the two bedroom apartments with beach views for our honeymoon. The onsite management are extremely friendly and helpful. The facilities are excellent, including the site's refreshing pool. The apartment bedroom and living rooms are large and spacious, the kitchen contained everything with needed. Another plus is the site's walking distance to shops, restaurants and taverns.
Looking forward to staying here again soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-Anne D, Front Office Manager at Charlton Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, & we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Prior to making a booking for our group of 9 families, I researched Trip Advisor to find suitable accommodation. I’m happy to report that my research paid off and I was more than happy. Our group travelled and stayed for one week at Hervey Bay for the U12 Rugby League State Championships. From the moment I made my initial enquiries with Dave (the Manager) I was impressed. He went above and beyond to assist us before and during our stay. The apartments are clean and BIG. We had families staying in the 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom apartments and my family stayed in the 3 bedroom penthouse (amazing!). The penthouse is so big that if all of the boys were at the bedroom end, we couldn't hear them in the lounge area. The parents were most impressed with the bar in the penthouse. Dave strategically put our families on one side of the building to avoid the possibility of interrupting other guests. From what I’ve heard, we didn’t! Each apartment had everything you possibly need in a home away from home. The apartments with a view of the bay are a must. There are a lot of trees along the Esplanade, however, their spacing in front of Charlton Apartments doesn't disrupt the view. We all enjoyed sitting on our balconies watching the sun go down. Another bonus is the huge BBQ area directly across the road. Our families had dinner there a couple of nights whilst the boys played footy on the beach. Dave thoughtfully put on a sausage sizzle for all of our children at the local surf club which is just across the road. Everything is so close. There are plenty of cafes and eating areas within walking distance. Another family from our football group who were staying somewhere else decided to stay longer in Hervey Bay and changed their accommodation to Charlton Apartments. That says it all! I would definitely recommend staying at Charlton Apartments.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Manager at Charlton Apartments, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and great review . I must say it was such a pleasure to have your group stay with us here at The Charlton.
The Management and staff here at Charlton Apartments take great pride in our service to our guests and our presentation and cleanliness standards.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Hervey Bay and hope to see you again next year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great location, right on the beach, with the balcony a great place to take breakfast, relax reading a book in the sun, or just watching all the birds in the surrounding trees.
We had an enormous apartment on the second floor, and ended up staying there for four nights. Good kitchen, satellite TV with Fox sports, restaurants within easy walking distance and a choice of supermarkets only a couple of minutes drive away.
The decor and furniture was a bit 1980/90s but nothing too offensive, it was spotlessly clean and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Second floor sea view rooms are huge and have great balconies for chilling out and watching the worl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-Anne D, Manager at Charlton Apartments, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a fantastic review, and were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The outdated furniture has been under review and most has already been replaced.
We have some new furniture, pictures, bed coverings, blinds etc.
We do hope you can come back and stay with us in the future and enjoy the changes that have already been made and watch the changes to come.
Kind Regards
Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just had a couple of nights at Hervey Bay and we were very pleased with the choice to stay at the Charlton Apartments. Great location, right near the Surf Club (make sure you have a drink on their new deck on Saturday afternoon - from 4.30pm) and a short walk to the shops and a good range of eating places.The apartment was well maintained and spacious, with a good sized balcony with the ocean only a stone's throw away.
A great bonus is the friendly welcome of the management team - thanks for your assistance, Dave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Manager at Charlton Apartments, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and great review .
The Surf Club is a great place to have an afternoon beverage and enjoy the view - we are glad you enjoyed you stay and hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We found the location fantastic] with a fantastic pool and undercover car parking.

We selected two rooms, a double suite and a three room suite. The rooms were spacious, clean and with dishwasher, drier etc.My daughter, her husband and baby stayed in the two room suite but we used the three room suite for meals etc, I didn't actually enter the two room suite but my daughter was happy with it.

In the three bedroom we had mum and dad in the en-suite room, master 13 and master 7 in a two bed single room and miss 21 and miss 8 sharing a double bed in the third room, plenty of room for our bags in the room and groceries in the kitchen.

I have given the Apartments a good rating on all criteria but an average on children's activities as it has a pool but no other children's activities on site. However the beach and swings are just across the road with the swimming flags and other facilities a short walk.

We will say at the Charlton next time we venture to Hervey Bay, we all enjoyed the location and suites.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in a three bedroom apartment facing the beach, it was quite with a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were very happy when we arrived at the Charlton Apartmentsas they are directly opposite the beach. What A fantastic view we had. The Apartment was modern and spacious and had everything you need.We were really impressed as the apartment was spotlessly clean.Close by are lots of cafes and restaurants. The onsite manager was friendly and really helpful .
My only grumble is that we couldnt stay longer. My son loved swimming in the pool and I loved sitting on the balcony looking at the fantastic view. Thank you we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Manager at Charlton Apartments, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and great review .
The Management and staff here at Charlton Apartments take great pride in our presentation and cleanliness standards.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Hervey Bay and hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've just had three nights at this property. Well located, friendly management, well appointed apartment - bathrooms and kitchen especially. Spacious lounge/dining area. We chose a garden view room, but still had ocean glimpses! Apartment was airconditioned and had ceiling fans as well - we were there over a very hot weekend. We're looking forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!! We chose a garden view room (cheaper), but the ocean view rooms have grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J, Manager at Charlton Apartments, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and great review .
We are glad you enjoyed you stay and hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlton Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Apartments

Address: 451 - 452 Charlton Esplanade, Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charlton Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlton Apartments offer fully self-contained one, two and three bedroom apartments and a unique spacious penthouse. Featuring open-plan living, large private balconies, en-suites and walk-in robes, second bathrooms, all kitchen amenities and appliances, colour TV with Austar, our apartments are well appointed with quality furnishings and fixtures. This Hervey Bay accommodation is ideal for couples and families alike. Quality 4 star holiday accommodation with resident managers on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Charlton Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton Apartments Hervey Bay/Torquay, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlton Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.