We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delfinos Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Delfinos Bay Resort to your Saves list
Delfinos Bay Resort
383 Esplanade, Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Torquay
Gold Coast, Qld
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great value and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We went to Hervey Bay with friends for a sporting event at Torquay Beach and stayed at Delfino's. Andrew and Dianne are a pleasure, the perfect hosts. I had to ring several times prior to us arriving to change details of the booking and it was done with ease. We arrived late on the Friday night and were greeted warmly after a long trip. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and had all the necessities we needed including washing amchine and dryer which came in very handy with the wet weather and our visits to the beach. The units are clean and the beds comfortable. Ours was a little bit dated in furnishings though friends staying in other rooms were recently refurbished. It was walking distance to restaurants and shops and also a great park for the kids. We were st the front looking over the esplanade/water.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room if you want a bit more modern. Also there is an Irish pub next door, so r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
21
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Delfinos is a great place for families, we have been going there for the last 15 years at Christmas, and for the last 7-8 years it has been a pleasure to meet Dianne and Andrew.

It has the perfect locations, walking distance to restaurants, shops, beach. The rooms are clean, and with all the facilities. I don't understand who has complained about the TV when there are 3 chanels with movies. And who is complaining after one year. While we were at Delfinos some friends stayed at a 5 star hotel in Hervay Bay, and they found a huge roach in their flat... We have never seen one in Delfinos...

We booked our holidays for 2013, as we feel it like home. I agree with "Pamela", you can live there... the perfect place for holidays...

Lyz

Room Tip: The ground floor for families with young children, they can play in a safe envirnoment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I spent a most enjoyable week at Delfino Bay Great rooms that opened wide to the wonderful breeze. I personally could live in the apartment permanently. Andrew and Diane were great hosts and made us feel part of the family. The rooms were spacious, clean and bright and beds were excellent. the pool was great being elderly I was able to get in and out of the pool. It is close to shops and eateries, everything was in walking distance. We were a mixture of friends staying in 2 bedroom apartment and we did not feel we were over crowding each other. I would recommend the Delfino Bay Resort to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently returned from a 5 night stay at Delfinos and I must confess I am slightly perplexed by a previous writer’s bad experience. Our unit was clean, comfortable, on par with what we would expect from 3.5 star holiday rental and equipped with all the things necessary for a pleasant stay.
During our stay this time, there was demolition work taking place to the restaurant at the front but it was not intrusive and wasn’t heard from our rooms. The only affect it had, was that we had to use the rear entrance to the underground car park, instead of driving out via the front of the building for 2 days.
We have now stayed at Delfinos 7 or 8 times (as a couple and with other family members) and regard the managers, Diane and Andrew as friends. They are always extremely professional, courteous, friendly and helpful with advice on how to make the most out of a visit to Hervey Bay.
We can say quite honestly that we have stayed in various styles of rooms there and have not once struck one that we weren’t happy with. With the caveat that it is a holiday resort not a 5 star hotel.
During this last visit we chatted with numerous guests as we passed them in the reception area, and it appears that most had stayed many times before and there seem to be a lot of regulars. Kids seem to be making full use of the pool, table tennis area and videos from reception.

We find Delfinos is located in an ideal spot - walk across the road and you find a beautiful, safe and extremely long beach, great for kids and long walks. Along the extremely long esplanade, there are plenty of coffee shops and shops to explore, tennis courts and water sports hire shops. Worth a trip down to the marina to walk around, eat or book a boat trip.

We will definitely be back when we feel the need to recharge our batteries.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had a little difficulty finding someone at check in but after that a good welcome.

The car parking is under the motel and down a steep (short) driveway. After getting into the secure car park we went up to the room in the lift. It was awkward to get to our room using the luggage trolley so I did not use it when we checked out.

The room though large was a bit of a disappointment as it did not have a microwave and there was no wifi (not even any that could be paid for though there was a chargeable internet PC in reception). There were few channels on the TV.

The room was not made up while we were staying though maybe that is that is usual though we were not aware if that is so.

Room Tip: Be careful if you have heavy luggage that you can get it easily to the room. We had to negotiate a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Basic accommodation, which is all we had planned for. However we have milk and a fridge but no coffee, tea, cups or glasses and just had my worst shower ever with a dribble of water versus it coming gushing out of hand basin tap. Choose a sponge bath instead. Personnel helpful and friendly. Location next to two restaurants and beach across the road. However I would not return because of shower.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I arranged to stay at Delfinos last year over Christmas - and had the worst experience. I found the hotel conditions way below par, and the manager rude and unfriendly.
Having just come back to tripadvisor one year later I see that Delfinos still has plenty of positive reviews, I don't understand why I was the unlucky one...?
To start - we collected the keys from an envelope at the closed hotel reception counter.
On entering the 2 bed apartment we found the unit ridden with ants, and filthy with outdated furniture.
It was absolutely impossible for us to stay there. When we tried to discuss this with the resort manager, all I got was verbal abuse about how I had ruined his christmas day - not thinking how his run-down units and filthy accommodation had ruined ours.
In later correspondence, I tried to resolve the issue of my paying for 2 nights accommodation which I could not think of sleeping in. The manager did not make any amends.
I have been left 300 dollars out of pocket for services that I didn't use all.

Word of advise - stay away from Delfinos.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delfinos Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfinos Bay Resort

Address: 383 Esplanade, Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Hervey Bays best beach is Delfinos Bay Resort. One, two, three bedroom apartments and overnight double and twin rooms. Heated pool 28c all year, Free Box Office Movies, Secure Underground Parking and Games Room. Delfinos Bay Resort - where you're greeted with a smile and you leave with one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Delfinos Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfinos Bay Resort Hervey Bay/Torquay, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delfinos Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.