We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable as always” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delfinos Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Delfinos Bay Resort to your Saves list
Delfinos Bay Resort
383 Esplanade, Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Torquay
Brisbane
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable as always”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently returned from a 5 night stay at Delfinos and I must confess I am slightly perplexed by a previous writer’s bad experience. Our unit was clean, comfortable, on par with what we would expect from 3.5 star holiday rental and equipped with all the things necessary for a pleasant stay.
During our stay this time, there was demolition work taking place to the restaurant at the front but it was not intrusive and wasn’t heard from our rooms. The only affect it had, was that we had to use the rear entrance to the underground car park, instead of driving out via the front of the building for 2 days.
We have now stayed at Delfinos 7 or 8 times (as a couple and with other family members) and regard the managers, Diane and Andrew as friends. They are always extremely professional, courteous, friendly and helpful with advice on how to make the most out of a visit to Hervey Bay.
We can say quite honestly that we have stayed in various styles of rooms there and have not once struck one that we weren’t happy with. With the caveat that it is a holiday resort not a 5 star hotel.
During this last visit we chatted with numerous guests as we passed them in the reception area, and it appears that most had stayed many times before and there seem to be a lot of regulars. Kids seem to be making full use of the pool, table tennis area and videos from reception.

We find Delfinos is located in an ideal spot - walk across the road and you find a beautiful, safe and extremely long beach, great for kids and long walks. Along the extremely long esplanade, there are plenty of coffee shops and shops to explore, tennis courts and water sports hire shops. Worth a trip down to the marina to walk around, eat or book a boat trip.

We will definitely be back when we feel the need to recharge our batteries.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
21
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had a little difficulty finding someone at check in but after that a good welcome.

The car parking is under the motel and down a steep (short) driveway. After getting into the secure car park we went up to the room in the lift. It was awkward to get to our room using the luggage trolley so I did not use it when we checked out.

The room though large was a bit of a disappointment as it did not have a microwave and there was no wifi (not even any that could be paid for though there was a chargeable internet PC in reception). There were few channels on the TV.

The room was not made up while we were staying though maybe that is that is usual though we were not aware if that is so.

Room Tip: Be careful if you have heavy luggage that you can get it easily to the room. We had to negotiate a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Basic accommodation, which is all we had planned for. However we have milk and a fridge but no coffee, tea, cups or glasses and just had my worst shower ever with a dribble of water versus it coming gushing out of hand basin tap. Choose a sponge bath instead. Personnel helpful and friendly. Location next to two restaurants and beach across the road. However I would not return because of shower.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I arranged to stay at Delfinos last year over Christmas - and had the worst experience. I found the hotel conditions way below par, and the manager rude and unfriendly.
Having just come back to tripadvisor one year later I see that Delfinos still has plenty of positive reviews, I don't understand why I was the unlucky one...?
To start - we collected the keys from an envelope at the closed hotel reception counter.
On entering the 2 bed apartment we found the unit ridden with ants, and filthy with outdated furniture.
It was absolutely impossible for us to stay there. When we tried to discuss this with the resort manager, all I got was verbal abuse about how I had ruined his christmas day - not thinking how his run-down units and filthy accommodation had ruined ours.
In later correspondence, I tried to resolve the issue of my paying for 2 nights accommodation which I could not think of sleeping in. The manager did not make any amends.
I have been left 300 dollars out of pocket for services that I didn't use all.

Word of advise - stay away from Delfinos.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofheim am Taunus, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in August 2012 for 4 days before returning to Brisbane to fly back to Germany - we actually extended our stay by 1 day. The hotel is in a perfect location: the beach is just across the street, absolutely no winds due to the bay protection and a lot nicer than close to the harbor. Lots of small restaurants with a lot a local people - a lot more nightlife than around the big hotels at the harbor. Our favorite was the Irish Pub just around the door. This hotel is a family run business. The owners are extremely friendly and very supportive - we could reach them anytime also outside the business hours. We had an apartment with kitchen - big enough for the three of us and in a good condition with a very nice balcony to enjoy the morning sun. Closed underground parking under the hotel available. We really loved this place after all the big hotels we stayed in during our Australia trip!!!!
Nicolas, Monica + Helmut

Room Tip: Great morning sun on the second level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I've been to Delfinos several times now and I can honestly say that I've never had a problem with the staff, the rooms or the location. Considering the price I found the hotel more than reasonable. It truly is a home away from home. For those seeking room service this is not for you, the apartments are self contained and you will need to cook for yourself, but in saying that the facilities are perfect for that. I'll say it again, it is a self contained apartment which is just how I like it, if you stay longer than a week your apartment will get cleaned and all linen and bath towels etc. will be replaced. This is perfect for families or a group of friends. I also can't believe I forgot about the wonderful managers, these people were always friendly to me and I never had a problem with them. For those who have I suggest that they re-examine how they treated the staff, because to me they were the most friendly and polite and genuine managers I've ever met. I'll be going again for years to come...

Room Tip: Bottom floors are ideal for families as they have much larger outdoor areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed one night in a "hotel room" on our way to Brisbane. These rooms are fairly small, a bit smaller than an average hotel/motel room. The room badly needed refurbishing; walls and doors were marked and damaged. The apartments would be larger and could be in better condition, however I didn't view these.
The windows can only open a short way to conform with new OHS regulations (apparently) and the room was fitted with an airconditioner and fan. The airconditioner was quiet but was too large for the small room - we had to manually torn on and off to avoid freezing the room. And the fan was very old and was too noisy for a good sleep.
The managers were very friendly and helpful, but the quality of the accomodation let them down.
Price was $95, I think there would be better motels for this price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delfinos Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfinos Bay Resort

Address: 383 Esplanade, Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Hervey Bays best beach is Delfinos Bay Resort. One, two, three bedroom apartments and overnight double and twin rooms. Heated pool 28c all year, Free Box Office Movies, Secure Underground Parking and Games Room. Delfinos Bay Resort - where you're greeted with a smile and you leave with one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Delfinos Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfinos Bay Resort Hervey Bay/Torquay, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delfinos Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.