We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay there!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay

Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay to your Saves list
Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay
460 Esplanade, Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Freienbach / Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“don't stay there!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We unfortunately booked at this motel while on our way to Hervey Bay from Port Macquarie so quite a long drive. Our GPS did not locate the motel properly so we arrived a little bit after 9 PM.

The owner was not happy at all and - according to Swiss standards ;-) - quite rude stating that we should have given an ETA while booking through internet (booking.com, with an incredible 8.4 score) as this was a policy (could not find any mention of that on booking.com) and that 15 minutes later he would have closed and we would have lost our money. He added even that he had right to his private life. What a warm welcome from an owner ;-)

During my whole trip in Australia (18 days on the East Coast) and with a couple of exceptions only, I was not too impressed by the natural hospitality of Australians. Customer friendliness must be measured against own standards which do not compare well to Asia and North America which I happen to know quite well.

Anyway our so called "Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View" was spacious and had a view on the road between the motel and the ocean and beyond on the ocean through the trees. Noise insulation being extremely light I even regretted the location since I slept in the guest room directly facing the road. The main room was quiet as at the back of the "suite". The kitchen was quite nice and rather spacious and there was a living room too. So plenty of space but not clean at all to say the least. Even the items in the kitchen had obviously not been cleaned properly and most would give you some indication of the meals the previous guests had.

We stayed two nights and moved to the Colonial Lodge which I can only more than warmly recommend. The hosts there are absolutely fantastic (and are one of the few exception I mentioned above) as are the rooms. Even the location is better as just one street away from the Esplanade so very quiet and at the same time so close to the ocean. I am adding a review for the Colonial Lodge but - again - I can only advise to book there instead at the Tower Court Motel as the value for money is simply great at the Colonial Lodge. Not so at the Tower Court Motel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    8
    1
    7
See reviews for
10
13
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The owner of this establishment is rude and unreasonable. We made an internet booking by mistake for a wrong date, rang within 1 hour and a refund was refused. The owner was rude and obnoxious and dismissive. We are lodging a dispute with

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is a two story building opposite the beach in a handy position to shops and restaurants. The decor of our unit was shabby and not particularly welcoming. It was clean looking although we felt the need to wash anything we took out of the cupboards to eat off and cook with. The bathroom was roomy and good hot water. the queen bed was in the lounge room and singles in the bedroom. Not a peaceful location as parrots fly in at sun up and are quite noisy. Extra noisy with people walking along the veranda, doors slamming and cars exiting the car park. rates okay for a nights stay for 4 adults but wasn't inviting enough to return in the future. Managers were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We have been staying at Tower Court for over 30 years first discovering it on a trip to Brisbane. The hosts then were wonderful people Bruce and Marilyn Farance and greeted all families with 1/4 fruit cake and a pineapple. They welcomed our children on subsequent visits so warmly that we kept returning all through our lives. Now we usually visit as a couple and the present owners Don and Vicki treat us so well we would go nowhere else in Hervey Bay. On our last visit we asked Don if they allowed pets and were surprised to know that we can bring our dog Hamish so we shall probably visit more often when I retire in a few months time. Our friends stay with us and our grown up children talk very fondly of our holidays there. The beach is just across the road and is wonderful for swimming, the rooms are clean and cool and just sitting on the patio doing nothing is my idea of heaven. Sit on the "seat of knowledge" opposite the motel on the beachfront and experience complete relaxation. "Sybil" Rockhampton

Room Tip: The smaller building facing the beach front has lovely views especially from the upstairs balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Having visited Hervey Bay for many years, my wife & I have always enjoyed the clean, comfortable double ensuited rooms of the Tower Court Motel in Torquay. Lushly landscaped on The Esplanade, opposite safe, uncrowded, pet-friendly, walkable beaches, the Tower Court Motel is both central to restaurants and shops. The owners, Don & Vicki Price have always been extremely agreeable, having consistently catered for our need for pet-friendly accommodation. Recommending the Tower Court Motel to travellers, I can personally guarantee the referral of 5 star service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Often travelling for business, I recently enjoyed the hospitality of the husband & wife operated Tower Court Motel. Value for $$ is what it was.
For $129 (b'fst inc), I enjoyed the privacy of a 2nd storey, balconied, ensuited, dbl. The elevated view also afforded a much appreciated seabreeze during the night.
Clean, comfortable, self-contained amenities made my stay all the more pleasant. Walking distance to restaurants, pubs and clubs, meant dinners were catered for. Available internet connection ensured operational connectivity. More than happy to refer the hospitality of the Tower Court Motel for business purposes.

Room Tip: room 14, elevated views facing water, unobstructed bay breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed at the Tower Court for a long weekend. Invaluable, informative service! Hospitable owners accommodated our group comfortably, ensuring activities abounded. Stunning blue skies highlighted day trips. A/C rooms kept us cool at night. Unanimous decision of value for money.
Centrally located, easy walk to eateries, shops, nightclub, & pubs. Right on esplanade opposite beach. Definately recommendable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay

Address: 460 Esplanade, Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay Torquay, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.