We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an overnight stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur to your Saves list
Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   RD 579 | Avenue le Jumel, 14 600 Equemauville, Honfleur, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Equemauville
Grundisburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good for an overnight stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked 1 night here at short notice to break up the journey from Brittany to Calais. The apartment, whilst looking slightly jaded, was spotlessly clean apart from a couple of stains on the carpet. The sofa bed the boys slept on in the living room was comfortable as was the double bed in the good sized bedroom. TV in room but no English channels are available.Only 10 mins drive to Honfleur, lovely town with great restaurants, well worth a look.All in all, for about £50 for 4 people, this is not a bad place to take a break if you have a long journey across France.One small complaint,you might want to take a can of wd40 with you as a lot of the door hinges are very squeaky.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    57
    66
    49
    30
See reviews for
74
93
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for the night when travelling through France and wanted to visit the beautiful port of Hornfleur! The price we paid to stay here as a family of four was a great deal! Two bedrooms, bathroom and a kitchenette, dining table sofa, tv and balcony! I don't think I could spend a week here, but it was a very short drive from Hornfleur and even though it does deserve 5 stars, I won't complain that it didn't have a corkscrew in the room, everything else made up for it!! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel is good for a one-night stop-over or so. We stayed for two nights and we were getting antsy to get out.

Positives:
-Mini-Kitchen including 2 stovetop burners, sink and medium-sized mini-fridge
-Outdoor pool (not sure if it's heated; it rained when we were travelling)
-Near historic Honfleur; about a 10 minute drive to the attractions, stores and restaurants
-About an 1 1/2 hour ride to U.S.A. Normandy Beaches
-Free parking

Negatives:
-Lots of bugs (spiders and flies mostly)
-No early check-in (they made us wait until 4PM and not a minute earlier - thank goodness we had a car)
-Our room was located in the same building as the reception/pool, but was a little walk from the parking lot
-A few stains on the sheets and overall not as clean as I like it (I didn't want to walk barefoot in this room)
-No Safe in the room

Room Tip: All rooms would be quiet as the property is away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice for one night each time as a stop over night as we traveled from the UK to a holiday in the Southern part of France. The hotel, for us, was clean, no fuss, quick to check in and out and great for the kids to have a swim after a day in the car travelling. The car parking is right outside most rooms and so well placed for easy packing and unpacking of the car. Lovely Honfleur is very close by for eating and the baker a few hundred metres down the road is great for buying provisions for the next day's journey. The price we obtained was outstanding value for 4 people. For us this is not a plush hotel as a holiday destination in its own right although if you wish to spend time in Honfleur then it would be a reasonable base to do that from. We wanted a clean, safe, convenient and economic one night stop over as part of travelling and for us this hotel hit all of the points.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This is despite many comments a great hotel and I would recommend it and go back again, although you should be aware of the following:

Cleanliness:
To us the room was not very clean and we spent a good hour cleaning with bleach and anti-bac. Luckily we read the reviews and were prepared. My thoughts are its a cheap place and we can afford an hour to clean up. The rooms are modern but cleanliness attention to detail is not quite there if you are picky like us. There was a very bad smell when we got in the room. The cleaner had left a dirty bucket and brushes in the wardrobe which we chucked out and then fumigated.

Location:
Great but it is about 1 mile from Honfleur. Close to a great supermarket and brilliant bread shop. No bars or pubs near until you get to Honfleur. The hotel has no alcohol.
Honfleur is superb, picture perfect and some nice places to eat but if you dont speak any French you could struggle a bit as the menus are in French and the French here are not always keen to speak English. Prices for food are average and the supermarket is cheap. Don't expect clubs and lively bars but a pleasant evening. Everything seems to close up between 9-12pm. There are only 3 taxis in the entire of the Honfleur area and are not cheap. Deauville is a must visit too, about 8-10 km's away and has lots of swimming pools and a superb beach. There are Casino's here, we did not stay late but I guess there probably is some later night entertainment.

Staff:
Reception staff are very polite and helpful, can't fault them except she would not accept I paid extra for an apartment.

Breakfast:
Didn't try it as we had a kitchenette and we bought some good food in from the supermarket.

Room:
Small, Ikea modern, great shower with a bath. Nice but very small patio area. No kettle but a coffee machine. No cutlery, two bowls but no plates, no mugs or glasses, one frying pan and one medium pan. Fridge works very well. The bed is super comfortable and is made of memory foam. We took our own bedding and pillows and were glad.

Pool:
Clean and nice, hardly any sunbeds though. Supposedly heated to 21C but felt colder.

Parking:
Plenty and free at the hotel. All pay and park in Honfleur (if you can find a space) and all pay parking at Deauville too.

Conclusion:
Very much worth every penny at what we paid and a great area too. Its a shame there is a lack of attention to detail in the rooms but we would visit again.

Room Tip: Ask not to be next to the road although it is not noisy the other side is more picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Responsablemarneur, Assistante de direction at Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

I would like to thank you for your long e mail regarding our establishment to explain everithing about the residence and the surroundings!

I am happy to see that you think that our hotel is "a great hotel" and that you "would recommend us and come back again"

Regarding your remarks:

- I am awfully sorry that you found a room not really cleaned when you came. You say that we are a "cheap place" but the cleanlness must be everywhere, then I am sorry that your room was not at your convenience. Did you come to the reception to say that? If we knew that we could come back again to check with you what you did not like and arrange what was wrong with you. Next time do not be affraid to come to see us we will do our best to satisfy you.

- For the location, we are not far from Honfleur because at 5 minutes by car and you can go to the supermarket in the counstyside which is at 15 minuts by foot or 2 minuts by car
That's true that the shops are closing quiet early unfortunatly but to go out you can go easily to Honfleur or Deauville that you liked a lot. It is very nice places to go and not far from the residence. About the casino, you have to know that I made a partnership with Deauville and Trouville then when you are coming we are offering you tickets to have free drinks there! Do not forget to come back to see us!

- Thank you for the staff, we will be very happy to welcome you again....

- Breakfast, you should try next time :) The french pastries are very nice, one of the best in the region!

- For the rooms they are very spacious then it is very nice to come in couple or family. We have all the sizes for all your needs!

- For the pool I look personnaly every day if it does not miss anything that's why we are keeping it still cleaned. It is very important and nice to have a swimming pool with everybody in it, to hear the children play in it!

- The parking is free, there is one car park per room


I would see you again with a great pleasure.

Do not hesitate to call us to make a reservation

Have a great day,

Yours faithfully,

Céline Marneur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised to come across the Hauts de Honfleur (eventually - God knows why they don't put a sign on the road!). Having spent the rest of our tour of Normandy/Brittany confined to hotel rooms, we found the accomodation spacious and practical and really enjoyed the flexibility of having the kitchen facilities and outside space to eat. I would imagine the grassed area would also be appreciated by families with children. It is what it is, nothing fancy probably the equivalent of a Travel Lodge, but the price reflects this. We found it clean, comfortable, quiet and very convenient for visiting Honfleur and nearby towns. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Responsablemarneur, Assistante de direction at Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

I would like to thank you for your pleasant E mail.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your staying with us and that you appreciate our spacious rooms and kitchens which are full equiped.

Now you can come back because we have signs on the road!! :)

As you saw when you came every rooms have balcony or terrasse which are very nice. Then, if you want to eat outside or just enjoy to take the sun you can...

Our apartments are for couples and families because we have at your disposal 143 apartments where you can have a stay from two to six persons...

I would be very happy if you could stay again in our residence.

I stay at your disposal if you want to make a reservation.

Yours faithfully,

Céline Marneur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Location
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Arrived in pouring rain and desperate to get the kids bathed and into bed. The reception is a bit of a walk from the apartments so left the car running (for warmth) and went in. 35 minutes later, I had the room keys (my parents were with us). There was no queue, it just seems incredible to them, that despite having my reservation, that I may actually require a room after all. (perhaps they thought I was not turning up). Nothing nearby, 1 restaurant, hairdresser. A fair distance from Honfleur (despite the misleading name!)

When arrived at room, no sheets on beds. We make the beds ourselves. Actually no cot (as requested via the booking) and had to trundle back in the rain to get one.

The large glass shower door was unattached to the bath / shower and was propped up in the bathroom and my son ran into it (aged 3) nearly decapitating himself in the process. Luckily, it did not break. I mentioned to reception who didn't offer another room but asked me to lift it to the receptionists car. I did so and it did not fit, so we left it in the toilet overnight and made sure the kids didn't go in there unattended.

Took me 40 minutes to check out.

We had a lovely trip to France. This was the only downside. I am easily pleased. And this place didn't please me or my family. Go to to the Etap down the road towards honfleur.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Equemauville hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur

Address: RD 579 | Avenue le Jumel, 14 600 Equemauville, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur > Equemauville
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Equemauville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur 2*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adonis Les Hauts De Honfleur Equemauville, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.