We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who is the real owner???” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villekulla Easy Living Lodge

Villekulla Easy Living Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kommetjie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villekulla Easy Living Lodge
19 Kommetjie Main Road (M65), Kommetjie 7975, South Africa (Formerly Chill and Surf Easy Living Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Nagoya, Japan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Who is the real owner???”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The toaster was broken, no hot-water shower for two days, no WiFi after the first night due to an "incident" and some rain started leaking into the dorm.... Moreover, a Danish guy (?) who appeared to be managing this place was often nowhere to be found with all these problems unsolved. The only time I saw him was when he came into the common room at night without saying anything and sat on a couch, smoking cigarettes. The reason why I ended up staying here for 7 nights was because of staff-member Sam who was always helpful, friendly and tirelessly tried to fix all the problems for me.
So here is a message to the real owner of this property: your guesthouse is in a great location with a fantastic view, but it needs quite a bit of improvement and regular maintenance. Sam is the right guy to ask about what to do in order to run your business properly. Trust me.

Room Tip: The dorm becomes quite wet if it rains heavily. Whereas, it becomes brazing hot inside when it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We've stayed here two nights in November 2011. The accomodations in Cape Town were full that particularly saturdaynight. So we had to move out to another accomodation outside Capetown. The location of Villekula was the best choice for us to spend our last days in South Africa. Very friendly owners and up for a nice chat. Very nice room with interior design of the female owner herself.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

The people owning the place are very nice and helpful (honest and direct, typical Dutch, some people may not like this very direct honest style). It was everything clean and the price value is excellent. We were unlucky that it was very windy during our stay and this made the huts noisy and sleeping could be an issue if you are not a deep sleeper. Anyhow, we liked it a lot and would go again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Chill and surf really says it. We dod not surf. But we chilled. With fantastic view over hills and the ocean. The owner is a cool surfer with a dog, a duck, some hens and cats. A fantastic place for easy living close to nature and the party. If I ever visit Cape Town again. This is where I'll stay.

Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villekulla Easy Living Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villekulla Easy Living Lodge

Address: 19 Kommetjie Main Road (M65), Kommetjie 7975, South Africa (Formerly Chill and Surf Easy Living Lodge)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kommetjie
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty lodging in Kommetjie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Cape Point and Cape Town Villekulla is the perfect place to start your trip up the Garden Route and East Coast. Get out of the city and discover the Peninsula from a quiet place with fantastic views of the ocean and mountains. We provide excellent service for all types of travellers and backpackers. Villekulla offers en suite doubles, dorms and private rooms in wooden cabins on the hill site with shared bathroom facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villekulla Easy Living Lodge Kommetjie, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villekulla Easy Living Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villekulla Easy Living Lodge to your Saves list