We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible location with views of the sea and mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Last Word Long Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Last Word Long Beach to your Saves list
The Last Word Long Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Kirsten Ave, Kommetjie 7975, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kommetjie
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Incredible location with views of the sea and mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This boutique hotel has the most fantastic location on Long Beach in Kommetjie - you can practically fall onto the beach. The views from the upper suites are wonderful - across the beach and sea back towards Hout Bay. The rooms are well appointed and the staff offer warm hospitality. They went out of their way to make my husband feel special on his birthday. Only negative would be that there is a bit of maintenance required on shutters, towels etc.

Room Tip: Upper suite with views over the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
90
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundrum
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a wonderful place! Tucked away off the coastal road south of Chapman's Peak, with a breathtaking vista back toward Hout Bay and mountains. The short steps from parked car, through reception area and onto the balcony open up one of the finest ocean and mountain views we’ve ever enjoyed. Over the 3-4 days of our stay, we never came close to tiring of that vista or of the comfort afforded by the hotel.

Read the 'Last Word' group's website and its emphasis on relaxation, privacy, comfort and the sense that the hotel is your own homely space could sound a bit corny. In practice, every bit of it was true. The interaction with staff was excellent: friendly, very responsive to any request, thoroughly professional but not slick or insincere. Restaurant bookings were handled very well, and the driver service (eg to Kalk Bay and back) was faultless. Haylee and Jenny with Leo, Farnie and their colleagues run a fine place and run it very, very well.

Our room was delightful, with a good partial view of sea and mountains, a nice simple terrace and shared pool. Driving distances to Kalk Bay restaurants, to Boulders Beach or the Cape itself, were minimal - a great touring centre also.

We were really sorry to leave Long Beach and wished we had booked a longer stay. A perfect place to drop into and chill at on arrival In Cape Town from a long flight. And you will never tire of that view.

Big thanks to Bonita at agency Go2Africa, whose recommendation this (and many other wonderful places) this was. Go2Africa are Cape Town-based and will organise trips down to every detail, not just in South Africa but all over southern and east Africa. We found their service excellent at every level.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Last Word Long Beach is a very cozy BnB, with lovely views and outdoor seating on the water. The staff was very attentive and helpful. The rooms are very nice but I think the common area could be a bit nicer for the price. I still highly recommend due to the overall experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

To Haylee, Jen, Leo ,Fanie and all the other lovely people at The Last Word, Long Beach, THANK YOU. Our holiday to South Africa could not have started in a better place, great views, lovely rooms and terrific hospitality, what more could you ask for.
No point going on, this place is simple superb!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spend 5 nights there after a week on a 3 masts sailing out of Cape Town and round peninsula, It was heaven and so relaxing. Great view and easy access to beach. We stayed in room 2 which was nicely furnished with our terrace near the pool. Great view from dining area and lounge terrrace. Haylee, Jennie,Leo, Farnie and other ladies working at Last Word were all so so friendly and helpful. this was recommended by our agents ToEscapeTo from Hout Bay. Fantastic choice as always when we have let them decide for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having stayed at Franshoek and Constantia last year I booked both again plus Long beach this year. Not disappointed. Fabulous location Staff all wonderful Rooms beautiful Like being at home but with the most amazing people looking after us. So relaxing. Loved every minute. Thank you for making our stay so perfect.

Room Tip: Not necessary all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I spent 3 nights here and they were fantastic! The staff is so nice and hospitable! The food is amazing. They ask you what you'd like to eat for dinner and then go out and get the ingredients to prepare it for you. The views are amazing! Jenny and Hailey go out of their way to make sure that you get to do what ever it is that you want to do in Cape Town. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Last Word Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Long Beach

Address: 1 Kirsten Ave, Kommetjie 7975, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kommetjie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kommetjie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Long Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Long Beach is situated in the picturesque lobster-fishing village of Kommetjie, a short thirty minute drive from Cape Town. It is truly a special place to stay, offering a rare and rewarding alternative, romantic hideaway. Facilities include a swimming pool, relaxing sun deck with ocean views and whale watching in season. There are six ultra luxurious suites all with stylishly comfortable interiors. Each spectacularly appointed room faces the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Last Word Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Long Beach Hotel Kommetjie
Long Beach Cape Town
The Last Word Long Beach Kommetjie, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Last Word Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.