We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2013 Auld Reekie Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auld Reekie Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gowganda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auld Reekie Lodge
Save
You added Auld Reekie Lodge to your Saves list
6 Auld Reekie Camp Road | Box 58, Gowganda, Ontario P0J 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Mount Airy, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2013 Auld Reekie Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

As usual we had an awesome week at Auld Reekie. The cabins are very nice and the hosts are very wonderful people. We enjoyed good fishing and the sights are beautiful. We saw bear, beaver, Eagle, Loons, and many ducks. We caught smallmouth bass and northern pike. I will be coming back for sure hopefully in 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Lorne, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Simply awesome. Urs and Diane are wonderful hosts. We fished in the mornings, hunted for bear in the afternoon. The fishing was steady, with lots of fish. The equipment was perfect-not a single problem with props or motors on the boats. The bear hunting was amazing, 3 bears were seen, 2 taken, daily delivery to the stands and pickup from the stands. The work that Urs did over the early season before we arrived to ensure active baits was fantastic! The family atmosphere, conversation, wealth of knowledge about the area, and all around going above and beyond for each guest was amazing. We stayed in a 4 person cabin, which was completely spotless, and very well equipped. I highly recommend this lodge for anyone looking to get away from it all, have a relaxing and trouble free stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

If you like peace and tranquility, this is the spot. Fish the back lakes and you hear nothing but the purr of your outboard. Been going for years now and look forward to every visit. Winter and summer. Love the family business atmosphere. Randy and Leanne De Block

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family went here in August of 2013 and had a fantastic time. We caught a pile of pickerel and bass in the back lakes and caught a lot of smaller ones on the main lake. The food was great and the staff are amazing. It is one family that does everything, and they do it so well. I highly recommend people coming here who love to fish and go to lakes in no-mans land! We did the modified meal plan (breakfast and lunch) and it was perfect for us. THank you again for such a great time Urs and DIane!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auld_Reekie_Lodge, Owner at Auld Reekie Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We’re so glad you all had a good time! We really enjoyed having you and your family stay with us. Yes, it is a family business, and we love it that way. We can’t always do everything, but we truly do the best that we can. So glad that the Modified Meal Plan worked for you! Hope to see you all again in the 2014 season 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cham, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Auld Reekie is one of my favourite spots when travelling Northern Ontario by floatplane. It's close to the Lady Evelyn Smoothwater area. Ontario's highest peaks (Ishpatina Peak and Maple Mtn) are close by, too. Very friendly family hosts. Great food and comfortable motel type large units with sleeping- and living rooms. Boats and Canoes are available, too. Reasonable rates.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auld_Reekie_Lodge, Owner at Auld Reekie Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
It was so good to see you again, Felix! We look forward to your visit each year. It is always nice to hear Urs speaking Swiss German again  See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I heard about Auld Reekie from a colleague at work and decided to go with my boys and a few other men in the family. We had a fantastic time. We chose the housekeeping plan and were more than pleased with the accommodations. We expected it to be a lot more "rough" and had gotten the kids into the mindset of no tv, phones or internet. Oh well, thank goodness they like fishing so much that they hardly could stay awake at night to watch tv. The rooms were large and the beds comfortable.

We fished every day we were there - 6 and caught over 270 fish in at least 4 different lakes. It was really nice to have the option of going to other lakes to try our hand at fishing for bass, walleye and pike. I think we all agree that we like fishing for pike the best since they put up a pretty good fight.

After we brought a few fish back to the lodge to prepare to freeze and bring home, I realized that I'm just not the best at preparing the fish. Urs took the time to show us how to do it properly. He certainly made it look easy!

The boats were in pretty good condition, the water was beautiful, but cold. I could have done without the gigantic swarms of mosquitos, but we were prepared with repellent.

Overall it was a fantastic trip and we're looking forward to coming back. Unfortunately, it makes all the fishing that we do here in PA rather boring.

Room Tip: Check out the various plans that they have before you book. The housekeeping plan was perfect for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auld_Reekie_Lodge, Owner at Auld Reekie Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We are so glad you all had such a good time! We always try to do our very best to make sure our guests have a pleasant vacation. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This lodge advertises itself as offering "...the finest fishing...in Northern Ontario" This is a gross exaggeration. We were there for a week at the end of June. Fishing was poor on the main lake. One back lake had good Bass but nothing else another lake that you had to haul motor, gas etc. to get in and out of wasn't worth the effort. The boats at the main lake are ok but no depth finders or electric motors. No one ever checked our gas and there were no minnows all week. They certainly don't cater to the fisherman. Disregard the video with Ron and Leo.
The cabins are adequate but not well maintained (paint peeling, ashtray full of butts on the deck) and the heat was turned all the way up when we checked in. Garbage was picked up once.
We won't go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auld_Reekie_Lodge, Owner at Auld Reekie Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are sorry that this guest did not find the lodge up to his standards. At Auld Reekie Lodge we try our very best to accommodate all of our guests. Unfortunately in a very rare occasion we encounter a guest who had very exacting standards, as was apparent with this guest.
Some lodges would take the comments made here as a personal attack on the lodge. We on the other hand will evaluate the comments made and make changes were possible. On the items that are beyond our control we will take the attitude that you cannot please all of the people all of the time. We stand by our statement that we offer the finest fishing in Northern Ontario. The true measure of our lodge is the praise and warm accolades from our countless other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auld Reekie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Reekie Lodge

Address: 6 Auld Reekie Camp Road | Box 58, Gowganda, Ontario P0J 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Gowganda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Gowganda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auld Reekie is “Your destination for year round recreation!” Located three hours north of Sudbury or North Bay, Ontario, Auld Reekie Lodge is a dream for any outdoor enthousiasts.The Lodge offers the finest in Fishing, Hunting, Snowmobiling & ATVing Packages. Within these packages you may choose from a Meal Plan, Modified Meal Plan or Housekeeping Plan. Fish species such as Walleye, N. Pike, Sm Bass, Perch, Lake Trout and more are offered from our Main Lake (Gowganda) as well as many of our portage lakes.When you're deciding on a vacation spot, we realize that many things are considered. These include surroundings, quality accommodations and other amenities. Of course the service and hospitality are at the top of your list. At Auld Reekie we feel we've got everything you're looking for and more. Our Lodge offers a wonderful escape from the stress of the city and a great place to experience the outdoors. Its picturesque Canadian beauty will relax the soul and bring you closer to nature.Auld Reekie Lodge earned a four star rating from Tourism Ontario. Year after year upgrading and improvements have helped make Auld Reekie the choice of many vacationers who have become loyal repeat guests and that says it all. Make Auld Reekie your vacation spot this year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auld Reekie Lodge Gowganda, Canada - Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auld Reekie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.