We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Punta Bulata White Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Punta Bulata White Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Punta Bulata White Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barangay Elihan, Cauayan, Negros Occidental 6100, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cauayan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pros and cons.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Paid $160/nite for the beach cabana basically because i need a fridge. Amazing access to a small private white sand beach and ocean. Also to swimming pool. 30 seconds out the door to both spots. Probably won't encounter a convenient luxury like that again. Quiet, peaceful. A fantastic get-away. But now I must get a bit critical. It's a long journey to get there. MNL to Bacolod. (Recommend) -- (Stay overnight at the Circle Inn. twenty min. from Silay airport.) Then the next morning endure a five hour bus ride and very rough 20-30 minute trike ride on a horribly unpaved road. We were prepared for that and we were really o.k. with that. Now I must get a bit critical here. Remember this is the Phillipines and $160/nite is big bucks in P.I. Glad internet is not advertised because it is non-existant. A bit disappointing but at least like most other establishments it was never promised. This resort is worn. It is older than the photos depict. Upon entering our lovenest this was immediately apparent. Stained and smeared mirrors. Broken window shades. Poor shower --(pressure and hot and cold balance) -- ($160/nite) -- And beware of the march of the tiny ants inside. -- ($160/nite) These issues were quickly brought to the attention of the staff and manager (Steve). But were never rectified. --($160/nite) -- Free breakfast?? Had to pay for a glass of juice, omelette, and toast!! --($160/nite) -- Sad. For this rate --($160/nite) -- we should be almost presented with a full breakfast buffet, I would think. I'm a big sun worshipper and cushions should be acquired for the two chairs outside. Ended up transfering two of the sunbed cushions over to our spots in front of our room. Room cleaning?? Well once again $160/nite not sure we need to have to request housekeeping but that's not really a major issue. Didn't appear anyone was using the four sunbeds adjacent to the pool so I guess this was not a problem. By the fourth night we were used to all this but it was then time to depart. Felt a little sadness to have to get back to the real world again. I will not describe our visit as a horrible experience or deeply disappointed and let down. I'm trying to be as cordial as possible. Great potential here but too many upgrades and improvements need to be performed to justify returning to this establishment at $160/nite.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Road conditions are very poor, incredibly bumpy all the way, we tried to see this a bit of fun and kids seemed to enjoy it. Met at the gate entrance by a security armed with a shot gun which alarmed the father in law a little. The greeting and reception were friendly, we had booked a family cabana and a deluxe in the main hotel for the inlaws which we're not ready bycheck in time. The inlaws upgraded to cabana instead as the hotel rooms didn't have nice views.
The family cabanawas in a lovely spot right on the beach but it was very basic. The inlaws decided to upgrade to the cabana which was also on the beach at £120 per night. We were disappointed with the family cabana as the showers were extremely hot and could not be cooled down, this was quite dangerous for the kids as they would have been literally scolded, we had to give them quick washes before the water temperature rose.
The aircon leaked, we also paid for an extra bed for our 8 year old son but we were just given a very thin mattress which had a faint smell of urine. We tried not to let this dampen our holiday as it was in a such lovely setting and thought to make the most of it. The first night meal at the restaurant was spot on, with good friendly staff and the food was perfect.
At breakfast time we were entitled to free fruits and drinks with our free breakfast. The breakfast choice was disappointing, firstly they had run out of fruits so we couldn't have any. The only free drinks included was water or calamansi juice (lime), we had to pay for orange juice as the kids did not like the only two choices they had. The breakfast choice was no better, you could only have one of each item and I mean literally one! The choice was bacon or longanisa sausage, egg, bread or rice. There were other items such as pancakes but we had to pay for these. When we did order the pancakes for the children we were told that there was only one portion left so the kids had to share this. I asked the waiter if they would have enough pancakes the following day as my children did not like the breakfast choice, we were assured that there would be plenty.
The following day my father inlaw ensured he was up early and secured our table for 7 of us at 7:45am, we joined them at 8am. The manager, Sir Steven took our orders and we ordered 3 lots of pancakes for our 3 children and chose extra breakfast items that we were more familiar with with extra charge. After a 20 minute wait sir Steven returned to inform us that there were no pancakes, we were at this point starving and of course quite angry that we had to wait that long although we were assured from the night before that they would have pancakes! Sir Steven apologised and explained that pancakes were very popular with the kids, I then asked him why not ensure that they had plenty if it was so popular? He was quick to try and make his excuses and go. The children were complaining that they were hungry and at this point we still haven't received anything..no drinks nothing! I went to the waiters to ask if we could at least get our drinks and free fruits served. After another 15 minutes of waiting and another prompt about our drinks and fruit a waiter arrived with our drinks and told us that unfortunately there were no fruits left! By this point we were all fuming, we told the waiter that we were the first ones in the restaurant and have seen other people receive thier fruits before us so we demanded it! After all, this was the second day of being told the same thing! The waiter eventually came back with a plate of fruits but apologised that there were only mangoes left. We noticed that another table was also being told the same story and another family sat across from us were also starting to get annoyed as they too had been waiting so long. After almost an hour of waiting our breakfast arrived...the eggs were stone cold!!! My father in law was outraged and demanded to speak with Sir Steven. He came and was trying to talk very quietly so that other guests could hear our complaint. He had no genuine reason as to why we had to wait for so long only to be served with stone cold eggs! He basically said that it was due to the eggs being cooked first and had been put out to ones side whilst the other items were being cooked!! It was as if they only used one pan to cook in!! He took our breakfasts and it returned 5 minutes later only to find the same egg that had been simply re-heated and this time the bacon was cold!!! Again we complained and they took our plates and returned with the same egg and bacon! I was totally disgusted that they had reheated the same egg yet again for the third time! We called for sir Steven and my father in law asked him if he would serve the same breakfast as he served us to the owners of the hotel...his answer?? No...so why the hell did he think it was completely acceptable to serve us with food that could have potentially made us ill and paying £120 a night!! We were getting nowhere and simply told him that due to his incompetence to run and manage this restaurant, the resort will certainly be failing and loose customers! He did not seem fazed and just kept saying sorry. We were completely appalled and demanded fresh breakfast to be served to us hot! After another hour of waiting I received my hot breakfast but by this point we were not hungry and were so angry we just wanted to leave! We spoke with other customers who also received the same cold foods but they did not want to cause a fuss but were glad that we spoke out.
On the second day we returned late in the afternoon to our cabana only to find that the room had not been cleaned, no clean towels or toiletries. I called reception and I was informed that rooms were only made up on request. Within 5 minutes room service came, I asked them if it was policy for rooms to only be made up if guests requests it and the reply from them was the fact that they did not like to come to rooms and clean just incase they were blamed for anything going missing and that they were scared of loosing their jobs. I felt sorry for the women as they were genuinely scared of touching and moving things. When they left I decided to take a shower only to find that non of the toiletries were replaced, i expected this to be at least a minimum standard in all hotels that claim to be "luxury".
What started off as a picture postcard break at punta bulata was not all as it seemed! The white sands were lovely and it was a small private beach but as we walked out into the shallow sea it was covered in a dark sludgy seaweed and there was a large pipe covered by rocks to disguise it which we suspect was a sewage pipe.
The resort had a path where it would take you through some gardens. We were approaching a man made pond and were greeted by a stagnant and filthy pond, there were dead fishes floating on top!!
The only positive side to our stay here were the friendly staff (receptionists, waiters) and the lovely white sand!! Would we recommend this place?? NO!!!
The Gladwin family from the UK

Room Tip: Don't go for another 5 years, this resort is not ready!! They need to find a manager that can ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomzayco, General Manager at Punta Bulata White Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Gladwin Family,

Thank you for your comments and fair review, we appreciate that you took the time to point out deficiencies in our service. We are working to urgently address these issues. Our hard working staff exerts best efforts to ensure that our guests have a pleasant stay. We apologize for the difficulty and disappointing experience that you had during your stay.

Our resort is located quite remotely in the island of Negros and as you mentioned our lovely white sand beach allows guests to feel that they’re on their own private beach. Sadly, because we are out of the way some basic infrastructure such as concrete roads have not been developed. This has been a problem for many of our guests. We are exhausting all means to seek assistance to have a proper road built.

We do our best to ensure the safety and security of our guests. In the Philippines it is not uncommon to have armed security personnel at the entrance of establishments, since your review though we have changed our security policy so that guests coming in to the resort feel as comfortable as possible and are not alarmed by the presence of firearms.

The resort has a standard check-in/check-out policy. Unfortunately, during your check-in time the previous occupants of your in-laws’ room had not checked out yet because they were outside the resort premises. We would like to avoid these kinds of situations if possible, yet we are not comfortable with removing a guest’s personal property from their room if they are late to check out. We should have explained the situation better to you though.

Our free breakfast is standard for all guests. We are developing a new menu to suit international tastes since most items on our menu are made for the local palate. We’re very sorry that our waiter promised the family pancakes when none was available. Because of the busy holiday season we admit that we ran out of pancakes and had a limited selection of fresh fruits. We will do our best to adequately stock our restaurant especially during the holiday season when markets are closed. The restaurant staff will be given a refresher-training course on proper food service and timely delivery of guest’s meals. As part of our training program the staff will be reminded not to make promises that cannot be fulfilled.

It is resort policy that all guest rooms be cleaned everyday and that toiletries be replenished as well. Our housekeeping staff admittedly forgot to make up your room that day. We have conducted refresher-training courses for them as well and are making sure that they follow our housekeeping checklists, especially during the busy holiday season when they may overlook standard procedures.
Each guest bathroom is provided with an individual water heater, this is somewhat different from the usual centralized water heating system you find in big hotels. Our staff would be glad to assist any guest who is not familiar with this type of heating system on how to operate the water heater. Also, we have had our maintenance staff repair the leaking air conditioner in your room.

Children below 7 years old are given free accommodation. We make sure all mattresses are clean and ready for use. However, we do apologize to your 8-year-old son for any discomfort he experienced during his stay because of a mistake on our part.

Our beach is located in an intertidal zone and protected by a natural breakwater thus during low tide water levels may recede. The presence of sea grass due to this intertidal zone is actually a sign of a healthy beach and we have five different species of sea grass that provide food for schools of young fish and tide pools that are full of small marine life.

The pipe that you mentioned is drainage for rainwater during the wet season. We have since covered it as you have pointed out that it is unsightly for guests. Our pond is still being developed and since your review we clean our pond of leaves and debris daily.

We hope to make you happy next time you come.

Sincerely and with Warm Regards,
The Management and Staff at Punta Bulata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The room was nice, we had a great view of the ocean and the pool. Service was excellent, staff were accommodating and friendly. We also enjoyed the food they offered at the restaurant. Despite of arriving late from Bacolod they were able to hold the boat to wait for us so we could join the group going to Danjugan Island. It was an awesome experience for us.

Room Tip: request for an ocean view..... perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in July 2013.
The 5-hour bus ride and 20 minute bumpy tricycle ride from Bacolod City was worth it. I just wish the roads from the highway going to the resort were paved.
Check-in was a breeze, thanks to the highly efficient Ms. Jimila, the resort supervisor. She is attentive, informative and is always glad to help.
Clean rooms and resort grounds. Nice infinity pool. Restaurant served delicious food. The staff were courteous, competent and helpful.
A trip to Danjugan Island is a must! The resort can arrange the tour for you.
Ayu Spa’s full body massage is perfect after a long day of travel from the city.
Get the Premiere Sea View Room! The room is spacious, has a Jacuzzi inside the bathroom and a veranda overlooking the sea where you will see nice sunsets.
I had a great time at Punta Bulata Resort despite a minor noise problem from other guests. The issue was immediately resolved by the management.
I would definitely go back to this resort.

Room Tip: Get the Premiere Sea View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Got the chance to take two days off and headed to Negros for New Years. I was lucky to find a cabin available at Punta Bulata. I was concerned that there was availability, considering it being new years. Once we got there, we got such a pleasant surprise. This is such a low-key, appropriately priced hidden jewel. A mix of family-owned and high-end resort. Beautiful beach, great staff, and everyone is pretty much relaxed and laid back. The family that run the operation were very attentive and welcoming, including us in their new years party. The place is perfect for getting away from the beaten path and enjoying a truly wonderful time. Got the chance to check out Dagutan Island, a last minute plan that the resort was able to organize at the last minute. Really an awesome experience and hope to return as soon as possible. Before leaving on the last day, we decided to take a last minute dive, and the staff were able to accommodate. The Dive Shop is just beginning, but they have the essential tools to become a great operation in this areas as well.

Room Tip: Cabins are close to the restaurant and in front of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We just came from this resort and you'll be impressed on how efficient and professional they can from the express check-in, to the very courteous and accommodating staff, the facilities, the masseurs in their spa (the best massage we had!) and of course, their resident manager, was very polite, friendly and thoughtful! Variety of food is good I recommend the "chicken binakol" from their La Veranda Resto. Only one minor setback, the service road going to the resort is not well paved so I recommend you either bring an SUV or a 4x4 truck but the over all experience was great!

Room Tip: The Cabanas which is facing the beach are good since it just beside their Resto, pool and spa or for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

One of the best vacations we had. Spent couple nights with my family, clean facilities, friendly staff, great food, spectacular view, over all superb experience. We definitely wanna come back for more. Very relaxing, best value for money, best location for honeymoon and family reunions. Lovely pool, amazing view most especially the sunset. One of our most unforgettable full body massage, sooooo relaxing! On our next visit to the Philippines, we make sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Punta Bulata White Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Bulata White Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Barangay Elihan, Cauayan, Negros Occidental 6100, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Cauayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cauayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Punta Bulata White Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled 154 kilometers south of Bacolod City lies one of Negros Island’s best-kept secrets. Punta Bulata White Beach Resort and Spa is a tropical hidden paradise. Enjoy one whole kilometer stretch of white sand beach in privacy and exclusivity as you spend quality time with your friends and family. From native Filipino nipa‐hut cottages to luxurious spa rooms, guests at Punta Bulata Resort are able to choose from a wide variety of accommodations that are all just a few steps away from the beach. Punta Bulata Resort is known to have one of the finest and whitest beaches in Negros Island and its waters are teeming with marine and coral life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Punta Bulata White Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Bulata White Beach Resort And Spa
Punta Bulata White Beach Hotel Cauayan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punta Bulata White Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.