We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all-round hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ettington Chase Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ettington Chase Hotel to your Saves list
Ettington Chase Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good all-round hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here recently for a Joy Swift Murder Mystery Weekend. Had a great time here. The rooms are very nice - really not sure what people are complaining about - and I've stayed in plenty of 4/5 star hotels round the world! Is it 4 star? Borderline but I found it perfectly reasonable. Comfortable bed, pillow, decent shower. Staff around the hotel were very friendly. A little bit of a corporate feel, wouldn't go here for a romantic weekend away.

The pool was GREAT - really impressed by the pool and gym areas. The water was actually warm! Very rare! The free tea/coffee machine was much appreciated - good quality too.

The reason I'm giving 4 and not 5 is that the breakfast service was woeful. The food itself was good, good selection and decent quality but the service was a shambles. Staff rushing everywhere - like headless chickens. We had to wait about 20 minutes for tea, coffee and toast which is completely unacceptable. I had repeatedly asked waiters who said they'd bring it but the problem is that they would come back out with more and end up giving it to the first table they came across. With better training and planning they could easily handle the service - there was enough staff, just completely untrained and inefficient. And the simplest fix would be to install some toasters on the breakfast buffet and allow people to pour their own tea/coffee. Can't believe this is not being done.

Because the food and coffee itself was good I am giving a 4 - otherwise it would've been a 3. It would be so easy for the hotel to solve this.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Ettington Chase, I was pleased to read that on the whole you had a good stay but I apologise for the poor breakfast service you received. We have worked very hard in recent months to address this issue and have made good progress. Unfortunately on the morning in question 2 members of the breakfast team were taken ill and they had to leave their shift with 2 of their collegues from other departments stepping in to try and help. Once again apologies for the poor experience and I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Best regards
Stuart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    320
    242
    79
    41
See reviews for
72
496
12
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Jut returned from a weekend break at Ettington Chase, having used this hotel in the past for business, I felt it would be nice to return for a weekend break and take in the sights of Stratford upon Avon. Our superior room was very comfortable and the staff were as attentive as ever. Last nights meal was enjoyable and the service swift. I will be returning!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Many thanks for your positive review of Ettington Chase and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Always well looked after at Ettington Chase when we run the Centre for Pharmacy Postgraduate Education Return to Practice workshops which is a residential course. Conference staff are very helpful and catering arrangements work well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review of Ettington Chase I'll be sure to share your feedback with the team.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a two day business stay at the Ettington Chase. For that purpose, it worked very well - all the equipment arrived on time, plenty of wifi, meeting room well organised and so on. The support staff were excellent, from the reception team through the folk who sort out heating and rearrange layouts, to the conference and restaurant staff. I think we were probably not the easiest group they've had, but no one was other than polite, helpful and professional.

If I'd been travelling for pleasure and paying my own bill, I wouldn't have been so positive. I had room 11, apparently an exec room. Large and recently decorated in bland hotel beiges, reaching it involved long corridors, narrow stairs, no lift or help with baggage and several sets of swinging doors to negotiate past the upstairs meeting rooms. It was fine for business, but if I'd been expecting the Victorian rectory ambience, I would have been disappointed.

Brief word on travel. Although badged as being located in Stratford, it's actually in a village a few miles away. Fine for motorists but my organisation encourages the use of public transport as a default. The nearest station is Stratford-upon-Avon, which has appalling connections to most parts of the country. Other options with better connections are Leamington Spa, Warwick Parkway or Banbury, all 20-30 minutes away by taxi, £25+. Worth considering before booking.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Ettington Chase. I was pleased you had a successful conference and will share your feedback with the team.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

A completely dispiriting experience. Lovely and helpful staff but miserable food and ambience. The restaurant served canteen food dressed up as fancy. Full of people on conferences. Felt like a production line.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Sorry to read of your disappointment following your recent stay with us, maybe one of our sister properties in the PH group would be more to your liking in the future?

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ettington hotels

Warwickshire, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Chase Hotel, Ettington, Nr. Stratford on Avon. Had a weekend break there under the National Trust Trail scheme (don't need to be a member). This is a major conference centre but has capacity for tourists. Great Food, excellent hotel with a large swimming pool and good quality Gym. Usually have great deals at weekends. 6 miles to S-0-A.
Thoroughly recommended. The staff are exceptionally well trained.

Room Tip: Fine Dining is also available 2 minutes away at The Chequers Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Ettington Chase, I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable time and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here on Saturday 8th February usinfg a Groupon voucher which we purchaed in December, judging the hotel on this cost basis it was amazing value, Bed, Breakfast, 2 Course Dinner with a complimentary bottle of hosue wine just £79.00 for TWO people!!!!! However now the downside and "niggles" the photographs on the web are as many reports have stated are very misleading, as there are 130 rooms at this hotel, but the old building photographed on the web contains just 7 rooms, we stayed in room number 5 which was one of the seven in the old building, comments.... curtains didn't fully close, no mirror light in the bathroom, so the other half applied her make up in the bedroom, there was NO hot water at 6pm on the evening and at one stage the water stopped flowing COMPLETELY!!! very tired decour, creaky stairs and floor boards, resulting in loud noise from the other few rooms situated in this old building!! i do agree with other Trip Advisors that the newer added on part of the hotel is like a prison, unattractive and unappealing, the lounge area appears sterile and unwelcoming and very drafty!! The best plus point for us during our one night stay was the service we recieved at Dinner, we were looked after by a member of the team named Paul, who also informed us that he was actually the night porter but as the restaurant was so busy he was helping out!! his service,attention and professionalism was just great he really made our dinning experience enjoyable, thank you Paul!! When i went downstairs on Sunday morning at 7am for a swim he was still on duty at reception doing his normal night porter duties, what a brilliant member of staff to have on your team!! Enjoyed the Pool and Leisure facilities!! In conclusion would i stay here again, under normal nightly tariff costs DEFINATELY NOT!! This is NOT a four star hotel as other comments have suggested and falls short in MANY areas!! however under the groupon rate it's a no brainer as it's tremendous value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. Images of the entire hotel and bed stock are visible to view on our website and we make no effort to disguise the size of the hotel. The Old House wing of the hotel was built in 1867 and as such you will get the odd squeaky floor board as is the case with buildings of this age. I apologise for the disruption to the flow of water to your bedroom during your stay, the exceptional weather we are currently experiencing led to the cellar of the Old House flooding causing the failure of a water pump. This was rectified as quickly as possible by our in house maintenance team.
Your comments with regard to the service you received during your stay epitomises the team here at Ettington and I'll be sure to share your comments with them.
I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ettington Chase Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.