We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ettington Chase Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ettington Chase Hotel to your Saves list
Ettington Chase Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
West Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

i can't believe some of the negative comments on here. We stayed for 2 nights, in a beautiful huge room, in the newest part of the hotel. Spotlessly clean everywhere. Food was beautiful. Staff were so friendly and helpful.
The restaurant had plenty of choice, and staff explained exactly what was on offer. Our meals came out quickly, and were beautifully presented.
We had gone for a short relaxing break, and that is exactly what we got. Hotel was really quiet, we were never disturbed by any noise at all.
Our bed was King Size, and so comfortable, it was lovely.
The maid who cleaned our room was from Serbia, and she was so friendly, and lovely to chat to.
The pool, jacuzzi, gym and sauna were beautifully maintained. We spent several hours in theire during our stay, and really felt relaxed afterwards.
We are a mature couple, and are fussy about where we stay. We both thoroughly recommend this hotel.
Brilliant, and thank you to all the staff there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    321
    242
    79
    41
See reviews for
73
496
12
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I don't know what these other people are on about, I booked for my wedding anniversary, just one night, wish I'd stayed for longer, will definitely be coming back. These people who complain their room was not in the main old house should shut up, there are only 7 rooms in the reception area, which are the superior rooms and suites, the normal price for a room is £59 I think, and for just £20 extra you can upgrade to a superior room, I did, and it's well worth it, i had a beautiful room with a view of the countryside, fantastic, a big massive plasma with freebies, and a
fridge for keeping those bottles of wine in we took, and for probably
less than the price of a premier inn
we also got breakfast in with the
price. An all you can eat buffet,
with loads of bacon, sausages eggs
mushroomed fried bread sauté
potatoes and loads of other stuff,
there was fruit and cereal croissants
toast every thing you could want, it was brilliant. We did have a meal at night too, the service was excellent and very attentive, and the food was lovely, I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel have spent money on the public areas, but bedrooms are getting tired . cannot cope well with a conference - very poor internet connections and sound system limited.
Conference dinner started 30 mins late, and food was very overcooked.
Just not up to scratch, as it should be for a Conference facility

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed here for our 30th Anniversary for two nights. We upgraded to a superior room in the old manor at a very reasonable £20 per night. The room was great, very spacious with an extra large bed and huge bathroom, and best of all was very quiet at night, even though there was a wedding taking place. We had an evening meal on our first night, as this was already included in our trip, and breakfast both days. The food on the evening was very nice and breakfast was delicious, although I agree with other reviews that the fruit juice wasn't nice! The customer service was excellent and all staff very courteous and helpful. We didn't have time to use the leisure facilities, but had a quick look and the pool and jacuzzi looked lovely. Check in and check out was very easy and quick. As with other reviewers I would definitely recommend the Chequers Inn only five minutes walk away. We went on the first night to book a table for the following evening, and it happened to be champagne happy hour, so we spent a pleasant hour in the garden enjoying a nice glass of bubbly! The meal we had the following night was gorgeous, very unusual menu and reasonable prices. Best of all we walked, so were able to have a nice bottle of prossecco and my other half had a couple of pints! All in all a wonderful weekend.The drive to Stratford was five minutes and parking very easy! We spent a great day exploring all the sights on offer. We shall be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The most disappointingly depressing and gloomy hotel I have ever encountered. I can only guess that the unfriendly, unhelpful & apathetic staff attitudes are a result of poor management complimented by the demotivating work environment.

Four years ago I stayed in a cow shed in Tanzania for a month. When I arrived there e owner was friendly and helpful and made it as comfortable as possible - they made an effort and it made it enjoyable. Anyone considering spending a night at ettington chase would be wise to consider such alternatives available for a fraction of the £100 a night they'd have you pay.

The unbelievably overpriced room was outdated and hideous. Room service had to be called twice before waiting an hour for toothpaste to be delivered and when things went wrong like the keycard or the tv, the "concierge" couldn't have cared less.

The one redeeming feature was the friendly and welcoming waiter at breakfast whom I commend for his contrasting attitude.

The second night we found a nice de vere for half the price and it was marvellous - everything you'd expect for a lot more.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ettington hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Ettington is in the middle on the Cotswalds country side. The hotel is quite large with rooms sort of going in all directions. That aside the staff could not have been more helpful. This was on on out better stays in the 32 hotels we stayed at during our trip. We would have like to extend by a couple of days but they were booked out. No wonder it was a wonderful place to explor the Cotswalds

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here as it was very convenient for visiting Stratford, found a good deal and was very pleased with the outcome. General accommodation spacious enough, well equipped and of a good standard. Had an evening meal on the first night of our stay (part of the deal) and although the choice wasn't extensive it was good quality and enjoyable. Breakfast menu was as you would expect, plenty on offer and overall service was efficient. On a general note - it is always nice when staff exchange hello's and good morning greetings without you having to make the first move. This makes a difference. This is a conference hotel, but despite there being at least 4-5 business groups in the hotel you hardly noticed their presence. Overall found the hotel a good base to visit places from, with at least two pubs, a village store and a Post Office within easy walking distance in Ettington itself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ettington Chase Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.