We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“emotional yet humble visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre

Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre
East Kirkby Airfield | Nr Spilsby, East Kirkby PE23 4DE, England
01790 763207
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Science Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Centre is home to Lancaster NX611 and a museum based on a WWII airfield with original control tower, Escape Society museum, Home Front exhibition, Hampden restoration project, memorial chapel and many memorabilia exhibitions. The Centre is open Mon-Sat. Closed Sundays. During the Summer the Lancaster performs taxy runs usually once a week. It is possible to have a taxy ride on the Lancaster, booking is essential as rides get booked up months in advance.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“emotional yet humble visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

1st time i visited and was overwhelmed with emotion, alot of respect for the guys & girls, amazing place & would recommend to any1 to go & visit to get up close & personal with history, the day we went we just missed by half an hour the chance to see "Just Jane" out on the tarmac with her engines running.... i was gutted :( will be back next year to see her :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    30
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I went along to the Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre because mum was doing a taxi run in the centre's Lancaster 'Just Jane', and had suggested I come along too. I signed up for the VIP day, less costly than the taxi run, but still giving a wonderful experience including boarding the aircraft and experiencing first hand just how cramped these aircraft are inside and how terrifying it must have been for the aircrew when they were trying to evacuate.

The centre is very well thought out, and is a real memorial to the huge number of Bomber Command crew who were lost during WWII. It is in no way 'an amusement', but I could easily have spent another day there looking at all the exhibits.

Try to go on a day on which 'Just Jane' is taxying. Hearing those 4 Merlin engines roar, and feeling the ground tremble beneath you is worth the very reasonable entrance fee by itself. And then go and sit in the airfield chapel and read the names listed on the walls...

For the keen military aviation buff, RAF Conningsby, home of the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight, is just 8 miles down the road so could easily form part of a tour of Bomber Command airfields.

Photos of the day can be seen on my website www.annerogersphotography.co.uk

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent displays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Lots of planes you can walk around and history displays. A nice cafe with friendly staff and a good outside seating area. Stories and memorabilia from RAF missions. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Decided to visit this centre after gaining a 2 for 1 voucher - set in very rural Lincolnshire this centre is very informative and interesting. If you love anything RAF/wartime history related you will love walking round and seeing the equipment and the clothes of the day. If you get the chance book a runway taxi in Lancaster bomber which they run on Tuesday and Thursday only. Unfortunately we visited on a Monday so missed to sight and sound on the Merlin engines as they throbbed into life. Pets are welcome around the centre except the coffee shop which is to be expected. Loads to do and parts are interactive too which can me fun of the kids. There is part of one aircraft that you can sit in and both my son and daughter had a go at this (they are grown up not kids now lol). If you are in the area go and take a look for yourself well worth the time you spend there.

The coffee shop is very reasonably priced and lots of gifts to buy in the shop too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking and heart wrenching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

There is so much history it's impossible to take it all in . But it is still one of the most historic places I've ever been. Don't forget that this place is also a cemetery and respectful place for them who served there during the war times and beyond . There is still a war time feeling about it and the buildings really do wow you , I can't explain how the lancaster bomber made me feel . It's a must see

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre to your Saves list