We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply a must visit if in Puerto Viejo.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pecora Nera

La Pecora Nera
3 km/2 mi southeast of town at Playa Cocle | Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
+506 2750-0490
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Cocles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Simply a must visit if in Puerto Viejo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great Italian food to be discovered as per the daily specials and cooking of its owner. Simply put, a culinary experience that is a must if in Puerto Viejo and premises. Do not forget to reserve as the place is as popular as you can think and sitting is limited to ensure the quality of service and food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    43
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Throughout my one month journey in Panama and Costa Rica, this restaurant provided the best service of all places I ate. The pasta was wonderful and atmosphere perfect.
It is easy to confuse this with the italian restaurant by the road, remember to walk another 50-100meters inland on a little dirtroad to get here. Yes, you have to pass the little local gym :)
It is totally worth it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Extremely overrated - SKIP IT!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We read several positive reviews before deciding to give this place a shot. Do NOT waste your time or money. We live in New York and my boyfriend is 100% Italian so we are accustomed to high-quality authentic Italian fare.

We tried several dishes - two appetizers, one pasta, two mains - all disappointing. Service was also a mess.

We heard the owner was out of town in San Jose and when he is away everything supposedly falls apart....well we still paid the high price (relative to other places in Costa Rica) for a sub-par meal -- prices are equivalent to New York City prices

Wouldn't go back - and encourage you not to either - every other meal we had in Puerto Viejo and the surrounding areas was better

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bruscettas and Tuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

A beautiful garden, tasty food, good ambiance, friendly staff... all good. Highy recomendable! Try the tuna with the carrot purree... just delicious!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The restaurant is off the main road, so its nice and quiet. It was very busy when we arrived, so we did have to wait a while but they made up for it with a complimentary entree.

I ordered the seafood pasta which is what I typically order when eating pasta. Although the pasta and seafood were fresh and very tasty, it had an excess of salt which made it very difficult to enjoy.

I mentioned it to the staff but there was no way of fixing the dish, so I ate as much as I could. However, I would consider going back and giving them another try.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pecora Nera also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 

Been to La Pecora Nera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pecora Nera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.