We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome break from casado” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Pecora Nera

La Pecora Nera
3 km/2 mi southeast of town at Playa Cocle | Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
+506 2750-0490
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Cocles
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A welcome break from casado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The ambiance and service were great. The food came in generous portion sizes and the pasta was al dente. We liked the fish carpaccio and mixed seafood plate. For the area the food was good and the bill reflected that fact.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    37
    15
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moravia, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The best Carbonara I've ever had! It's so caribbean but at the same time italian. And they also accept credit cards.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I had a pizza and my husband pasta and it was both very good. The pizza came very close to my favourite pizza here in Switzerland, which I did not expect, when travelling to Costa Rica.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A jewel of the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This restaurant is one of the finest restaurants I've ever eaten at. I have traveled all over the world and have had the good fortune to have eaten at many great places. The quality of ingredients, and the general quality of the food was world class. I loved the house made ravioli stuffed with pumpkin, shrimp and sage the finished in cream sauce. Folks if you want to experience great food, try this restaurant. The negative reviews about service seem to have been written by travelers with a lack of patience and understanding that not all restaurants seat people ASAP like Denny's in America, There is also a trattoria associated with the Near that's equally as excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Al dente!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visit this place, because a friend of us really recommended. The restaurant is a bit hidden, don't be shy to drive the small road aback. We had "Spaghetti Carbonara" and "Spaghetti Frutti di Mare", both dishes were very delicious! The Spaghetti were perfect "al dente". The service was very nice, in English or Spanish as you want. Okay, it was a bit pricey, but else there is nothing to complain.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pecora Nera also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to La Pecora Nera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pecora Nera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.