We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming, unusual property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Town

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cocles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caribe Town
Save
You added Caribe Town to your Saves list
3km south of Puerto Viejo | Playa Cocles - behind Hotel Cameleon, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 6 Cocles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“charming, unusual property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had the good fortune to stay at this property for a few nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The pool/deck area is beautiful and the swimup bar convenient with wonderful fresh-made, local fruit drinks. The owner (Jessica) was very helpful with information about restaurants, spas, massages, local wares and activities. Bikes were available for your convenience. We stayed outside the main gates in a very unusual and delightful room with actual trees growing inside. The kitchen is open air with an enclosed bedroom and bath. I absolutely loved every minute and so did my husband. I was not looking for the typical boring room experience and this was perfect for us. We would return again on our next stay in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    48
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
68
141
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My boyfriend Pat and Myself stayed at CaribeTown from Feb 9-15th. During our time we met several other couples as well as the host Jessica. The service we received at Caribe town was amazing. What ever you wanted for breakfast, bikes for rent 5 dollars a day, and world class fruity rummy punchies!! lol two of those and Pura Vida!! We loved the cute cabinos on the property and is central to town puerto viejo and also Punta Uva and Manzanillo! We could get enough of the beach across the street(swimming in the ocean, so warm and clear) to our pool that we would sit in and enjoy drinks pool side! We were so relaxed and on our own schedule!!It was hot and tropical and when we come back to Costa Rica this will be where we stay! Jessica is a lovely host and couldnt say a bad thing about anything with our stay!! Our little piece of heaven!!
Michelle and Pat from Maple Ridge BC CAnada

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
I'm so happy you enjoyed paradise as much as I do. It was a pleasure to meet you and I do hope you come back! The current special drink is a frozen pineapple margarita :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamartin, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed in La Casita, just past the main hotel, for more privacy and had a great stay. Jessica was very sweet and helpful; we felt super comfortable just hanging out at the hotel while we were there. La Casita was quite comfortable; it has an open roof, but it rained a few times while we were there and we never got wet. If you want to feel like you have your own little homey spot in the tropics - this is the place! Thanks Jessica!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Not much else to say that hasn't already been shared, but this place was everything we were looking for and more. We arrived without a reservation late at night, but Jessica was very accomodating and got us set up that night. She gave great recommendations and has created a wonderful, laid back atmosphere. The location is also ideal with a nearly empty beach across the street, several restaurants nearby, the animal rescue center down the street, and Puerto Viejo (with its noise) a short drive away.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Jessica and her staff provide a consistent and persistent level of quality that makes a long stay as ours very comfortable. We had breakfast every morning that was a wonderful variety of fresh fruit, homemade bread, fresh eggs, delicious sausages, and of course, coffee and juice.
The homemade bread "french bread" and fresh jams were an added, unexpected treat. The location of Caribetown is a pleasant walk 300 steps to the beautiful Playa Cocles. Everyday we walked to the beach and not once were there more than 20 people in line of sight. When you run out of beach, the trail meanders through light jungle and back to beaches at Playa Chiquita and Punta Uva. We saw monkeys overhead and sloths just hanging around... We will visit Jessica and gang next January and February as we fulfill our desire to spend the winter in one of the most beautiful settings on earth. Thank you Jessica for your committment to quality.

Room Tip: Choose a room other than an open cabana if you are bothered by the noise of barking dogs in the area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Thanks for the kind words, it was a pleasure to have you and your wife! As for the dogs, I will work on having Sabrina (my rather quiet puppy) keep the neighbors dogs in line ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

What a lovely place ! We stayed 8 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every minute.
Jessica is the hostess with the mostest and is efficient ,warm and friendly.
Nothing was too much trouble. She organised several bookings for us and she even squeezed us in for an extra night ( We're not sure where Auntie slept )
The breakfasts were spot on. The beach was beautiful. The company was great and we made some good friends who enjoyed it just as much as we did. Recommend Jessica's fruity rummy punchies along with other delicious cocktails.
Thanks for everything, Jessica.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Lovely Brits, was fabulous to meet you as well, please come visit again soon! I have a new specialty frozen pina margarita that you will have to try. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Caribe Town Resort is the place to experience all the best of Costa Rica. Beautiful, peaceful living in tropical rain forest. The pictures tell the story of the location but pay special attention to the comments about Jessica, the owner/manager. For all of us visitors, Jessica proved to be the perfect hostess, concierge, translator, friend, and even "mother" when necessary! Jessica made the trip for us and smoothed out any little bumps in the road. She knows all the locals and makes excellent recommendations for a memorable visit to a beautiful country. We can't thank her enough.....Jessica, thanks for being the perfect Hostess!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Thanks Patti! I hope you return and those bumps in the road are all smooth for you the next time. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Town

Address: 3km south of Puerto Viejo | Playa Cocles - behind Hotel Cameleon, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful jungle resort 150 meters from beautiful Playa Cocles beach with private bungalows or family suite, some with AC. Offsite full home rental options now available. Spa services, bike rentals, tours...Just let us know what you need. Full breakfast included daily with onsite rentals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caribe Town Costa Rica/Cocles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.