We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“place where you´re coming again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   154 Miss Winny Town, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Cocles B&B and Inns
1 review
“place where you´re coming again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We travel a lot but this is my first written review.Hotel is nice in beautiful garden but what makes it special is approach of Emily and Jeremy.They enjoy the work they do and all around is their positive energy.With their every day help and recommendation you have your holiday varied and no bad experiences.Vaclav - Prague

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
170
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Really nice hotel, in small but beautiful garden. Emily and Jeremy are really friendly and helpful, we were welcome with perfect cocktail made by Jeremy. Rooms are little bit small, but can recommend honeymoon suite - it is separeted, and when you stay in other room and have noisy neighbors - you can hear everything.

Room Tip: honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We don't do reviews very often but on this occasion we simply had to. Emily & Jeremy proved to be wonderful host with tons of helpful info and would bend over backwards to make sure you get almost unrivalled hospitality. We celebrated our daughter first birthday at Physis Caribbean with locally made (Bread & Chocolate) chocolate cake and family like atmosphere. If like us you're travelling with little kids then you will be in good hands. Next door restaurant has some amazing dishes in their menu and some of the best beaches are relatively close by. Overall it would be a crime not recommend Physis to anyone visiting Puerto Viejo area.
Pura Vida :)
Ela, Zosia & Greg

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This place was beautiful, so much so that we enjoyed spending down time at Physis as much as we enjoyed the adventures Emily and Jeremy helped us plan! They are the nicest, most helpful people, and they make you feel at home and 100% welcome. The breakfasts are also some of the best meals I had during my stay (don't get me started on the pineapple jam) and it's a quick walk to a beautiful, relatively unpopulated beach. The other guests were all very nice and international, making conversation very cool. They know everyone and everything worth knowing! I look forward to hopefully staying there again, or any future b&b they may have :)

Room Tip: We loved our room because it had this beautiful outdoor shower and the most comfortable hammock righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Physis Caribbean Bed and Breakfast in Cocles was one of the highlights of my trip. Emily and Jeremy are the consummate host and very resourceful and insightful for a variety of things including but not limited to day trips, where to eat, best beaches, and everything else you can imagine as it pertains to the Puerto Viejo area. The breakfast are wonderful and their overall hospitality as a couple is unmatched. This is a small Bed and Breakfast so you really get the feeling of family and friends and Soda Johanna next door is a real treat for having some great food right outside your front door and to the right. The Bed and Breakfast itself is very quaint and comfortable and is very charming and you can feel the personal touch that is given to it by the owners. I only wish I could have stayed for at least a week and when I had to leave due to the lack of availability because they are so popular it was like leaving your friends and family members after an extended vacation. I would highly recommend Physis Caribbean Bed and Breakfast to anyone considering staying in the Puerto Viejo area!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Me and my sister stayed at Physis for 4 nights and this experience made our stay at Puerto Viejo unforgettable. The place is of high standard overall. Super clean, facilities good. We were warmly welcomed by Emily and Jeremy with a fantastic "mango sunset' and they were extremely helpful during our stay, giving us information on the area and making us tasty breakfast. Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast is defo highly recommended place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Hi Emily and Jeremy,

You have by far the best B&B ever, the cleanliness and decor is fantastic, your attention to details is remarkable and you provided us with a service we didn't expect (booking our ride back to San Jose).
You made us feel like we were family and that says a lot !!!
I just wish we could've stayed longer, next time for sure.
Thanks again for the unforgettable experience and we do have great photos of your place.

Denys and Joanne,
PURA VIDA

Room Tip: All rooms are grrrrrrrreat.................................
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast

Address: 154 Miss Winny Town, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for nature, beach & jungle meets luxury, this is the spot. We consist of 4 rooms, with one completely private & secluded "Honeymoon Suite". All rooms have their own private bathroom & shower with hot water. All rooms also have air conditioning, refrigerators, safes, flat-screen TV with satellite cable or Netflix, dehumidifiers, ceiling fans, free Wi-Fi, and all new linens & decor. The private Honeymoon suite has a flatscreen TV with a DVD player. Room #3 sleeps 3 people with one full bed & one twin bed and a flatscreen TV with satellite cable. There are two regular double rooms available with flat-screen TV and free Netflix with DVD players. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and there is also a computer for guests to use. We have bicycles, snorkel gear, & boogie boards available for rent. We also offer laundry and drink service. Prices include breakfast each morning. Sorry, No children under the age of 12 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Cocles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.