We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, poor restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Across the Street From Beach | Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Cartago, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, poor restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is very nice, surrounded by a bunch of vegetation (which I don't like but many people do), reception was very friendly when we arrived.

(positives)
1. The rooms, overall. Nice and simple decoration, makes it look very clean and stylish. Enormous bathroom (but with no jacuzzi), SKY satellite television and free Wi-Fi in the room.
2. The benches and beds by the beach. It's great for relaxing on the afternoon.
3. Exclusivity (which can be caused by the high price of the rooms), it makes it a peacefully not-crowded place to stay at.

(negatives)
1. Weird noises at night, like the sound of animals scratching the windows. Even dogs and roosters can be heard at night.
2. Restaurant is horrible, especially the room service. We ordered for dinner and the food was untasty and highly expensive. I recommend visitors to have their meals on Puerto Viejo, there are way too many options downtown.
3. No car parking. The cars are basically left alone on the street. At least the place is quite safe and we had no trouble leaving the car there for two nights.

It's a place worthy for its price, but the restaurant should not be considered by visitors. We would go back, and have dinner in one of the many restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: There are plenty of night animals and insects, so I would recommend a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    82
    34
    18
    18
See reviews for
79
187
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

great rooms and service. decent pool but the restaurant a disaster and extremely overpriced. an embarrassment really. $25 for the mixed meat entree, which consisted of a chicken (decent), beef (overcooked), and mystery meat (inedible and honestly did not know what it was). overall, would recommend staying here but avoid the restaurant at all costs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel had a nice beach with a cozy beach area. Pool area was beautiful but the pool was a bit cold. The food was great and high-end, especially the beach club lunch, but the breakfast was on the other hand poor.
Rooms had a fresh and modern design, but should definitely need some upgrading. The floor had cracks and marks, which was very remarkable due to the all-white design, and the bathroom was a bit dirty. Location was great - close to Puerto Viejo and beautiful beaches like Manzanillo and Punta Uva. My over all impression is that this hotel have seen better days, but compared to the other hotels in this area, I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel looks great in pictures and the staff were always very friendly, however the mold and smell put a damper on our stay. We did not complain to the staff about the mold because we were only there for 1 night, but anyone who stepped foot into our room would be able to tell there was a problem. Afterwards, I could actually smell the mold on my clothes. Overall, for the price, you should be getting a mold-free room. We stayed in cheaper hotels in Costa Rica that were a much better value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We arrived to le cameleon after visitng few hotels in Costa Rica. It was one of the most expensive hotels in our trip but hardly the best of them. The rooms has their unique touch of white, the prive beach is OK, the front desk staff was very kind assisting us in any issue we had (Vaniah was great!) but that's it. The breakfast was less then average in term of variety and service (one day we arrivad half an hour before breakfast ended and there were things that was already finished for the day. They also started clearing the buffet before breakfast endedd and before we finished eating). The facilities were poor - plain swimming pool and the jacuzzi was big but with room temperature water (it was cold when we were there and a hot jacuzzi would have been great). We arrived to this hotel with many expectations after few other great hotels in Costa Rica in the same or lower price range but were a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsukuba, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Le Cameleon is a very comfortable hotel near by Puerto Viejo.
The hotel is in the middle of the forest. Even though we stayed for three rainy days our stay was great. The staff was very kind and helpful every time.
They arranged for us a tour to a sloth sanctuary. It was pretty cool!
The hotel also has a private beach and offers several options for relaxation like a spa.
I really liked it and recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My stay in the hotel Caméléon in Cocles, Puerto Viejo was just amazing!! This hotel is a jewel in the midst of the Caribbean nature between a beautiful beach and the very relaxing green atmosphere. I loved the originality and simplicity of the design of the hotel, characterized by its changing of colors every day! The personnel is very friendly and helpful when you need any information on the area, especially Vaniah and the reception team. I also had a great time at the restaurant eating a delicious Caribbean lobster and an amazing chocolate fondant while listening to live Calypso music… I strongly recommend this hotel if you want to have a great experience in the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel

Address: Across the Street From Beach | Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel offers upscale beach accommodations within the tropical forest of Puerto Viejo, Limon. The 23 Rooms sit around the pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens, across the street from its Beach Club. The all-white minimalist rooms are decorated with a touch of bright colours and have all the comfort expected in order to have a restful night after your day at the beach or for your afternoon nap after touring the region. All the rooms feature A/C, Satellite TV, WiFi, Rain Shower, Mini Bar, phone, Ipod/Iphone docking station and Yves Rocher amenities. You have a choice of King size, Queen size or two Full size beds. With its laid back attitude and Caribbean lifestyle, Puerto Viejo has it all: long walks on the pristine beaches, exotic flora and fauna in a wildlife refuge. Ask our tour desk about our tour options ranging from snorkeling or diving among the many reefs, world-class surfing ,kayaking horseback ridding, deep sea fishing, zip lining, cultural visits to indigenous communities and more. Should you prefer to hang around the hotel, we offer private yoga classes, Spa treatments in our 'tree-house' Spa, Nunu gastronomic restaurant, lap pool and cool water Jacuzzi, reading/lounging areas surrounded by wildlife and of course La Sula Sea Lounge with its day-beds, hammocks, lounge chairs, bar and restaurant service right on Cocles Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Cocles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.