We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cameleon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Cameleon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Cameleon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Across the Street From Beach | Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$79 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cocles
Elizabeth, New Jersey
1 review
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at Le Cameleon for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much, the girls at the reception very nice as well as Gerardo, Angelo and every body from the restaurant to the cleaning ladies, a very nice hotel indeed!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    68
    29
    16
    16
See reviews for
68
156
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Room was nice and clean, restaurant was great for dinner, good for breakfast (breakfast was free though). Diana at front desk is fantastic. Beach area was very nice, waves aren't as big as in town so good for young swimmers but not for surfing. Short walk to waves though. Very good experience overall. Drive from San Jose was about 4 1/2 hours of aggressive driving with lots of American style semi trucks and buses.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend and its a pleasant but full of flaws experience...specially if you consider the price paid.
The reception is not ready to take care of more than one family at a time, they freak out.
The rooms are good, but they focus on the wrong things such as changing all pillows and even wall deco everyday, but had no towels for us in 2 consecutive days. Even beach towels were a miracle...
Staff is nice but they are outnumbered by guests. Food is not consistent, sometimes good, sometimes just not up to standards.
Well, that's why you see so many different reviews, it all depends on how lucky you are.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a great property to expend a weekend...the lounge next to the beach the restaurant and other facilites are superb...we have great weather and Manzanillo Beach and Cahuita National Park Beach are very nearby. These Beaches plus Pto Viejo town..are a must visit in Costa Rica...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times. First the good: nice location, nice beachclub, great restaurant, super close to beach, unique concept...they change the colors everyday. The not so good, everything is white, which is hard to keep clean in the best of circumstances, but even worse at the beach. As a result, the rooms do seem a little worn and shabby, but they are still very comfortable. I had to knock this place down for service though because we had a super rude waitperson at the beachclub. Not cool, but the rest of the staff was good. We also went during Semana Santa ( Easter Week), which I would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eflorian, Manager at Le Cameleon Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank your for your comments regarding your stay at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel. We appreciate your feedback for improving on a daily basis. Le Cameleon concept is Everyday is a new day and this is a reflection of Caribe Sur. Our philosophy is to exceed our guest expectations therefore for a future stay with us, please you may contact me personally to coordinate your future stay at Le Cameleon.

Best Regards,

Edward Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had the pleasure of being invited to Puerto Viejo and our friend arranged for us to stay at the Le Cameleon. The hotel has a great layout with rooms surrounding the pool and were very spacious with a fruit tray and nicely stocked mini bar. Breakfast was included and it was great. We had a fabulous dinner on one of the evenings as well. The best part were how helpful all of the staff were - We had forgot the charger to our cell phone and the Front desk manager found for us to use. All in all a great time! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad location for the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Hotel has an excellent location, and is like a hidden Oasis in the jungle. It is contemporary, with nice size rooms and a different colour scheme every day. It is by far the best hotel in Puerto Viejo. Friendly staff, good restaurant, free breakfast buffet. The private beach has nice lounge chairs, hammocks and cabana's which creates a very romantic atmosphere. It might be a bit pricy in high season but we had good value for our money. There are lots of things to do in the area: Ziplining, rafting, cycling, surfing, quad tour through the jungle. They have several beautiful waterfalls in the area, which is a bit of a hike but worth it. All over all we had an excellent vacation, and the hotel contributed a lot to that.

Jan & Denitsa

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Cameleon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cameleon Hotel

Address: Across the Street From Beach | Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cameleon Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel offers upscale beach accommodations within the tropical forest of Puerto Viejo, Limon. The 23 Rooms sit around the pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens, across the street from its Beach Club. The all-white minimalist rooms are decorated with a touch of bright colours and have all the comfort expected in order to have a restful night after your day at the beach or for your afternoon nap after touring the region. All the rooms feature A/C, Satellite TV, WiFi, Rain Shower, Mini Bar, phone, Ipod/Iphone docking station and Yves Rocher amenities. You have a choice of King size, Queen size or two Full size beds. With its laid back attitude and Caribbean lifestyle, Puerto Viejo has it all: long walks on the pristine beaches, exotic flora and fauna in a wildlife refuge. Ask our tour desk about our tour options ranging from snorkeling or diving among the many reefs, world-class surfing ,kayaking horseback ridding, deep sea fishing, zip lining, cultural visits to indigenous communities and more. Should you prefer to hang around the hotel, we offer private yoga classes, Spa treatments in our 'tree-house' Spa, Nunu gastronomic restaurant, lap pool and cool water Jacuzzi, reading/lounging areas surrounded by wildlife and of course La Sula Sea Lounge with its day-beds, hammocks, lounge chairs, bar and restaurant service right on Cocles Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Cameleon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cameleon Hotel Costa Rica/Cocles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cameleon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.