We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in the Costa Rica Caribean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cameleon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Cameleon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Cameleon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Across the Street From Beach | Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cocles
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Best Hotel in the Costa Rica Caribean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a great property to expend a weekend...the lounge next to the beach the restaurant and other facilites are superb...we have great weather and Manzanillo Beach and Cahuita National Park Beach are very nearby. These Beaches plus Pto Viejo town..are a must visit in Costa Rica...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    69
    28
    15
    16
See reviews for
72
161
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times. First the good: nice location, nice beachclub, great restaurant, super close to beach, unique concept...they change the colors everyday. The not so good, everything is white, which is hard to keep clean in the best of circumstances, but even worse at the beach. As a result, the rooms do seem a little worn and shabby, but they are still very comfortable. I had to knock this place down for service though because we had a super rude waitperson at the beachclub. Not cool, but the rest of the staff was good. We also went during Semana Santa ( Easter Week), which I would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eflorian, Manager at Le Cameleon Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank your for your comments regarding your stay at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel. We appreciate your feedback for improving on a daily basis. Le Cameleon concept is Everyday is a new day and this is a reflection of Caribe Sur. Our philosophy is to exceed our guest expectations therefore for a future stay with us, please you may contact me personally to coordinate your future stay at Le Cameleon.

Best Regards,

Edward Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had the pleasure of being invited to Puerto Viejo and our friend arranged for us to stay at the Le Cameleon. The hotel has a great layout with rooms surrounding the pool and were very spacious with a fruit tray and nicely stocked mini bar. Breakfast was included and it was great. We had a fabulous dinner on one of the evenings as well. The best part were how helpful all of the staff were - We had forgot the charger to our cell phone and the Front desk manager found for us to use. All in all a great time! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad location for the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Hotel has an excellent location, and is like a hidden Oasis in the jungle. It is contemporary, with nice size rooms and a different colour scheme every day. It is by far the best hotel in Puerto Viejo. Friendly staff, good restaurant, free breakfast buffet. The private beach has nice lounge chairs, hammocks and cabana's which creates a very romantic atmosphere. It might be a bit pricy in high season but we had good value for our money. There are lots of things to do in the area: Ziplining, rafting, cycling, surfing, quad tour through the jungle. They have several beautiful waterfalls in the area, which is a bit of a hike but worth it. All over all we had an excellent vacation, and the hotel contributed a lot to that.

Jan & Denitsa

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel is very nice and well located .
The employees been well trained .
The breakfast was good compare to other hotels in costa rica ( been coming to costa rica for past 15 years )
In the resaption area they have a girl by name Diana and she is an asset for the hotel .
My main problem was in this hotel is the maintenance in the beach area ( the beds are very uncomfortable ) The cabinas wore dirty .
The beach called beach club so you would think this beach is also an hotel area but it's not , please don't leave any personal items on your beach chairs and take a woke .
Most of the chances you wouldn't find them wile you return .

Room Tip: We had a room in the second floor fasing the pool The room was nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eflorian, General Manager at Le Cameleon Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Le Cameleon Hotel. We enjoyed serving you and we hope to see you in the near future. For a future stay, please contact me personally so I can coordinate your stay.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with a friend. I chose this hotel based upon the reviews of others. It does appear to be the best hotel in Puerto Viejo. I thought it was an excellent value - the hotel staff was super friendly; the room was nice (but not fancy); the bathroom was over-sized and comfortable; the hotel was superbly landscaped; the free breakfast was delicious (omelets do cost extra), and the hotel was well maintained (I saw reviews to the contrary). The beach club and beach across the street (very light traffic) was very nice and well maintained. Cocles Beach which is larger and more popular, is about a half mile down the road. I would recommend renting a bicycle or scooter (aka moped) because the hotel is about 3 kilometers from downtown, but the cab fare is only $4 if you prefer not. The area is very pleasant and relatively inexpensive for a resort area. I would highly recommend this area for someone considering surfing, honeymoon or vacation. Try surfing, ziplining, or a whitewater rafting trip. Tons of fun!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Let me preface this review by saying that all of all the hotels (with airconditioning) that I researched in the Puerto Viejo area, Le Cameleon is by far, the nicest. However, I don't believe it's worth the $200 per night ($300 bucks regularly) that we paid for the Junior suite. I'm sure the hotel looked nice and shiny when it was new but it's definitely beginning to age. The room was clean (we were in room 15, first floor), which is easy to see when the color scheme is all white. However, it does have this musty smell that we just couldn't get rid of. Our friends who stayed in another room also had the same problem. They even had to move to a less musty room. The small closet also looked a little moldy at the bottom.

They have a beach club right by the beach but we did not spend anytime there at all as it was ghastly. It looks nothing like the website. There were only 2 or 3 cabinas. All dirty. The white drapes look like they've never been washed and the red cushion covers were stained. You would not wanna sit on the lounge chairs either. The beach itself is ok, although the waves were a little big for our taste. We preferred Punta Uva Beach which is about 5 mins away by taxi (or you can bike there).

The restaurant is also all-white. They need to replace the chairs and seat cushions. They're rusty and stained. The food was nothing to write home about. Not much choice in the breakfast spread. They also need to do something with the flies. We pretty much ate all our meals in Puerto Viejo (mostly at Soda Mirna). Puerto Viejo is 5-10 mins by taxi ($4-$5 bucks)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eflorian, General Manager at Le Cameleon Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Le Cameleon Hotel. We appreciate your feedback to improve our guest experience. Presently, we are refurnishing our Beach Club with new Sun Beds to enjoy the Carribean experience. Also, we are upgrading our junior suites and deluxe rooms with new deck terraces that will make a real natural experience inside your hotel room. For a future stay, please contact me directly to coordinate your trip in Costa Rica. Hope to see you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Edward Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Cameleon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cameleon Hotel

Address: Across the Street From Beach | Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cameleon Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel offers upscale beach accommodations within the tropical forest of Puerto Viejo, Limon. The 23 Rooms sit around the pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens, across the street from its Beach Club. The all-white minimalist rooms are decorated with a touch of bright colours and have all the comfort expected in order to have a restful night after your day at the beach or for your afternoon nap after touring the region. All the rooms feature A/C, Satellite TV, WiFi, Rain Shower, Mini Bar, phone, Ipod/Iphone docking station and Yves Rocher amenities. You have a choice of King size, Queen size or two Full size beds. With its laid back attitude and Caribbean lifestyle, Puerto Viejo has it all: long walks on the pristine beaches, exotic flora and fauna in a wildlife refuge. Ask our tour desk about our tour options ranging from snorkeling or diving among the many reefs, world-class surfing ,kayaking horseback ridding, deep sea fishing, zip lining, cultural visits to indigenous communities and more. Should you prefer to hang around the hotel, we offer private yoga classes, Spa treatments in our 'tree-house' Spa, Nunu gastronomic restaurant, lap pool and cool water Jacuzzi, reading/lounging areas surrounded by wildlife and of course La Sula Sea Lounge with its day-beds, hammocks, lounge chairs, bar and restaurant service right on Cocles Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Cameleon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cameleon Hotel Costa Rica/Cocles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cameleon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.