We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and pleasant B&B ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal View Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Canal View Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Canal View Bed and Breakfast
6A Lincoln Road, Saxilby, Lincoln LN1 2NF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Saxilby B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice and pleasant B&B ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed for one night on business. Booked last minute through a booking agent online. The owner was very nice and friendly. The room was nice, I stayed in a single. Slept well and it was quiet. There is ample parking at the front, Lincoln is a 10 minute drive. Breakfast was very good, a menu on the table detailing all the local suppliers. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
66
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a very clean and comfortable B &B near Lincoln. Very friendly owners made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended - short drive into Lincoln and all it's attractions aswell as the surrounding villages.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a Saturday night, ready for a shopping trip to Lincoln on the Sunday. The hosts were very helpful & friendly ,the room had been made into a twin plus an extra bed at the last minute for my son, the beds were very comfy and everything was clean and fresh. If I had to be honest my only tiny gripe would be the times on a Sunday for breakfast, I was asked when arriving when I'd like breakfast, we preferred a little lay in on the Sunday as we been at work that week, so I said 9.30 , but was told breakfast only till 9am, the extra time on a Sunday would have made my stay feel less of a rush. Also there is a large selection of teas/coffee etc, but no squash to go with water, would have been a nice addition as was thirsty in the night and didn't like the water from the tap. Everything else was great.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

A group of us stayed here earlier this month while attending a course locally and we were all really impressed with every facet of our stay. We were warmly welcomed by Roland and Louise (and Grace of course) on arrival and looked after superbly, the excellent breakfast was served at a time that suited us, the rooms are well fitted out and very comfy and information on local restaurants and pubs was comprehensive. Will definitely visit again for a non-work related stay. 5* without a doubt!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed for a special occasion. First impressions - excellent. It's the little things that make it, for example, fridge in the room, selection of teas and coffees in room, lovely decor, comfy bed. Breakfast was lovely and so we're the owners - loved hearing the piano practice, loved how it advertises Lincoln and it's attractions and used local produce. Home made strawberry jam was divine. Definitely book in again!

Room Tip: Recommend 1fish room, extremely quiet and peaceful with very comfy bed, huge shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I feel there's little to say that hasn't already been said. Very helpful couple, excellent stopover, comfortable room and very enjoyable breakfast. Excellent position for access to Lincoln. It's 5* again from me!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We can only echo the previous extremely positive reviews of Canal View. We have just stayed for 2 nights on one of their special offer deals. It was incredible value for money. Even at the standard rates this establishment is first class value. Roland and Louise (I love the previous comment about trainee manager Grace) did indeed make us very welcome. From the comfort and contents of the room to the excellent breakfasts, this is indeed an outstanding establishment. We will return when next in Lincoln and totally recommend Canal View.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal View Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6A Lincoln Road, Saxilby, Lincoln LN1 2NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Saxilby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saxilby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 star en-suite accommodation, contemporarily furnished, with Egyptian cotton bed linen and soft fluffy towels. Situated in the picturesque village of Saxilby yet close to Lincoln. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, digital Freeview TV and Tea and Coffee making facilities in every room. Our breakfasts are made with locally sourced produce and range from 'Full English' to warm bagels with homemade jam. A vegetarian option is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Canal View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal View Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.