We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal View Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Canal View Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Canal View Bed and Breakfast
6A Lincoln Road, Saxilby, Lincoln LN1 2NF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Saxilby B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We visited for one night with our very active one-year-old. We had a very warm welcome and were made to feel at home right away. Our son enjoyed playing on the piano and fantastic rocking-horse in the guests' lounge. The rooms and guest areas were very clean, and our room was tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable and having fresh milk available in the rooms rather than the usual little UHT pots was a huge plus for me! Breakfast was beautifully cooked, and our son was catered for brilliantly. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
66
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was my second stay at the Canal View and once again it didn't disappoint! Excellent friendly service, nothing was too much trouble and outstandingly clean!

It is so nice to have found a reliable and excellent place to stay each time I travel up to Lincoln! It was that good I have already booked my 3rd stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed (for the third time) for a weekend and had a lovely time. Louise and Roland were very welcoming and the lounge with comfy chairs is a very calming place. We were welcomed with a refreshing cup of tea and helpful guidance about how best to spend a family weekend in the area.

We enjoyed their recommendations and particularly liked Gainsborough Old Hall, the children (12 and 9), were keen to see all the Medieval re-enactors! We had to persuade them to stop for soup and cake... quite a rare event. We shall go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had to visit the Lincolnshire area for a family funeral and needed a quiet retreat to go back to at the end of each day to recuperate after all the usual emotions and family kerfuffles that ensue with these events. Canal View provided just that. We stayed for a week and Roland and Louise were excellent hosts, there when you needed them but never intrusive which can happen in some B&B's. The room was very comfortable, well appointed and extremely clean. The comfortable bed was very welcoming and the breakfast was lovely. It was nice to be able to walk down to the canal and chill out for a short time too. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone needing accommodation in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stopped here overnight for a business trip and I arrived earlier than planned. Roland, Louise and were on hand to meet me and welcomed me with a lovely coffee and slice of cake.
I had a beautiful room with a huge super king bed, tv, coffee/tea making etc with an excellent sized ensuite. The bed and breakfast is modern, comfortable and homely and has a lovely sized guest room for guests to use, even a piano!
The bed meant I have had the best sleep in a very long time, a very comfortable mattress and lovely and warm room.
Breakfast was a lovely choice of cereals, juices etc, I opted for a really tasty full english of course.
What I really enjoyed about canal view was the feeling of the little touches, locally sourced foods and ingredients and minimal but homely decoration. It feels there has been a lot of attention to detail.

As hosts both Roland and Louise were particularly nice and chatty without being unobtrusive and I certainly look forward to my next stay in a couple of months. Don't change anything, it can't get any better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. Beautiful room with comfy bed and lots of little touches that showed real attention to detail. The breakfast was lovely, home made bread! Grace - a little cutie. We had a really restful stay and can highly recommend a visit. Sue & Jem

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Roland, Louise and Grace were great hosts. Nothing was too much trouble, excellent accommodation with a very welcoming cup of tea with cake on our arrival. We have stayed before and will certainly be staying again. Highly recommended.

Keith and Chris

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal View Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6A Lincoln Road, Saxilby, Lincoln LN1 2NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Saxilby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saxilby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 star en-suite accommodation, contemporarily furnished, with Egyptian cotton bed linen and soft fluffy towels. Situated in the picturesque village of Saxilby yet close to Lincoln. Free Wi-Fi Internet access, digital Freeview TV and Tea and Coffee making facilities in every room. Our breakfasts are made with locally sourced produce and range from 'Full English' to warm bagels with homemade jam. A vegetarian option is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Canal View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal View Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.