We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
The Green | Caston, Attleborough NR17 1DB, England
+44 1953 483858
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 26 Restaurants in Attleborough
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Watton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited the Red Lion last weekend for a meal for the first time and it certainly wont be the last time!

What a lovely evening we all had! We were given a warm welcome from all the staff. there were some lovely dishes on the menu, we had starters of mushrooms on toast, anti pasti to share, cod, haddock and prawn chowder all of which were delicious and nothing left on the plates! The mains were just as good, pork belly was popular on our table and all said it was superb! As was the smoked haddock topped with welsh rarebit and the sausages with a side of cheese and potato pie! After feeling full but still wanting to view the dessert menu. Well what can I say.....we could not turn down having a dessert as everything looked so tempting! Bakewell tarts with homemade custard was great, the homemade custard was a real treat. The homemade honeycomb ice ream with caramel sauce and topped with homemade honeycomb was the best dessert I had had for a long time.

Well done all at the Red Lion! We had a great night and will be back very soon and will definately recommend to our friends!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Perfect evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We recently ate here for a friends birthday party, it wasn't a particularly warm evening, but as soon as we walked in we were greeted by a lovely open fire, which is the best welcome on a cold night. The whole place has been furnished very well, nice lighting, tables, atmosphere, all the staff we encountered were first class, very professional and knew about the menu.
All our food was delicious, and served hot and promptly.
Prices here are also well placed, not too expensive, good value for money.
Great to see this place doing well, we shall be back!!
My only comment and its not a criticism, is that the lovely open fire died out soon after we sat down, just really needed a few more logs put on!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Decent food, nicely presented. Small but well chosen wine list with prices that are reasonable. The tables are excellently spaced affording private conversation.

Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and reasonably priced for the quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The bar area is comfortable and the menu had a good range with specials of the day, recommend the slow roast belly of pork and the desserts are to die for.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A little disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had high hopes for our return visit to the Red Lion as it was now under the control of the tried and tested management of the Mulberry Tree, Attleborough. Unfortunately we were somewhat underwhelmed!
The basic everyday menu had few attractions being uninspired and rather simple, certainly nothing to make you want to drive the ten or fifteen miles to the Red Lion to eat. But we were there for Sunday Lunch, a roast. Rump of beef is usually disappointing (far better rib or sirloin) so we both went for slow roasted shoulder of pork. And very good the pork was too, meltingly tender with a good flavour and served with an excellent gravy/jus. But the accompanying leeks and cauli’ were raw, not al dente but raw. It rather spoilt the meal.
The “pudding eater” declared the sticky toffee pudding very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

 
Attleborough, Norfolk
Attleborough, Norfolk
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.