We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wholeheartedly recommend - amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Barn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lower Barn to your Saves list
Lower Barn
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bosue, Saint Ewe, Mevagissey PL26 6EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Saint Ewe B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“wholeheartedly recommend - amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband & I stayed here on a weekend away from our children & it was heaven. Janie, Mike & Janie's mum were all really friendly & couldn't have done more for us. They all made us feel so welcome. The decor is spectacular - quirky plush yet very stylish & lovely thoughtful extras - handmade soap parcel, chocolates etc. Plus when we returned to our room after a hearty breakfast - our bed had been made & our clothes had been kindly hung up in the wardrobe - I'd left it in a right mess (as weekend off from all domestic duties)!! After a full on cliff walk we collapsed into the luxurious hot tub which was a perfect tonic (not remotely seedy!!)! We ate in on Saturday night in the fab open fired shed & were treated to a delicious three course feast - the food was divine. I can't recommend Lower Barn highly enough - we're hoping to go back every year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
127
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The weekend was everything we could of hoped for. Mike and Janie were so warm and hospitable and show an obvious love of their home and the comfort of their guests. The rooms were really comfortable and beautifully furnished - giving the impression that they had only recently been decorated. Can't praise them enough for giving us such a wonderful stay. If you go there wanting lovely rooms, surroundings and welcome, then you won't be disappointed. Have already decided that we must go back and try staying in the cranny next time (for longer too!).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Having read the Sunday Times on the 3rd November we decided to escape from city life for a short break, in what we found out to be ultimately the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. We wanted somewhere that we could have a romantic break... It certainly exceeded our expectations. So where do I start? We stayed in the hideaway, a wooden lodge secluded at the end of the garden... Truly magical. The decor was absolutely beautiful and with a bath big enough for two of us we fell in love with the place. Janie and Mike were the perfect hosts making us feel relaxed and welcome straight away, Nothing was too much trouble for them and there cooking was truly scrumptious. I would thoroughly recommend a visit to the lost gardens of Heligan (Only a 2 minute drive from Lowerbarn). Mevagissey is also only a short drive with beautiful scenery.
Thank you Janie and Mike, we're already looking forward to our next visit.
Lara & Matt

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Debbie - The welcome was warm, the sky starry, and we had a delicious dinner brought to our room. 'Cranny' was beautiful, warm and inviting with a log burner lit and amazing decor. We loved all of the small touches- snuggly towels, luxurious toiletries and a wonderfully comfortable bed. Andy - who would have known the love and care afforded us by Janie and Mike on our wedding night...this was a perfect stay. Be prepared for the incredible and inspired decor, colours, and little touches. During your stay, you become a part of the family...amazing food, under the Milky Way, and in the middle of nowhere...thank you.

Room Tip: Cranny was the perfect honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We enjoyed a four night stay in one of the beautiful rooms overlooking the garden. Very high standard of accommodation with the very friendly Janie and Mike who made us feel very welcome.

Brightly furnished rooms and lots of little extras. We will definitely be returning for more!

Paul and margaret

Room Tip: If you want real luxury choose the newest rooms in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the "hideaway" unit. Now bearing in mind we paid. £120 per night in November, I expected at the very least to have some privacy between bedroom and bathroom. I can't imagine the decision process of making a glass wall between the main living area and the lavatory! The bed was comfortable enough, the room decor and fixtures good, fairly quirky. We both tried to have a bath one day, hot water ran out half way through. Breakfast was excellent, finding the place is challenging. Overall wouldn't come back.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed in the family rooms with our two teenage sons. The rooms were very comfortable and luxurious, plenty of room for the four of us. Wi Fi, big screen TV, DVD collection, TVs in both rooms Was our first time in a b&b and would recommend this one, access to room was direct from outside so could come and go as we pleased. Breakfast was fantastic, my fussy eater son ate the lot. Owners were very friendly. Lots to do and see in local area and fantastic restaurants in local harbour town of Mevagissey. Taxi £8 each way if you don't want to drive. Great base to explore Cornwall.

Room Tip: Family rooms are two separate connected bedrooms both with en suit bathrooms, comfy chairs to sit in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lower Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Barn

Address: Bosue, Saint Ewe, Mevagissey PL26 6EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey > Saint Ewe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Ewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lower Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a romantic and rural hidden corner of Cornwall, Lower Barn's is a boutique hideaway unlike any other. The perfect escape from the world outside, Lower Barn's promises a magical retreat for you. Enjoy fresh breakfast, countryside walks, watch movies from large comfortable beds and indulge in a therapeutic massage or facial. As day turns into night, sample sumptuous dinner by the open fire in the intimacy of The Shack, followed by gazing at shooting stars while soaking in the open air hot tub.Ours is a place unlike any other. For honeymoon heaven, rekindling the romance or simply a sanctuary away from the world outside. Turn up, switch off, kick back and enjoy a boutique escape in Cornwall at Lower Barn's, an indulgent idyllic retreat....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lower Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Barn Saint Ewe, Cornwall - Mevagissey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.