We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent guesthouse.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Fried Rice

Save Saved
You added Southern Fried Rice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southern Fried Rice
100 / 14 - 15 Kata Road | Kata Night Bazaar, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 45 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“An excellent guesthouse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Tucked in a quiet, clean lane a block off the main road through Kata beach, Southern Fried Rice is a wonderful escape from the noise and crowds, yet convenient to to everything Kata has to offer. The rooms are huge (we had room 7), clean and airy (aircon also included). Host Terry is friendly, helpful and able to negotiate excellent rates for cabs, cars and other attractions. The money he can save you will almost make your stay here free.

The guesthouse restaurant is actually one of the better places to eat in town, serving up authentic Thai dishes (thankfully, not westernized). Do try their signature dish, Southern Fried Rice.

Warning: do not try to beat Peter at chess; the man is a grandmaster.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    34
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
62
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Booked online in July due to the amount of positive comments on TA. When we arrived in November we were disappointed to find a large construction site immediately behind the hotel. Building work started bang on 8am - there was no let up from the noise or dust.

We had stupidly pre-paid in full as we thought Kata would be very busy so we put up and shut up and made the most of our stay.

We were initially put in Room 4 which looked out on to the construction site - we had to keep the curtains closed at all times as the builders were literally outside our window! The room had sliding patio doors and a balcony but we couldn't use it because of the noise and dust. After a couple of days Terje, the owner, moved us to Room 5 at the front of the hotel - this room was much quieter.

The hotel itself is a little tired and the pictures on the website show the hotel in its 'newer' days. The bedrooms were spacious and clean - the mattresses were comfortable for Asia and there were mattress protectors on the bed, which was a great touch. The towels were also good by Asian standards. However, in Room 5, when it rained, water came through the bedroom window, the air con unit leaked down the wall and on to the floor and there were cracks on the walls in both of the rooms we stayed in. Continental breakfast was included in the price - it was okay but nothing special.

Laundry was brilliant - our clothes came back fresh smelling and ironed - great plus.

The staff were lovely and Terje, the owner was friendly and helpful.

Would I stay here again - unfortunately not. Kata has a wide choice of places to stay and we'd shop around next time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We booked online after reading reviews and deciding what we were looking for - clean, cheap, safe rooms close to Kata Beach- could be found at SFR Guesthouse. After some initial confusion with our booking - which the owner Terje sorted out and found us an alternative bed in a neighboring guesthouse for the night after a complimentary meal - we settled in to the SFR guesthouse the following night. The rooms were clean with typical firm matresses found in all Asian hotels & accommodation. The rooms at the front of the guesthouse were light and airy and I slept well without being disturbed by street or bar noises. We were not disappointed by the location - an easy 5 minute stroll to the beach and an easy stroll in either direction to a range of restaurants and shops yet set back off the main road so away from the motor bike and tuk-tuk traffic. The staff were friendly and accommodating and we ate at the restaurant several times during our 10 day stay and enjoyed every meal. When we decided to extend our stay, Terje accommodated our request although this required some juggling of rooms and spending 2 nights on a rather uncomfortable futon sofa bed. Having travelled extensively throughout Asia over the past 20 years, SFR guesthouse is typical of a more memorable guesthouse experience. Would I stay here again? Absolutely! I loved the quirkiness, charm and intimacy of the small guesthouse and it's characters.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front were light and airy and away from any construction underway on neighboring blocks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I booked this place due the overwhelming great reviews, and was disappointed soon after I arrived. The owner greeted us (I was traveling with a friend) and could not remember our reservation. I had to show him the confirmation email I had received from him. No big deal. He did not have the room that we had discussed, but did have another room. Okay, no big deal. He took us to the room and there was a large crack that allowed outside weather and bugs freely into the room.

I was very disappointed in the service and how the staff felt this was a perfectly acceptable room to allow guest to stay in without repairing or attempting to cover the rather large crack.

I say for the price, you can find several other hotels in the area (which is a great location) with far superior rooms, which is what my friend and I ended up doing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

we stayed here for 5 nights due to the reviews...it was ok. The rooms are plain, the food was ok. we ate there 3 times, due to us being tired and not wanting to get ready to go out, and each time the order was wrong or missing something, and nothing was done about it. I work at a restaurant, so im very nice about it, but it irritated me that when we informed them, they could never understand, even when you pointed it on the menu. Anyways, our ac was dripping the whole time, it woke me up in the middle of the night, thinking it was raining outside. told the staff, they had a guy come and check it out, and he didnt fix it. i recommend eating at the Wine connection, just a 2 min walk, or at the sushi place right next to it. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and had a great time. The Guesthouse is in the perfect location not far from Kata Center, and only 5 minutes to the beach thru shortcut. The atmosphere around the guesthouse is very nice and quiet, still many shops and restaurants nearby.
The room (no.5) is spacious and very clean with lots of light, comfy bed and clean bathroom.

Terje, the owner is a very nice man and helpful. He helped me with airport tranfer in a good price.
All staffs are friendly and helpful too. I recommend this place.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 5. spacious and bright. You can view the room in their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

stayed club med very average two weeks. spent one night in SFR first off ,big plus they speak english and danish.good location,food great service great in a little mall day spa also great bars wine bars night clud all handy.night markets at weekends .rooms large air conditioned bar fridge, well appointed had a great one night there very helpfull owner can arrange any thing from air port transfers to tours at a great price good position nice beach 5 minute walk .Thank you Terje& Jacob .William Adair Cairns Queensland.

Room Tip: looked at three rooms all good beach side construction going on stayed at mall side opposite day s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Fried Rice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Fried Rice

Address: 100 / 14 - 15 Kata Road | Kata Night Bazaar, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Fried Rice is a recently established guesthouse situated at Kata Beach, the most beautiful beach on Thailand's idyllic Phuket Island. Moments from the beach, and featuring spacious, clean, comfortable rooms, modern en-suite bathrooms, outstanding Thai and international cuisine, free wi-fi high speed internet and many more attractions, Southern Fried Rice is the ideal hostel from which to explore Phuket. We have PC stations in our property and it is Free of Charge as well. There is a top quality pool table, 42' plasma TV screen with surround sound and a computerized sound system with all your favourite music. For intellectual stimulation we are hosting the Phuket Chess Club, with frequent blitz tournaments and we are planning regular Thai language lessons. There is access to Kata Day Spa, and a great variety of nightlife available within walking distance of the guesthouse. We also hire out motorcycles for the more adventurous to range out over Thailand's biggest island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Southern Fried Rice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Fried Rice Hotel Kata Beach
Southern Fried Rice Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Fried Rice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.