We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly staff, clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Fried Rice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Southern Fried Rice to your Saves list
Southern Fried Rice
100 / 14 - 15 Kata Road | Kata Night Bazaar, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100 , Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, friendly staff, clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We booked online after reading reviews and deciding what we were looking for - clean, cheap, safe rooms close to Kata Beach- could be found at SFR Guesthouse. After some initial confusion with our booking - which the owner Terje sorted out and found us an alternative bed in a neighboring guesthouse for the night after a complimentary meal - we settled in to the SFR guesthouse the following night. The rooms were clean with typical firm matresses found in all Asian hotels & accommodation. The rooms at the front of the guesthouse were light and airy and I slept well without being disturbed by street or bar noises. We were not disappointed by the location - an easy 5 minute stroll to the beach and an easy stroll in either direction to a range of restaurants and shops yet set back off the main road so away from the motor bike and tuk-tuk traffic. The staff were friendly and accommodating and we ate at the restaurant several times during our 10 day stay and enjoyed every meal. When we decided to extend our stay, Terje accommodated our request although this required some juggling of rooms and spending 2 nights on a rather uncomfortable futon sofa bed. Having travelled extensively throughout Asia over the past 20 years, SFR guesthouse is typical of a more memorable guesthouse experience. Would I stay here again? Absolutely! I loved the quirkiness, charm and intimacy of the small guesthouse and it's characters.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front were light and airy and away from any construction underway on neighboring blocks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    44
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
71
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I booked this place due the overwhelming great reviews, and was disappointed soon after I arrived. The owner greeted us (I was traveling with a friend) and could not remember our reservation. I had to show him the confirmation email I had received from him. No big deal. He did not have the room that we had discussed, but did have another room. Okay, no big deal. He took us to the room and there was a large crack that allowed outside weather and bugs freely into the room.

I was very disappointed in the service and how the staff felt this was a perfectly acceptable room to allow guest to stay in without repairing or attempting to cover the rather large crack.

I say for the price, you can find several other hotels in the area (which is a great location) with far superior rooms, which is what my friend and I ended up doing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

we stayed here for 5 nights due to the reviews...it was ok. The rooms are plain, the food was ok. we ate there 3 times, due to us being tired and not wanting to get ready to go out, and each time the order was wrong or missing something, and nothing was done about it. I work at a restaurant, so im very nice about it, but it irritated me that when we informed them, they could never understand, even when you pointed it on the menu. Anyways, our ac was dripping the whole time, it woke me up in the middle of the night, thinking it was raining outside. told the staff, they had a guy come and check it out, and he didnt fix it. i recommend eating at the Wine connection, just a 2 min walk, or at the sushi place right next to it. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and had a great time. The Guesthouse is in the perfect location not far from Kata Center, and only 5 minutes to the beach thru shortcut. The atmosphere around the guesthouse is very nice and quiet, still many shops and restaurants nearby.
The room (no.5) is spacious and very clean with lots of light, comfy bed and clean bathroom.

Terje, the owner is a very nice man and helpful. He helped me with airport tranfer in a good price.
All staffs are friendly and helpful too. I recommend this place.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 5. spacious and bright. You can view the room in their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

stayed club med very average two weeks. spent one night in SFR first off ,big plus they speak english and danish.good location,food great service great in a little mall day spa also great bars wine bars night clud all handy.night markets at weekends .rooms large air conditioned bar fridge, well appointed had a great one night there very helpfull owner can arrange any thing from air port transfers to tours at a great price good position nice beach 5 minute walk .Thank you Terje& Jacob .William Adair Cairns Queensland.

Room Tip: looked at three rooms all good beach side construction going on stayed at mall side opposite day s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We extended our stay in Kata beach by a night, and booked in at southern fried rice. Lovely management, big and clean room, nice bed. Then we went down for dinner and had the best panang curry ever (seriously), and had a good chat with the hotel's norwegian owner. We were leaving before we could have the included breakfast, so they made us sandwiches for the trip. Good, old fashioned hospitality, and a very good and cheap room! Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfrkata, Owner at Southern Fried Rice, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed our hotel.

We pride ourselves on our food, and quality of our rooms, and hope to be of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a clean, warm, and comfortable hostle located in the new Kata Nightplaza. The owner here is very friendly and welcoming, making this hostle feel more like a homestay than your typical hostel or hotel. The rooms are light and bright, with large comfortable beds and fresh linens and towels every day. The owner also offers a cheap taxi service, as well as motorbike rentals for about 150 baht a day. The location is quiet and about 10 minutes walking from the beach. There are plenty of bars and restaurants close by, but if you want more nightlife you can get to Pa Tong beach in about 15 minutes. All around, I have really enjoyed my stay here and I plan to come back in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Fried Rice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Fried Rice

Address: 100 / 14 - 15 Kata Road | Kata Night Bazaar, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Fried Rice is a recently established guesthouse situated at Kata Beach, the most beautiful beach on Thailand's idyllic Phuket Island. Moments from the beach, and featuring spacious, clean, comfortable rooms, modern en-suite bathrooms, outstanding Thai and international cuisine, free wi-fi high speed internet and many more attractions, Southern Fried Rice is the ideal hostel from which to explore Phuket. We have PC stations in our property and it is Free of Charge as well. There is a top quality pool table, 42' plasma TV screen with surround sound and a computerized sound system with all your favourite music. For intellectual stimulation we are hosting the Phuket Chess Club, with frequent blitz tournaments and we are planning regular Thai language lessons. There is access to Kata Day Spa, and a great variety of nightlife available within walking distance of the guesthouse. We also hire out motorcycles for the more adventurous to range out over Thailand's biggest island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Southern Fried Rice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Fried Rice Hotel Kata Beach
Southern Fried Rice Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Fried Rice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.